We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find somewhere else to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Find somewhere else to stay.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Over priced for what you get. Rooms were dingy and our foot stool had a dirty boot print on it. There were rust splatters around the door hinges coming into the room. Not a very good neighbor hood either. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    123
    91
    48
    30
See reviews for
95
106
51
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had never stayed at this property before and probably won't again. It's quite rough around the edges, something a renovation would probably cure. The first problem came at check in when I was given room keys and directions to the room. When I opened the room it obviously was already occupied although there was no one actually in the room at the time. There were open suitcases and food packages stacked on top of the mini-fridge. When I went back to the office the lady there was quite puzzled.. She said her computer showed the room hadn't been occupied since April. Inside the room there were cigarette burns on the bedspread and a couple of drawer handles were missing screws making it hard to open the drawers. The room itself was quite small but was suitable for one night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyboy1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This Red Roof Inn is a bit older and a bit worn---we thought it was overpriced compared to other Red Roof Inns. Our room was clean---we had a comfortable king bed, micro, frig, recliner chair, desk, etc. Best of all, we had a room which is downstairs and outside so we could unpack easily and keep an eye on our car which was parked right in front of our room. This motel would have been a better deal for $10 less. Maybe overpriced considering the age of the facility.

Room Tip: Ask for a "down and out" room for easy unpacking and keeping an eye on your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotgrandmacwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for selecting Red Roof Inn as your choice of stay, and were happy with your room. As for the price, maybe you were coming on a weekend when rooms are limited, and therefore a bit pricier. However, I will take in your opinion and apply it to the correct area. Thanks,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Value priced rooms, clean and comfortable bed. I travel half of the year for work and usually stay for several weeks to months in hotels. I don't require a 4 season hotel, just safe area, quiet, secure room, comfortable, and clean room. Red Roof in fit my needs. This hotel also has a pool, medium sized fridge, basic breakfast and is located close to many different restaurants, and several are in walking distance. Hotel is also conveniently located close to the highway for easy entry, and exit. Staff is friendly, room service changes towels every day, and services the room every other day. I am sure you can request daily service if needed. All items in the room worked, they have ample outlets for your electronic and charging needs. I have been here for two weeks going on three.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo, and it is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I'm pleased to know that you found everything given in the room useful, and didn't have any complaints. Thanks, and I hope you drop by again!

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Upon my arrival I called the front desk to let them know that I wouldn't be able to check into the hotel until 9 pm (I drove 16 hours from Illinois)
once I arrived to the hotel I checked in, I went to my room and was completely dissatisfied with the conditions of the room

Room smelled like mildew and paint chipped everywhere, scratched my foot on a piece of metal near door

1) plug jack wasn't installed and as I plugged in the hairdryer it sparked
2) large hole in wall where sink fixture is, needed to stuff a blanket in worried what might come out
3) Curtains didn't close and was held on with a paperclip and safety pin
4) smoke alarm was hanging by the wires
5) burn holes in the comforter
6) tub didn't drain and the tub plug would move
7) continental breakfast pastries were stale

Driving 16 hours and then having to stay here was such a big disappointment, there wasn't any aspect of this hotel that I liked

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b_YOU_tiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

Amarillo, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Front desk staff and manager were both lacking customer service skills. I am told this is a franchise location, but neither of them know who the owner is.

Booked the non-smoking king with fridge because I am sensitive to certain smells and need to keep medications refrigerated. Room must have been doused in whatever spray they use because it was so bad even my cat had a sneezing fit! Fridge was plugged in but turned off, so is completely useless to me. Air conditioning also off. Sign in room says this is to save energy but it actually uses MORE energy to bring the room down from sauna-like temperatures then it does to maintain an average... if there weren't a gap under the door big enough to stick your hand through.

I always stay at Red Roof Inn when I travel because their prices are reasonable and their pet policy is wonderful. Apparently I just have to verify whether a location is corporate or franchise before booking. VERY disappointed in this location.

over-scented room
huge gap under door
ac framing broken and rattling very loudly
fridge and ac off... as of 9:52 pm neither is cool
horrible customer service
employees do not seem to know who they work for

room clean
furniture comfortable
excellent pet policy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyTravelReviewID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This inn needs refurbished but it was clean. Probably wouldn't have stayed here if my grands were with me but for a cheap business stay it was okay. Staff was super nice and that covers a multitude of sins. Know it ain't the Hyatt but I felt it was an okay deal

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie-Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thanks for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo, and i'm glad you were satisfied with the stay overall. Yes, we are remodeling the property, and over time there will have been a lot of changes made. Stop by soon!

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#35 of 72 in Amarillo
642 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
0.3 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#43 of 72 in Amarillo
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#22 of 72 in Amarillo
394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#24 of 72 in Amarillo
151 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Amarillo Central TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown

Property: Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown
Address: 1620 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103-2117 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Amarillo East)
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Amarillo Airport/Downtown is close to the Amarillo Convention Center, Amarillo College, the Tri-State Fairground, and the Cowboy Hall of Fame Museum and less than 3 miles from the Cal Farley Coliseum located in the Amarillo Civic Center. Downtown Amarillo is only 2 miles from this Red Roof. BSA Hospital and Northwest hospital are just 10 minutes away, and West Texas A&M University is only 20 minutes. We have a variety of great restaurants nearby-La Fiesta Mexican Restaurant, Denny's, Wendy's , Arby's McDonald's, and IHOP are all within walking distance, while the Big Texan and Texas Roadhouse are less than 5 minutes away. Red Roof Amarillo Airport/Downtown features free WiFi, free hot and cold continental breakfast, a guest laundry, and a sparkling outdoor pool, open May through August. All rooms have hair dryers, irons & ironing boards, and in-room coffee makers; selected rooms have free microwaves and mini-fridges. This location has Cable TV including HBO in all rooms, free on-site parking, weekly rates, and also offers complimentary coffee in the lobby and handy vending machines for snacks. Red Roof Amarillo features exterior entrances. Ask our friendly staff about tours and information about local attractions. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing