We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, & inexpensive.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown
Ranked #38 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stopped here on our way back home on a Saturday night, & my husband & I were not disappointed. The room was very clean, comfortable, & roomy--& the rate was excellent. Other major chains were asking for at least double their rate this Spring Break. Location is ideal as it is just one exit past South I-27, & close to a variety of restaurants & shopping malls. Breakfast was great (waffles, cereals/milk, pastries, etc.) for the rate as well. Overall, very pleased with our experience, & we'd stay again if we were in the area. This was our first time staying at a Red Roof Inn, but we'll be inclined to do so again if the quality is consistent with the one in Amarillo. Staff was also very pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side are quieter as they are further away from the Truck parking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thereeds_2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

We couldn't have been more pleased with the turnout of your experience. Happy, we wish to see you soon when passing the area!

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 403 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Desk clerk Sarai was great help to me when I stayed there. You couldn't stay anywhere better for the money. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and check in and out was fast and courteous. Have a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

We are elated to know this hotel worked out for you, and hope you will come by to visit again!

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Great location easy in easy out. Staff was very helpful front deck lady (Sarai) is always helpful. Lots of restaurants to go to. Shopping is great just a great place. Good parking and walking Mex food. All you would want and need water park very close kid things to do so come stay have fun. Drink some wine have a beer! It's great.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coperhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn, as we always try to accommodate our guests' with a great experience. We feel exultant when our guest enjoy what we have to offer. We acknowledge your opinion, and hope others feel the same way.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The room was not tasteful. The bathroom was filthy. The grouted over the mildew in the shower. The shower curtain holder was broken so the curtain didn't close. There was a creepy guy smoking next to our door as we moved our stuff in. Crappy beater cars all over which scared us in our nice new car. The sign on the door said please lock dead bolt. Thin walls. Crappy patch jobs all over room.

Morning wake up: maids wouldn't stop knocking on the door, you could here everyone moving in the complex

Packing up the car: I was sitting in the front seat of the car and I hear the room door next to us fly open. A dirty African American man was standing there cradling his jigsaw that was stabbing out of part of his jacket. He got into his beat up car with a dislocated side mirror and peeled out. Hide yo kids, hide yo wife and come armed.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyLindy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

We are truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay at this hotel. Next time, I would advise you to call the front office and request a room change if you were not satisfied with your surroundings. As for the room, we appreciate your description and will attempt to update the problems so no one will experience the same as you. Thanks for your opinion,

General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My reservation was for one night, but because of terrible snow storm/I-40 being closed, I stayed 3 nights. Room was clean and heater worked well. Fridge and Microwave and new decor.I was impressed that even the bedspreads were changed with new occupant. I appreciated the free long distance phone calls because it saved my cell minutes for my extra long stay...lots of calls to make because of delay. Internet was very slow but could have been caused by the weather.

Room Tip: The parking lot for the front rooms was in better condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for enjoying your stay at Red Roof Inn Amarillo. We try to give our guests the best convenience possible, and we are glad you were satisfied. The WiFi could have been due to the weather. Nevertheless, we will try to make sure it doesn't happen again. Thanks for choosing us,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Check in was fast and easy since we reserved our room in advance. Front desk staff was friendly. Room was clean and comfortable (the pillows could have been a bit softer). Apart from loud neighbors the first part of the evening a nice place to stay for the night.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peaches352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

We enjoy knowing that you liked the room overall. As for the noise, if you have problems, you may always call the front desk to request another room. We will try to keep others quiet so they do not bother other customers. Thanks for the opinion,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

After checking all hotel reviews in the area we decided on this one. The check in gal Victoria was wonderful, Great personality. Asked for room on backside after reviews of busy highway. The truckers all park in back with loud engines. Barking dogs.

Clean sheets and bathroom. Worn nubby blankets and carpet. Door frame recently repaired from perhaps break in at some point. No worries. At 2am there were screaming and running kids on the second floor for over an hour before they were asked to leave.

Continental breakfast was meager. So though the sheets and bath were clean the noise and lack of sleep gives a 2 star rating. But for the price it was ok.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank parodyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

We are sorry you didn't like your stay. We will take your advice to the appropriate departments, so thanks for letting us know. We will make sure it doesn't happen again. Thanks for the heads-up,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#33 of 72 in Amarillo
708 reviews
0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#45 of 72 in Amarillo
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Amarillo
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#24 of 72 in Amarillo
158 reviews
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#18 of 72 in Amarillo
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown

Address: 1620 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103-2117 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Amarillo East)
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range: $40 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of I-40 on Exit #71, Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown is close to the Amarillo Convention Center, the Tri-State Fairground, the Cowboy Hall of Fame Museum, and Amarillo College. We’re close to Palo Duro Canyon State Park, perfect for hiking and biking, and also close to the cities of Canyon, Hereford, Borger and Pampa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing