We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

After reading the great reviews here, we were disappointed in what we found. The room smelled so bad that I asked for another one (and re-iterated "non-smoking"!), but the second one smelled just the same. The coffee pot was missing its carafe, and the whole place was pretty decrepit and shabby. I'm accustomed to staying in budget hotels, so I don't think I have unrealistic expectations.

A few good things: the breakfast was good, and the staff was on the ball keeping the food replenished and the area clean. It was convenient to have a fridge and microwave in the room.

Still, I don't think we'll be staying there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BethanyinDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    123
    91
    48
    30
See reviews for
94
106
51
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Howard, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2012

After a hard day's drive we were pleasantly surprised to find one of the cleanest rooms we've ever stayed at...(and we have stayed many places in many countries.) When we went for our breakfast, again we couldn't believe how clean everything was and what a wonderful breakfast awaited us. Gilbert was busy making sure we had everything we needed and wiping tables etc. Melisa and Gilbert were also so helpful at the desk...We will be return quest and highly recommend this Red Roof.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkdale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Roof was clean and everyting worked. Carpet worn, but clean with few spots. TV was CRT, but worked fine and cable was complete. Wi Fi ok. Bed, Bath and table alright. Water hot, AC good. Chair stained.

Staff friendly and breakfast good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stopped there on our way to Santa Fe. For the price, it's hard to beat. The room was really clean compare to other Red Roof (we visited 4 this month...) and the staff was friendly. It's located near the ''shopping'' area and just off the highway, wich is perfect for a one night stop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Room size fair, bed comfy, sheets good, towels good size but rough. Toiletries in packets and that's ok. Shower hot, good pressure. AC cold and was best AC had for this price room.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netfarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed over night on a road trip and found it to be a nice place to stay. We had 2 rooms because we have 6 kids and both rooms were clean & comfortable. The staff was friendly and the breakfast had a good variety and you could even make your own waffles. If we travel this way again we will stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2012

During our cross country trip, my mom, my husband, and our two small children were looking for a decent priced hotel that still felt comfortable and safe. Though an older hotel, The Red Roof Inn was everything I had hoped for and more!

Out of all the hotels we stayed in, this was the best nights sleep I had. The pillowtop matresses were so comfortable that I was asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow. We arrived late (after 10) and our keys were available immediately. The room was clean and neat and the a/c had been turned on before we got there so it was the perfect temperature, not hot and stuffy like other hotels. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, giving us info on things our family might enjoy in the area.

Though I would definitely stay here again, there are a few things that I didn't like. As I've already mentioned, the room was very small. Everything was crammed so close together that it was difficult to find places for our luggage. Secondly, the rooms all open to the outside. I prefer hotels in which the rooms open into interior hallways, but since my husband was with us and the area seemed safe, it wasn't a big issue. Finally, if you are looking for a great breakfast, look elsewhere. At this hotel breakfast consists of small donuts, muffins, cold cereal, biscuits and gravy, and waffles shaped like the state of texas. No yogurt, no, toast, and no fruit. That being said, my family all managed to eat enough to hold us over until lunch with no complaints. It was by no means extravagant and not partcularly healthy, but it did the job.

This hotel is not big and flashy, but if you are looking for a safe, comfortable, friendly place to stay, this hotel is absolutely perfect. And becauseit it won't hurt your pocketbook, you'll have more money to spend on fun with your family.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandJsMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#36 of 72 in Amarillo
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#43 of 72 in Amarillo
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#24 of 72 in Amarillo
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Amarillo
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#23 of 72 in Amarillo
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown

Property: Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown
Address: 1620 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103-2117 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Amarillo East)
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Amarillo Airport/Downtown is close to the Amarillo Convention Center, Amarillo College, the Tri-State Fairground, and the Cowboy Hall of Fame Museum and less than 3 miles from the Cal Farley Coliseum located in the Amarillo Civic Center. Downtown Amarillo is only 2 miles from this Red Roof. BSA Hospital and Northwest hospital are just 10 minutes away, and West Texas A&M University is only 20 minutes. We have a variety of great restaurants nearby-La Fiesta Mexican Restaurant, Denny's, Wendy's , Arby's McDonald's, and IHOP are all within walking distance, while the Big Texan and Texas Roadhouse are less than 5 minutes away. Red Roof Amarillo Airport/Downtown features free WiFi, free hot and cold continental breakfast, a guest laundry, and a sparkling outdoor pool, open May through August. All rooms have hair dryers, irons & ironing boards, and in-room coffee makers; selected rooms have free microwaves and mini-fridges. This location has Cable TV including HBO in all rooms, free on-site parking, weekly rates, and also offers complimentary coffee in the lobby and handy vending machines for snacks. Red Roof Amarillo features exterior entrances. Ask our friendly staff about tours and information about local attractions. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing