We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good price and comfy, good smelling room.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Amarillo East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in Amarillo
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good price and comfy, good smelling room.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

It took some convincing for me to try another Red Roof Inn, as I had a less than desirable experience the night before in Albuquerque...however the price was cheap, the staff was friendly, and the room was clean. I slept well, and would stay again if I was driving through and needed a cheap room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camaro485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    120
    88
    48
    29
See reviews for
93
102
48
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

Generally I like Red Roof Inns. They typically provide a great room and guest experience for a reasonable price. I have stayed at the Red Roof Inn in Lubbock, had a great experience and I think I wrote a review about that one.

My father, wife and I pulled into Amarillo about 1AM, were exhausted and needed to sleep. The sign for $49 for a night pulled me across the highway. At the window, they said the rate was $65 for a 2 queen room. That seemed excessive, but I was so tired I said Ok.

When we got into the room, one bed was made and one looked like it had been made by the former guest in this room. The comforter was simply thrown over the pillows and my wife wanted to leave or get another room. I was so tired, I picked up the covers, looked at the sheets and lied to her that it was all Ok.

We slept through the night and got up early to hit the road again. When we went to the free breakfast, it was a joke. Someone had lined 12 tiny chocolate donuts and 12 tiny powdered sugar donuts on a huge tray. There was barely anything to the breakfast.

All in all, this is not a horrible place. It was safe. We slept well but like I said in the title, I just expect more from a Red Roof Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRC417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

With easy on-off access to I-40, our king non/smoking room was clean and had a comfortable bed, and all items within the room were in good working order. Breakfast was a surprise since most Red Roofs don't include one. Got our rate through a sale on redroof.com, and the rate was excellent. Front desk staff helpful, competent and pleasant. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WearyHoosierGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borger, Texas, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Clean Rooms, Great Staff and a good breakfast. Convenient location right off the I-40. Highly recommended to those coming through Amarillo. You'd expect to pay more at other comparable places to stay. This is the second time that we have stayed here and even got the same room we were in the last stay. Almost feels like we never left our little comfortable home away from home. Thank you and keep up the great work!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, Maryland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stopped here while doing our cross country voyage. The room rates were found online, and were pretty cheap for a king bed, non-smoking room. We had a nice stay. The bed was softer than normal at most value hotels. The parking was more than adequate, and right outside the rooms on the first floor. The continental breakfast included bisquits and gravy, and waffles, among other things, which I thought was more than enough for what we paid for the room. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suppressor86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay. It is recently converted to a Red Roof, but they have the level of service we have come to count on from this chain. The bathroom was a little quirky, but clean and had a nice hot shower. They have an outstanding hot breakfast, open till 10a. Lyn was welcoming and made us feel at home, which is often hard to come by while traveling. We will definately be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArleenMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Stayed here as an overnight stop between Phoenix and St. Louis. The hotel was clean and in a good location, but had a very poor internet connection. The front desk was no help and I ended up connection through the Hampton Inn that was next door. It's a good place to stop if you don't need the internet. Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingman1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#33 of 71 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#39 of 71 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Amarillo Central TX
0.3 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#44 of 71 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Amarillo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo East

Property: Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
Address: 1620 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103-2117 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo East 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Amarillo East is close to the Amarillo Convention Center, Amarillo College, the Tri-State Fairground, and the Cowboy Hall of Fame Museum and less than 3 miles from the Cal Farley Coliseum located in the Amarillo Civic Center. Downtown Amarillo is only 2 miles from this Red Roof. BSA Hospital and Northwest hospital are just 10 minutes away, and West Texas A&M University is only 20 minutes. We have a variety of great restaurants nearby-La Fiesta Mexican Restaruant, Denny's, Wendy's , Arby's McDonald's, and IHOP are all within walking distance, while the Big Texan and Texas Roadhouse are less than 5 minutes away. Red Roof Amarillo East features free WiFi, free hot and cold continental breakfast, a guest laundry, and a sparkling outdoor pool, open May through August. All rooms have hair dryers, irons & ironing boards, and in-room coffee makers; selected rooms have free microwaves and mini-fridges. This location has Cable TV including HBO in all rooms, free on-site parking, weekly rates, and also offers complimentary coffee in the lobby and handy vending machines for snacks. Red Roof Amarillo features exterior entrances. Ask our friendly staff about tours and information about local attractions. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing