We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Local Hotel for Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Nice Local Hotel for Overnight Stay”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We discovered the Ashmore a few years ago on our travels. We decided to stop for the night and opted to stay after another option didn't meet expectations. We were delighted with our choice. We have continued to make this hotel a stopping point in Amarillo, as needed.

We usually arrive late and don't have time for the amenities offered except breakfast the next morning. My husband found this hotel and it is difficult to navigate from the interstate. However, we like the large parking lot, nice lobby and the efficient, clean, comfortable rooms.

Our last stay was just as we expected. The breakfast/dining room has televisions, something I would not expect here. Also, the gazebo in the back adds a nice, friendly touch to the overall atmosphere. Our room was perfectly clean, everything was in good order and our bed, as always, was great.

The only observation, not necessarily a complaint, is that the front desk will phone before check-out time to remind visitors to check out. Understandably, check out does mean check out. However, after staying in 5 star hotels and paying much more, this seems unreasonable and simply not a good business practice. Of course, this defies logic because we return. Still, the staff makes me feel like I'm going to owe them for 10 extra minutes, if we don't get out. Since they make us get out early (which we should do anyway) this is a great motivator! Just a personal pet peeve, not a complaint!

Room Tip: Try to stay in a room close to an entrance so you don't have to roll luggage down a long hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RikiUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    121
    76
    32
    24
See reviews for
114
135
30
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birminghm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We used hotwire and were assigned this hotel that said it was similar to an embassy suites. This was not true at all. The room smelt TERRIBLE and it was covered in dust. It looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months. They moved us to a different room but it was worse. We checked in and immediately checked out. The lady was nice about it, that was the only good thing.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barron850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Heading back from our family ski trip in Colorado over Spring Break (March 8th-16th), we ran into some rough weather in NE New Mexico and the panhandle of Texas. We were also traveling with our friends and their 2 children, so we knew we were going to have to stop for the night because of the weather and to get some rest. On the trip up to Colorado, our friends had stayed the night at the Ashmore Inn already, so they suggested that we stay there as they had enjoyed their stay. Not having heard of the Ashmore Inn before, I was very skeptical about the recommendation but decided to give it a shot.

We arrived late (around 11:30 p.m.) and the hotel was very, very full! Almost to capacity. Luckily we had booked the room earlier on the trip down! Check in was a breeze! Sign here, sign there, here's your key and you're on your way! With the hotel being super crowded, we had to park around the back. The hotel is right off the highway, so the area appears to be a bit "sketchy", but nothing happened to us or our belongings during our 1 night stay.

Once up in the room, we were surprised to find that the room was very spacious. Along with the spaciousness was the feeling of staying in a 1950's hospital (since each wall was bright white, and decorations in the room were very sparse). The Ashmore Inn definitely does not spend its profits on room decor....... :)

The kids stayed on the pullout sleeper sofa bed - and they were happy. We adults were happy to find that the bed was comfortable and inviting. The room was also very clean - no complaints in that department.

Where the hotel exceeded our expectations was in the service that was offered. Employees were very friendly and courteous and the hotel appeared to be well cared for. Breakfast the next morning was SUPER crowded - not a chair in sight in the dining room. Noticing this, the staff opened up one of the conference rooms as overflow space for guests that could not find a place to sit and eat in the main dining area. Plus points for that!

Checkout was super simple! No complaints here! Overall, while the hotel will not wow your senses, it is a very good hotel to stay at if you are passing through Amarillo! My family was pleasantly surprised with the level of value we received with our stay at the Ashmore Inn!

Room Tip: The hotel is surprisingly large. Get their early if you want to have close parking and room proximi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROANDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We got in late and we were exhausted! I was sceptical when my husband booked this hotel because I've never heard of the name. Room was clean and bed was comfy. Hallways probably could use some new carpet and recpection area a bit gaudy.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elaina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was tastefully decorated and is well maintained. It has a good size dining area for breakfast. The bathroom was large, clean and worked well. It is an older facility and the age shows in some places. One of our sheets was getting pretty thin and should be replaced but it was clean. The room was quiet. We could not hear neighbors and, conversely, our TV could not be heard from the hall with the door closed. The bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mercysfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Wow. I have stayed in some awful places, but this was one of the worst. The outside looked fantastic, so we figured that the inside would be just as great --nope! The dated interior led to a creepy hotel room. The bed was hard and sloped at the headboard so forget sleeping soundly. There were stains on the sheets and the chemical smell in the room was overwhelming. What a terrible experience, especially for the outrageous price they charged per night.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angryrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Absolutely welcoming staff upon arrival and helpful. My non-smoking room as expected in this nice hotel. Clean and well equipped. Everything to my satisfaction. As well as the breakfast with a good choice. Very good with quick WiFi connection. Easy to find, and good parking facilities.

Room Tip: Room 1st floor facing the inner garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
6.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 72 in Amarillo
670 reviews
6.9 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#43 of 72 in Amarillo
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#23 of 72 in Amarillo
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashmore Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashmore Inn & Suites

Property: Ashmore Inn & Suites
Address: 2301 E Interstate 40, Exit 72-A, Amarillo, TX 79104-3403
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ashmore Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ashmore Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashmore Inn And Suites
Ashmore Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Ashmore Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing