We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to the Ashmore and it was great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The office staff was very hepful and suggested places to eat. The room was clean and the maids went out of their way to clean up the room when we were gone.
Pros- clean and quiet rooms, spacious rooms, there was always someone that would answer a question.
Con - need one more waffle iron for breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the side or rear of the hotel are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daboom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 411 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2011

OK, so it wasn't horrible, but it wasn't good either. The good stuff: The staff was nice. Now, for the rest: My friend needed a handicapped accessible room which they did reserve, but why have these rooms farthest away from the elevator??? We also requested a non-smoking room, but we had the only non-smoking room on a SMOKING floor--sort of defeats the purpose if you have to walk past all of the stinky rooms to get to yours, ya know? Also, since we had a handicapped room, we had only a pedestal sink with no place to put things...like toothbrush. The shower was larger than others, but it had an incline to walk in and this could cause an issue for some people with mobility issues. The bed a too firm for me, but my friend had no problem with it.
They do have a pool, but it was closed for repairs and although they had vending machines on all of the floors, they were out of all of the diet pops! Come on! This was a Tuesday--when does staff fill this?
They do serve a hot breakfast, but stay away from the biscuits and gravy--not too much flavor.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimjnsn1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The apartment was nice and clean with a big common room divided into two living areas, a kitchen, and two bed rooms. The beds were big, soft, clean and comfortable. The bedding material provided was sufficient enough for a family. We slept peacefully every night here. The furniture were good. There is also a nice television set. The people here were quiet friendly and helpful. The maintenance of this place is excellent. One can never complain about the cleanliness. We loved our stay at this place. Recently our family friends stayed here and felt the same regarding the place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasimya3312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Although the room smelled as if they had recently shampooed the carpets (musty yet clean), it was clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was great, and the location provides easy access to the interstate. The Cracker Barrel is within walking distance, and numerous restaurants dot I-40.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed at Ashmore Inn while on a road trip from Texas to Colorado. As we are not familiar with the area, on-line reviews of all local hotels were evaluated........giving us a bit of concern. We chose Ashmore Inn hoping for just "safe and clean". We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel. The room was very comfortable with several amenities provided and the staff (Kelly and Jason) were extremely nice and helpful. The location is right off I-40 but freeway noise was not an issue. Close to restaurants (Cracker Barrel just steps away). It's a perfect place for not only a one night stop-over but for extended stays. This will be the place we return to and recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Received a great rate at this hotel. Beds were a little soft and it was quiet, but I wish that we had been told the hot tub was not working correctly when we checked in. We only live 1 hour away and we were interested in relaxing in the hot tub. Also, the room we were given had no heavy curtains to close over the windows. As a result it was very light in the room all night.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

My brother, his wife and I traveled to Amarillo, TX to surprise my father for his 80th birthday. I looked for a hotel offering suites, as we would probably entertain family at the hotel. After seeing some of the reviews on this site, I contacted the Ashmore Inn & Suites and explained the type of rooms we were looking for and why it was important that the living area of the suite be separate from the bedroom area so we could have a small family gathering. Heath was very helpful and suggested their “apartment” for about the cost of 2 regular rooms. I was a little concerned since the Ashmore is an older hotel but Heath assured me we’d be happy.

We arrived in Amarillo 3 hours before normal check-in but the hotel allowed us to check in early. Check-in was a breeze and Heath was there to meet us. The apartment was wonderful! A total of 1300 s.f. with a large common room with an archway separating it into two living areas, one with couch, chairs and a TV, etc. (great for our teenage guests to hang out), and the other with upholstered chairs and desk at one end, a kitchen area at the other, and a full-size dining table and chairs in between (perfect for the adults to visit). There were 2 good size bedrooms at either end of the apartment each with a very comfy king size bed, nice furniture, TV, a full bath and huge walk-in closet. There was a third great big walk-in closet near the entry door to the suite.

Our rooms were very clean and nicely appointed; the lobby area was lovely with free hot popcorn available. Our teenage guests hit the pool and had a great time. Breakfast was included and looked delicious (we only had time to grab some fruit). Every single person we dealt with at the hotel, including the maids and a maintenance man, was friendly and helpful.

My brother suffered two minor irritations while at the Ashmore. He had requested an “adult size” coffee maker or, in the alternative, a second mini-coffee maker – despite a promise that one or the other would be delivered to the room, neither appeared. The other irritation was the pillows on the beds. Like many other hotels that have upgraded their bedding, the pillows were those small square pillows – lots of them and they look great but just aren’t that comfortable for sleeping. We were totally delighted with everything else.

I would definitely stay at the Ashmore again and have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone visiting or passing through Amarillo.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chibbard54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
6.9 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#24 of 72 in Amarillo
152 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo
7.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 72 in Amarillo
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashmore Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashmore Inn & Suites

Address: 2301 E Interstate 40, Exit 72-A, Amarillo, TX 79104-3403
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range: $77 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ashmore Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashmore Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashmore Inn And Suites
Ashmore Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Ashmore Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing