We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Quirky” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Texan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Texan Motel
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

great quirky hotel- though shower was not working, had to go ask reception about it- finally got it working. room was nice. the Steak house was the highlight - worth at least one night stay- especially if you have a family-kids will love it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    175
    105
    47
    34
See reviews for
85
195
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

The beds are wonderful. The decor is fun. The restaurant food is fabulous..if you're meat eater. I thought the room a little pricey but we had a wonderful fun experience... Most do at least once. I would skip the breakfast in the am unless you are somehow hungry after the huge meal served in the restaurant

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 4USue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I've written positively on this motel before and that review stands with a caveat. Best shower off i-40 IF YOU'RE ON THE FIRST FLOOR. If you're on the second floor - I can't vouch. Stayed there for one night on the second floor and water temp was all over the place. No kidding - went from scalding to chilled numerous times in a ten minute shower. And I mean numerous times. If you're going to stay there, and it's great for kids, make sure you're on the first floor or that they have fixed the water temp issues on the second.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank green_chile_warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here on our authentic Route 66 trip. This hotel was cute from the moment we pulled into the drive. Our room was well appointed, very clean and comfortable. We had dinner at the steak house and were also pleased. The gift shop was great for our knick knacks and souvenirs. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank texasgirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here with the girlfriend in September. It was our first time ever in Texas, so the old ranch style hotel was pretty cool for us. The room was pretty small, but it was clean. The pool in the shape of Texas was awesome too.

The restaurant is next door was amazing! We really liked this place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loosenut1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Amarillo is a halfway point for several of our road trips and kids always ask to stay at the motel when we stop next door for dinner. This trip we obliged and were pleased!
Pre trip they called to confirm because I had accidentally booked twice and they didn't want to overcharge me - nice! Check in was a breeze and she got us a convenient room since my husband had a knee injury.
Room was cute and clean and full of old west charm. Perfect compliment to the steakhouse! Bed was just fine and room had nice bonuses - coffee maker, fridge, microwave and nice tv.
Perfect stopover on our family road trip.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Monmy2theTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The first time we stayed here, it was great. The decor was our style and the place unique. We decided to stay again on our way back home. The beds were broken down, you could feel every spring stabbing you in the back. The covers were covered in dirt. I attempted to pull the covers up and got a dirt shower. No matter how much I tried to shake them out, it didn't help. When I asked for a refund the next morning I was told the best they could do was a discount because I didn't notice the problems as soon as I checked in. So because I had dinner plans it cost me a good night's sleep.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cdswhitedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Airport
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Amarillo Central TX
3.2 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#22 of 72 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Texan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Texan Motel

Property: Big Texan Motel
Address: 7701 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79118-6915
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
Big Texan Hotel Amarillo
Big Texan Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing