We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place”
Review of Big Texan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Texan Motel
Ranked #30 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This place is fun...The Motel is clean and the pool is so cool...It is in the shape of Texas...Everyone should stay there and eat at the Big Texan...There is plenty to do in the Amarillo area...Enjoy Enjoy....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DramJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 497 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a big ol meal at the Steak Ranch and then decided to stay here for the night. We were pleasantly surprised at the comfort of this hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The price was great and the decor is unique and fun!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TerraleeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you like water pressure in a shower (I know I do), you will be disappointed with this one. It barely trickles and it does not get warm. At all. The room is cute, stays super dark, no noise, comfy bed. But that dang shower....grrrrr.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i_heart_roadtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

One of my favourite places we stayed in on 66. It is the details that made the room, the cushions on the chairs and the slight switches are (Lone) star shaped and the staff were great and the beds were comfortable. We had one or two drinks that night and got a wee bit boisterous but there was no complaining or fuss about anything which was great! It is also connected to the bar and restaurant of the same name and that is a great place to eat and drink!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voodoochilled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The other reviews pretty much covered everything I don't know what else too say. but stay here its worth it very comfortable and the air conditioner gets cold. and don't forget to go for a swim in the Texas pool.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The motel is a fun western themed place. Not fancy, but clean, comfy, and the food at Big Texan is great. The restaurant sponsors a free 72 oz steak if you can eat it within an hour. We heard about the city and its attractions on the Food Network. There's so much to do for a weekend getaway to Amarillo. Museums, horse riding, etc.

Room Tip: There's even a horse motel attached if you want to take your horses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NinaMarie R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean and comfy...nice size shower...in room fridge and microwave...overall nice for the price...we walked to the Big Texan for supper and it was very good...we also were able to indulge in a few drinks since there was no drive required...will stay here again for sure

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lazyctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo East
9.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
10.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#25 of 72 in Amarillo
156 reviews
10.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#17 of 72 in Amarillo
391 reviews
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Texan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Texan Motel

Address: 7701 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79118-6915
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range: $79 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Big Texan Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Big Texan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Texan Hotel Amarillo
Big Texan Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing