We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Texan Motel
Nearby Hotels
$129
$110
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Amarillo(Amarillo)
$149
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveler rating
112
185
114
54
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
185
114
54
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold westwestern stylefun place to stayhorse hotelsteak challengewooden shuttersthemed roomswild west townswinging barroute adventuretexan experiencebathroom areabed coversswimming poolroom was clean and comfortablepassing through amarillocowboy
Filter
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 502 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We didn't plan on staying at the Big Texan, but fancied somewhere a bit different. It was fabulous! Real swing doors to the wash area and 2 large double beds. Clean and tidy. No breakfast included, but good value for money. We ate at the steakhouse that evening and had the best steak I've ever eaten. Would definitely recommend if you want to try an individual hotel with some character.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Laurap211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The rooms are in western theme which is appropriate for Amarillo Texas but has all the modern conviences,tv, jaquzzi tub, air conditioning etc. An interesting touch I thought was cute was the swinging bar doors they had between the bedroom and the bathroom. the decor is basic brown but it is a western theme so don't expect bright rosey colors. The staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable I arrived eary but the staff made every effort to get me in my room early. It is in walking distance to the resturant which makes it convienent for tired travelers. nice room walk over to the bar for a taste of their craft beer and delicious steak dinner.
Easy to find off I-40{route 66] east side of Amarillo You recieve a $2 voucher for the big breakfast buffet. if you are big breakfast eater this your cup otea. The breakfast starts at 7 am so you can fill up and get on the road at a reasonable time
For you horse lovers they even have a horse hotel. It's a corral that you can board your horses in while you are having a great steak and a restful nights sleep.
If i ever get back to Amarillo I WILL be staying here

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed here with a Contiki group as a one night stop over. The Motel was a great laugh with a wild west (Texan) theme all over. The room frontage’s are painted up to look like a wild west town and the pool is the shape of the great state of Texas. The restaurant is located at your door and serves great steak and BBQ food. The bar is great with live music playing in the garden area and plenty of room to dance. The rooms are a good size with a comfortable bed and clean bathroom. The breakfast did not have a lot of options but was very filling and tasty. The staff are great at the motel and the restaurant and really help make your stay enjoyable. We had a great night and stay, it was nice to stay in a hotel that was not past of a chain. Free working WI-FI is a bonus.

Room Tip: Try the 2,2kg steak challenge if your feeling a bit peckish
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwis_can_fly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

One other reviewer hit the nail on the head, delightfully tacky western. But the beds are comfortable and the TV a big flat screen. I've stayed at two different rooms at Big Tex and both bathrooms suffer from a lack of ventilation--peeling paint. No free breakfast, but you get a voucher for $2 off breakfast at the Big Texan restaurant. And the restaurant is just across the parking lot.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back building are a little quieter than those in the main block.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Myself and 2 friends were doing route 66 and stayed here over night. This was the first hotel to excite me along the route when we arrived the lady who checked us in wasnt the most welcoming but the place was energetic and busy. This was a western style motel rooms inside were a bit dull as they were decorated in brown suede colours but this all added to the experience. We headed off to the steakhouse for dinner which again was busy waited about 15 minutes for a seat we were sat on the top balacony in the far corner but still managed to pick up in the energy of the place their was music playing and someone was doing the steak challange place was buzzing. They have a good selection of beers in which they brew their selfs. The beer i choose went down a treat ! if you are doing route 66 i recommend stopping over here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lricha13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews