We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, front desk staff needs some work” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
205 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, front desk staff needs some work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Enjoyed our stay in Amarillo for the night....Room was nice but front desk staff wasn't as helpful as one would expect. Asked for a recommendation for dinner near the hotel and she had nothing to suggest. Found on our own, about a mile away of the hotel and excellent little BBQ spot, Tyler's BBQ on Paramount Rd (right turn out of parking lot on !40 Frontage Road and right turn on Paramount, little red building) and several chain restaurants nearby....She may have been new staff but I would hope part of training would be to give staff a list of near by restaurants to suggest to patrons! Breakfast was very nice. A step up from Hampton/Holiday inn breakfasts but not quite as nice as Embassy Suite breakfasts we've had.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    72
    23
    15
    6
See reviews for
94
72
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
141 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. This was our first time here The room was fantastic and clean. The breakfast included fresh fruit and was very good. Check in and out were quick. We spend nights in Amarillo two or three times a year, and we will stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoefromOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We arrived a day after a snow storm. The parking lot and sidewalks had not been plowed or shoveled. It was a trecherous walk. Our room was beautiful, but the walls are thin and someone in cowboy boots was clomping above us most of the evening. We went to the front desk for some restaurant recommentations. The young lady had no ideas about where we could find a burger or a salad. We got in our car and immediately saw several restaurant possibilities. Blue Sky and Cheddars were within walking distance. I am sure she passes these everyday when going to work. No one goes out of their way or thinks outside the box. I know this is a new hotel and will give them the benefit of the doubt. This hotel is in a very strange location.

Room Tip: top floor to avoid clompers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was the first time staying at this Hotel chain and we were very impressed with the appearance of this hotel. The location is right off of I40 and very easy to find. The front desk personnel were kind, and very helpful/informative. We were checked in quickly and navigated to our room easily. I liked that they offered free DVD movies for the kids, which got them excited about getting to the room. I also liked that the free hot breakfast did not end until 1030 in the morning. Most other places breakfast hours end a lot earlier than that. If you are a priority club member, you are afforded benefits such as a later check-out than normal. Lobby has an internet center, game/movie room/large breakfast area and access to the pool. The rooms are fairly large/modern/clean and efficient. There is a small kitchen with a large fridge, dishwasher, sink and cabinets. A small amount of dinnerware are provided. The room we were in had a king sized bed that was very comfortable and a great nights sleep. The room temp was easily controlled and worked great. The toilet and tub were separate from the bathroom sink, so you can finish getting ready without having to be in the same steam filled room with somebody else. We also had a fold out couch that worked well for the kids. The fold out was small, so only plan on one adult or two children to sleep on it. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and were even thinking about staying one more night just to enjoy the surroundings of Amarillo and this comfortable hotel. If you are looking for a government rate, this hotel also offers rooms for $77 a night for those that qualify. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone and will plan on staying here whenever we come to Amarillo, TX.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilbert53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMHIE, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for spreading the word that we normally accept government rates! As with all rates, please be sure to book early and usually you save! We also would like to remind you of our best price guarantee when you book directly through our website! Thanks for staying with us! Matthew Atchley Senior General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Normally a creature of habit I decided to try something new this trip to Amarillo and stay at the new kid on the block. While clean and still having that "new car smell" the enviornment lacks the personal touches I like to make me feel welcome while away from my own bed. I did enjoy breakfast but couldn't get as much as a smile from the employee who rushed away as quick as possible to avoid any communication. Forget the pool, I turned around and went back to my room. I do wish the best of luck to the new place but from now on I'll stick to what I know, hello Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shingofett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear shingofett,

Thank you for your feed back in regards to your stay at our hotel. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It our regret that you were not satisfied with our hotel features and services received from the staff. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

We value your business and hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

stayed here with my family not long ago, was quite disappointed as this seemed to be a fairly new property. First of all, first thing my kids look for is the pool, well, to my dismay, it was cloudy as hell. That was the first strike, second, was afer checking in a nd moving the clan along, the room we checked into had someone staying in it, boy was i surprised. Ok, i gave it the benefit of the doubt and didnt say much but requested another room without fuss, they helpful along the way. Finally after settling in, we discovered that our room was dirty, long hair still on the sheets, candy wrappers in the trash canm and the floor looked like it had crumbs. Got the stay over with, departed first thing the following morning thinking to myself, i should have stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear John R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service. For that reason, I apologize for any inconvenience the overall cleanliness of the pool and room may have caused during your stay. I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and rest assured your feedback will be reviewed and most certainly be forwarded to the appropriate departments. We will work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

we are a family of 5. we discovered this hotel recently. We stayed here to and from our Colorado Ski vacation. Rooms are clean and current. Lots of lighting at night to keep your car safe. the breakfast is Good, with lots of options. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokester7306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
2.9 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
3.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
3.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
2.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing

Property: Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
Address: 36 Western Plaza Dr, Amarillo, TX 79109-1569
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended-stay travelers play by different rules and need a hotel that understands your unique needs. Staybridge Suites Amarillo - Western Crossing is designed from the ground up...just for you. We are just minutes from the Baptist St. Anthony's Hospital, Northwest Texas Healthcare System, Bell Textron, Tyson Foods, Owens Corning, Texas Tech Pharmacy School, and AT&T. Staybridge Suites gives you the amenities that make you feel at home. Fully equipped suites with full kitchens, room to spread out, space to work and space to relax. Plus there's shopping and dining within walking distance. Just a short drive from the hotel you will find the American Quarter Horse Hall of Fame Museum, Big Texan, Historic Route 66, Panhandle Plains Historical Museum, Cadillac Ranch, and so much more. Lake Meredith Recreation Area, and Palo Duro Canyon State Park is just a short hour drive away. When it's time to get connected we know what you need-free wired and wireless high speed Internet, cable, sports and movie channels. And when you need to burn some energy the fully equipped fitness center and outdoor courtyard will help melt the stress away. For a relaxing evening, join us for our Social Reception then relax in our "Just like home" Library. For a late night snack you can always grab a treat in our Pantry, open 24 hours.When you come to the Panhandle of Texas, we know what you need. Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing is your best stay...for a week, a month or even a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing