We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Value For The Price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street
Ranked #44 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
“Excellent Value For The Price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The room I got was updated quite nicely. The bed is the most comfortable one that I have slept in for months, and much superior to other hotels. Definately an upper end mattress and box spring. They room had a large refrigerator and a great microwave. The lighting is very good, and I felt very safe staying alone. The shower is newer and the water is much hotter than most other hotels. And, the employees and staff are extremely attentive and helpful. There is a laundry room, and it is within walking distance of a Walmart Supercenter, and several other businesses like Starbucks, Subway, Whataburger, GNC, Fiesta Foods, and Big Lots.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Route662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you had a great stay and hope to see you again. We take pride in the hotel and all of the staff work as a team to make sure that the guest have a great stay. Thank you, Al
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    15
    9
    24
See reviews for
17
14
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moriarty, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I thought this would be at least something I could rest in for the night. Now I know "why" Motel 6 pulled out of this place and moved across the interstate. It was going to cost them more to fix this dump than what a new place would run. This place was water damaged in the bathroom, barely had any cover on the bed and practically no heat at all and it was 19 degrees Fahrenheit outside when I got into the room. I was about to freeze to death. None of the other ABVI's are in the shape tis one's in.

Room Tip: Go spend your money on a better place than this, it ain't worth it! Pay more $$$$$, get a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NX5W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you did not have a good stay with us. We have been undergoing a lot of renovations and hope that you will come and see all that we have done. Thanks, Al
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We were coming through Amarillo and were stuck in a really bad storm. This hotel was amazing and i have to hand it to the staff who really took care of us. There were people standing in the lobby and in the office, that how busy these guys were. They managed to get us in a room and we were very grateful for that. The room was warm, clean and comfortable. They even had the heater on for us. The next morning again the staff was great and had road conditions flyers out so that the guest can call. I have to hand it to the hotel, the experience was great. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forrest a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time for writing a review.. The storm was unexpected and we are glad that we were able to take care of you. Please pass on the good word to others as that will help us be on top of our game. We are going thru a lot of renovation right now and hope that you will come back and see all that we have done. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I was forced off the highway by black ice and needed a place to shelter for the night, or until the weather cleared up. This hotel was located perfectly for my needs. Rarely have I felt so relieved to see a vacancy sign as when I stayed here. Let's be clear, this is not the sort of hotel you stay at when you are on a leisurely vacation and want to pamper yourself. This is the sort of hotel you stay at when you need reasonably comfortable shelter for the night because you can't drive any farther (for whatever reason). This hotel suited me just fine. It was cold as as the proverbial you-know-what in the hallways, but the room was warm. It had a comfortable bed, clean shower and a TV set. You are not going to get more amenities than that out of an ABV, but for a clean and safe place to spend the night this worked out perfectly.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are a little more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank el7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I appreciate that you acknowledged we are a comfortable, clean place to stay. We hope that you come back and stay with us and see some of the upgrades we have done, i.e. carpet. Thank you, AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in and paid for a room and after we saw it, returned key and asked for cancellation. Room was filthy. I don't think I've ever seen a room so filthy. Carpet had stains everywhere and the whole room was run down. Gal at front said it had a king bed but instead had two doubles.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a response to our hotel. I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. We have just replaced all the carpet at the hotel and hope that you come back and check out what we have done. Again i apologize that you did not have a good stay with us. If you would like to send me an email i can be reached at abvigrand@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We booked this hotel on Priceline as we drove across the country before my son starts college next week. We arrived around midnight, and weren't looking for much, just a bed to sleep for a few hours before we continued on. We checked in and went to our room. We turned the air on and black, moldy water spewed across the room. Too tired to complain, we turned the air to low, and the spray didn't reach the bed. When we pulled the blankets back, there was hair and dirt all over the sheets in both beds. They were used, dirty sheets! We went to ask for another room, and were denied. We asked for a refund and were again denied. We lost out on the money and had to spend more to get a decent bed to sleep in. Worst. Hotel. Ever!

Room Tip: Do NOT stay here. Spend the extra to get a clean room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I am the manager at Americas Best Value Inn, and I am very sorry that you did not have a good experience here the hotel and need to look into this in more detail. Please send me your name that you checked in under, date, and room. Please send the information to abvigrand@yahoo.com

Thank you very much and i look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

After a long day of travel, we were ready for a room. Nothing fancy, just a place to sleep and get out of the car.
When we got there (it was pouring rain outside), the lady behind the counter said I had no reservation, even though I was holding the www.booking.com confirmation email in my hand. She insisted that I was at the wrong address. I wasn't. She decided to check her printer and fax machine one more time only to notice that they were out of paper. Viola! There was the confirmation.
After check in, we went to our room (still pouring rain). The stench of that room when we walked in would have made a skunk cringe. It smelled like rotten meat in a high school locker room. We went to complain to the desk, hoping for an air freshener and she was able to put us in another room. Phew! She moved us about 12 doors down and this time the room only had that run-down, musty motel smell. We didn't care, it was WAAAYYY better than the previous accommodation. We turned on the heater and the smell came back. Went back to desk and took clerk up on her previous offer of an air freshener. It helped a little, although one wonders why they offer air fresheners?
To shorten the ranting, the floors were filthy, remote didn't work, old fashioned television, shady neighborhood, shower leaked all night only to not turn on in the morning and there were bugs in our room. Loud jets flying overhead and an overall sense of danger was lurking the entire time. I'm pretty sure I witnessed a drug exchange in the parking lot next to my car.
I have never been so happy to put a hotel/motel behind me. I will NEVER stay at this property again and encourage others to steer clear of this hell hole.

Room Tip: Go next door. Seriously, plenty of other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoonfed78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for writing a response to our hotel. I am sorry that you did not have a good stay with us, and have spoken to the staff with your complaint. I would like to do some more investigating on the issues you had and would appreciate it if you can send me the name under which the room was rented and date. Please email it to abvigrand@yahoo.com. And again i apologize that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. Thank you, AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.4 mi away
Value Place Amarillo
Value Place Amarillo
#42 of 69 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Amarillo Central TX
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Quality Inn Central
#39 of 69 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
#35 of 69 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#45 of 69 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#41 of 69 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street
Address: 3930 E Interstate 40, I-40 at Grand Street, Exit #72-B, Amarillo, TX 79103-6123 (Formerly Motel 6 Amarillo East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street Hotel Amarillo
Motel 6 Amarillo
Motel Six Amarillo
Amarillo Motel Six
Amarillo Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing