We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vietnamese outside Vietnam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon Restaurant

Saigon Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 491 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best vietnamese outside Vietnam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

What a fantastic experience. The food was fresh and tasty, the service excellent and the staff very friendly and knowledgeable about Vietnamese food. Well Done Saigon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cjpmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    15
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A dining oasis in the land of chain burger joints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

After a long drive we arrived in Amarillo anticipating a disappointing meal at a burger chain. Instead, we happily stumbled upon Saigon Restaurant. While the location along US 40 and outward appearance of the restaurant are not terribly attractive, the food served within is excellent. The menu features an extensive selection of traditional Vietnamese cuisine along with a few other Asian dishes. The staff were very friendly, accommodating and efficient. I strongly recommend that you pass by the usual sad dining choices along US 40 and give Saigon Restaurant a try; you are sure to be pleased.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Windknot54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional, Authentic Vietnamese Made from Scratch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stuck in the middle of a 1,500 mile move with an overnight in Amarillo we had resigned ourselves to what we thought would be a night of American chain restaurants. Craving some noodles we decided to do a quick TripAdvisor search, just in case Amarillo had a hidden gem... and boy does it ever! Saigon Restaurant has an authentic menu that provides wonderful variety for those looking for a true Vietnamese experience (although they ask offer a few "safe" dishes for those in your party who might not be that adventurous). For pho connoisseurs, the pho was better than any we have had in big cities like Seattle and San Francisco- the manager served us directly and told us their pho is made from scratch, with a broth that simmers for over 8 hours, you could taste the difference, with hints of star anise even (worth the wait!). We asked for something unique to drink and were treated to a Vietnamese salty lemonade made with preserved lemons- delicious! The manager rounded out an excellent dining experience by recommending we take a dessert back to our hotel room- the dessert (banh khoai mi nurong), a cassava root and coconut cake, was served with fresh jasmine tea and was the most delicious ending to an incredible meal. Do not miss this restaurant, whatever you do- if you are passing through Amarillo eat here- even if you aren't hungry yet!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roshana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food, surprising location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

You would never think that Amarillo, Texas might be the best Asian food you've ever eaten, but that is exactly what we found on a trip that was fraught with bad food experiences in the culinary wasteland of West Texas. Saigon is just off I-40 (easy to get off and on) and it was the best surprise of our trip. The food is amazingly fresh and authentic and 100 percent from scratch, according to the owner who stopped by to check on us and tell us about how they choose dishes that are not only very authentic, but fresh and healthy as well. We had appetizers, two entrees, dessert, and two pots of jasmine (leaf not tea bags) tea for $30 even. We've eaten Vietnamese food all over North America and in other countries and this compared with the best. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
203 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The vietnamese fresh rolls are delicious. SG6 with egg noodles is awesome it has lots of fresh veggies and comes with shrimp, chicken and beef in a really flavorful sauce and is a large portion for around $11. Watch the jalepenos though as they use fresh ones and leave the seeds in so they can take you for a ride if you aren't careful. Just ask them to exclude them or put them on the side.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rlath82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Saigon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing