We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #17 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Pros: large room, separate sink (total of two), clean, fairly new.
Cons: beds a bit too firm for me, noisy sheets (they made a rubbing sound every time I moved), poor soundproofing: could hear snoring and conversations next door during the night.
Overall, would stay there again as location was good, nice breakfast, and large room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 391 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here Apr 10. Right off of I-40 but had some difficulty getting to it. Hotel looks very nice on outside and very clean inside. There are a lot of negative reviews on this but they seem to be older ones. The room was very nice and the AC was very quiet. Bed was very comfortable as were the pillows. Fell asleep fast BUT at 4:15 AM, the smoke alarm started to beep. Called front desk and clerk came up to check, she said she would call someone but came back a few minutes later and removed the alarm. Couldn't fall back to sleep so watched some tv and then breakfast which was normal fare. When time came to check out, found out that she gave us 50% discount for the smoke alarm malfunction.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robertru44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Hotel is right off I-40 on the west side of amarillo. Easy on and off. Hotel is very nice to stay at. 4 floors. Rooms are very nice. Pretty much what I've come to expect from the Comfort chain. Bed was firm but comfortable. Stayed in the handicapped room, and it had a sanitary smell. Nothing bad, but actually smelled like a rest home. Probably because of issues with it being a handicapped room.

There is a full hot breakfast with all the trimmings in the morning. Great place to stay for families looking to save a little money on a meal. Hotel has a nice indoor pool. Price was average. Around $80 a night. Not too bad for a Friday night

There are plenty of restaurants around, BBQ, Red Robin, etc. Also across the street is a movie theater.

Plenty of parking- RVs no problem, but for a semi it might be a little tight.

Will return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barne125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel was very nice, it was clean comfortable and very updated. There was plenty of parking for cars as well as larger vehicles with trailers, which is necessary in truck country. My husband said the hot tub was a "luke warm tub" but that the pool area was nice. It was very quiet and we slept very well. The breakfast was nice and included warm food besides waffles which is not always the case.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

While this isn't a new property, they have worked to update the interior to reflect the newer standards. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. My room was comfortable and served my purpose as a business traveler. When I return I will be sure to take advantage of the very nice fitness room and the indoor pool. The entrance is a little tricky to find late at night and you will have to walk from the parking lot the way the property is laid out. Oh, and the breakfast provides a good variety of foods, the coffee is great.

Room Tip: the rooms on the north side of the property face away from the interstate, but there are buildings b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here for a few days as we were working in Amarillo. The place is really nice for the price and the staff were very nice. The rooms were nice and clean and had the pool area is excellent. I would recommend it for anyone that is looking for a nice inexpensive hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a nice whirlpool tub in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

One note: there are two Soncy Rds. that are right next to each other. The entrance to this hotel isn't as obvious as we thought it would be - the Soncy that you want is the one parallel to the "main" road, if that makes sense... it's slightly hidden because of that and our GPS was a little confused.

However, once you find it (!) the hotel is a nice place to stay. They have made the lobby look ... well, it looks like the inside of an Olive Garden, for whatever reason. Not terrible, just out of place in Texas. However, besides this strange fact, the rest of the hotel is quite nice. Not new, but nice. Our room was huge and very clean. We ate the breakfast the next morning and it was good - warm items, fruit, wafflemaker, coffee, juices, breads.

As some have noted, the beds are a bit hard, but nothing critical if you don't care too much about that kind of thing. We don't. Due to the price it's still a good buy and we would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theduckies11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Amarillo I-40 West, TX
0.4 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 2300 Soncy Road, Amarillo, TX 79121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range: $69 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Amarillo
Comfort Inn Amarillo
Amarillo Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing