We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Quality in Older Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location and value, very clean and comfortable updated rooms, friendly staff. Loved the extra sink, especially with four of us in the room. Better than expected breakfast as well. Only downsides--beds were on the hard side, and made it difficult for a couple of us to go to sleep. Also, we ended up near the ice machine and heard ice drop several times during the night.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 384 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I stopped here on a trip across the country for a move. We got a non smoking room with a King Bed. They had high speed internet, microwave and frig, coffee maker, hair dryer, and iron/ironing board in room. The room was clean with a beautiful interior and quiet. The pool was large (we didn't use it) but they also had a great exercise room with a decent treadmill which I did take advantage of. The breakfast was also very good. There are lots of restaurants right around the motel and a shopping mall across the street. We ate dinner at the Seagrass Steakhouse and thought it was excellent. Five stars for this motel!!! (Make sure to get the AAA discount.)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FremontART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Nice, clean hotel with good free breakfast and coffe/tea/oatmeal available 24/7. The price seems to be a steal for what you get (free food, free parking, friendly responsive staff, clean rooms) until you realize you can't go outside without smelling cow ****. You can't open a window for the same reason either. They are doing renovations. Our room's heater had a knob that was stuck so we couldnt change the temperature much, but it was warm enough and the hotel did accomodate with an offer of moving us to a different room or an extra blanket. Overall, this is probably the best stop over city on the I-40 between Santa Fe and Oklahoma City, so for one night it's worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nychick63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is located conveniently next to the freeway but far enough away to not be bothered by traffic noise. The hotel has a nice atmosphere with a Mediterranean feel. The staff were extremely friendly and the rooms were large and well appointed. They have a nice indoor pool and spa.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Beautiful tiled bath with 2 separate sinks, great when one wants to shave and the other wants to blow-dry hair and put on make-up. Lots of storage areas for longer stays. Good in-room internet connection. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Great value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Nice looking place, but only stay here if you absolutely love hard as board beds. Not pillowtop, just tabletop! Supposedly, these are the new beds. The front desk clerk had to give a few guests some sort of extra cushion to pacify them...limited supply of course. I opted to sleep on the short couch...that was actually better than the bed! EVen the sleeper sofa we had in our room was terrible..and yes, I know, sleeper sofas are bad in general, but this was ridiculous. Room was clean, place is nice enough, we needed connecting rooms, and this suite layout worked well, until bedtime. Plus, walking in, flipping switches, no lights connected to the switches, then the lighting in general was poor. So my 81 year old mother put up with poor lighting for her beloved reading, and a hard bed. I got 3 hours of sleep, and had to tank up on caffeine for the next leg of our trip. Not good. I expected a whole lot more for the $$$$. I did complain and got a bit knocked off the tab, but not nearly enough. Good climate control including celing fans. Good fridge space..just make sure it is ON when you first get there. The hotel is on the north side of I-40 and the roads are very dark, not well marked, so take your time once you leave the freeway.

Room Tip: Room 203 is a suite, with 2 queens in one room and the front room has a sleep sofa. One bathroom fo...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were pleased from the beginning. The building is attractive inside and out. This property was clean, inside, outside and our room.The people at the front desk were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was very nice, no funky smells or stains. Queen beds, nice bedding, even the pillows. Bath towels were a little larger and fluffier than most. There was a full breakfast (sausage, eggs, waffles) and the usuall continental stuff. We were very pleased and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyDaizePHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.4 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 2300 Soncy Road, Amarillo, TX 79121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range: $77 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Amarillo
Comfort Inn Amarillo
Amarillo Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing