We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken Fried Steak with Jalapeno Gray”

Green Chile Willy's Grill
Ranked #16 of 506 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chicken Fried Steak with Jalapeno Gray”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

What more can I say about it everything is good, and if you want something not on the menu, just ask usally they can whip it up for you

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DeAnna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    31
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo
Level Contributor
203 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Jalapeno Chicken Fried Steak”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Chicken fried steaks are the reason to go here and the home cut fries. Service is good, iced tea is great. The Chicken Fried steak is excellent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnmcd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perryton, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I appreciated that Green Chilly Willy's offered a healthier burger option, the very lean buffalo burger, but it have no flavor. It was a very plain sandwich, nothing special about it. I got a side of beans and they were just regular pinto beans, nothing special about them either. A friend of mine ordered the chicken fried pecan pie and it looked very interesting, but he wasn't crazy about it. I was disappointed with my experience at this restaurant, not to mention that it's not in a very good location. It's a little tricky to get to when you are coming from Amarillo.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good, but . . .”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went to Green Chile Willy's several times and then took our out-of-town company thinking they would enjoy it, too. Unfortunately that time they had gristle-filled buffalo burgers, so it was disappointing all around, and we haven't been brave enough to return. We probably will one day, but not yet. It has a cute atmosphere and good service, though.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Skynik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“SOOOOOO GOOOOOOOD!!!!!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Being a fan of having Hatch Green Chiles on ANYTHING, we decided to give this place a try after reading the reviews on TA and the menu online. It is a small place on the side of the road and is easily missed, but if you pass it by you are missing out on some great food. We both ordered Green Chile cheese burgers, which come with a whole grilled hatch chile pepper inside. It was delicious and the chile was not crazy hot. You got the flavor of the pepper with only a tiny bit of heat. The french fries accompanying the burger were hand cut, shoestring size, and very crispy. We decided to save part of our burgers and fries for later so we could have room for the deep fried pecan pie. I am not a fan of pecans at ALL, but decided to ignore that for a chance at something new. This treat was TASTY! It came with ice cream drizzled with chocolate and caramel sauce and was amazing. It may not be the healthiest thing, but it's not like we were eating it every meal and everyday.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Chile Willy's Grill also viewed

 

Been to Green Chile Willy's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing