We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Room was small but contemporary, with up-to-the minute nice facilities. Pool was salt water and hot tub was also salt water. Pool surface was a bit slippery, but otherwise we loved this place. Bacon for breakfast in addition to lots of great hot items: pancake maker, waffle maker, eggs and other standard breakfast fare. Eating area was great. Service was noteworthy at how good it was.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    169
    38
    15
    6
See reviews for
242
203
38
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Wow what a surprise! This is a posh, beautique hotel. Loved all the hip tile and decor. Rooms were small but very efficient. If I were to design a hotel it would be like this one. It is located one block from I-40. The staff is fantastic, great beds, clean rooms and the price is reasonable. The free breakfast was very good along with the patrons. Three flashy Macs with update Windows/MAC platforms show off the computer room as you enter the hotel. When we pass through Amarillo again this will be our place.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor in order to see the Texas sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planvacations4me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at a lot of Holiday Inn Express during our road trips and this is by far the best - its a brand new facility!!
Located just off the I-40 made it a perfect stopping point for us, staff were friendly and helpful. They even have beer & wine hour downstairs if you wish to partake!
Rooms were clean & modern even with a TV in the bathroom!
Breakfast was the standard HIE fare, good wifi and free parking of course. Would stay here if I was ever in the area again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeliechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
542 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a very good Holiday Inn Express with one exception. It is very new...super design...very nice rooms. The staff is very good and helpful. In the evening they have wine and beer available. My wife and I planned to leave early the next morning so we decided to grab the 6:30 AM breakfast and head out. Sooooooo we hung around until 6:30 and it was not ready. Well.....let's grab a decaf and wait a few minutes.....but NO decaf. The manager said it would be ready in 2 minutes. We grabbed a few pieces of bacon...the eggs looked watery so none of them....and had a banana. 10 minutes later still no decaf so we headed out....the manager followed us declaring the decaf would soon be ready but we said.....No Time To Wait. When breakfast is to be served at 6:30 it should ALL be ready. At the hotel we uses the previous night we were told that breakfast was served at 6 but we could show up at 5:30 and it would be ready! This facility needs to have a new standard!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank drlehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear drlehman,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is great to hear your positive feedback on our room accommodations and hotel staff. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It is regrettable that we failed to provide an exemplary service at breakfast. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurmont, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Accommodations were delightful. TV's in the bathroom were a hit. Breakfast was good and convenient. Staff was very helpful; they may want to become familiar with other local businesses in the area. Close to Interstate 40.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriot1814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice. Only one year old and very nice. 1 block from I40 on the west side of Amarillo. Right across the street from a new multiplex and just up the road from restaurants & shopping! Big clean rooms, & location can't be beat. Breakfast is included & is ok. About standard for this chain, but everything else is top notch!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleehorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

On our way to Santa Fe, we spent the night at this new HIE. We often stay at HIE hotels because we've found the brand to be reliable, comfortable and reasonable. But this was the best appointed HIE we've ever booked. Everything was new and fresh, the beds were extremely comfortable (my wife has back problems) and my 8 year old grandson (who was along for the trip) was very impressed with a wall-mounted LCD TV in the bathroom. He never takes baths but asked if he could so he could have the experience of watching TV from the tub! Also, in addition to the usual HIE breakfast (always good for a quick bite), the hotel had a happy hour where complimentary drinks and food were served (the night we were there they provided quesadillas from a nearby Mexican restaurant). The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The only minor issue is that the hotel sets back off of the freeway and can't be accessed from the service road. It was definitely a great value and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEMc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
0.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 72 in Amarillo
664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#12 of 72 in Amarillo
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Address: 8330 W Amarillo Blvd, Amarillo, TX 79124-2156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The provided amenities and atmosphere are unmatched. Each room boasts a wet bar, refrigerator and microwave. The heated salt water pool, hot tub and smoke-free environment are just the start of the Eco friendly based hotel. The spacious Fitness Center houses a variety of equipment for your individual needs. The Business Center and Meeting Room space offer ease to the traveler. The Meeting Room is equipped with a 55 inch HD and easy plug system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing