We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss it!”
Review of Tyler's Barbecue

Tyler's Barbecue
Ranked #2 of 510 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Cerrillos, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Do not miss it!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food. We had ribs and brisket. Both were really good. Sides were also great. Tyler is a sweetheart. We dont live close by but i would definitely stop here again if traveling thru amarillo!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    122
    32
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irving TX
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing to say the least”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We arrived about 5:00 in the afternoon. Four people behind the counter and we stood like a couple of dummies for at least five minutes before being acknowledged. Briscuit was dry as a bone, chicken dry and stringy and ribs were cold and greasy. Peach Cobbler phenomenal, some of the best I have ever had.

Helpful?
2 Thank HBemis213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great brisket!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We went right at the height of lunch hour and it was crowded, but we still quickly got our food. You go through the line, order, get your food and drink, then seat yourself. They believe in, I believe one of the employees called it the "get to know your neighbor" approach to seating. You may find yourself sharing a table with complete strangers. I got the brisket and my wife got the pulled pork sandwich. We both thought it was absolutely awesome. The potato salad and coleslaw were also excellent!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haveulosturmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best brisket!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Had to try some Texas BBQ while in Amarillo. This place lived up to its rating. The brisket nearly melts in your mouth. The BBQ chicken and the homemade sauce were also the best. Get there early before they run out of meats!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BBBpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unimpressed. Come to Oklahoma for real BBQ.”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I had heard from the locals and a few sites about this place. Upon arrival I was excited to try Tyler's.

I ordered the ribs and my workmate ordered ribs and brisket. While tender, the ribs lacked bark and flavor, fully expected of good BBQ. The sauce was just OK to me.

I really don't understand all the hype.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tyler's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Tyler's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing