We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Number 1 For A Reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tyler's Barbecue

Tyler's Barbecue
Ranked #1 of 505 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Clinton, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Number 1 For A Reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have eaten at many, many BBQ restaurants all over the country, and overall, we rate this as the best we've ever had. Owner Tyler cooks his brisket 18 hours over mesquite, and his time and care is evident in the taste. Also available are ribs, several kinds of sausage and chicken. One of the sides is an amazing green chile stew. If you're anywhere near the Texas panhandle, don't miss this stop.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    112
    27
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best barbeque I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We each had the beef brisket sandwich, recommended by a fellow diner. The portions were generous and delicious. The restaurant is small, informal, and friendly. The owner Is dedicated to making the best barbeque in TX and I think he has.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Don't expect anything fancy, just good barbecued food. If you arrive later in the day they often sell out of ribs and brisket. Owner very friendly. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Didn't get to enjoy the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

But....the owner was so nice and helpful. We got there about 600 in the evening...they were all out of ribs and that was what i was craving. We were standing outside trying to figure out where to go (we are from California) when Tyler came outside and gave us some ideas...apologizing the whole time for running out of ribs. I really appreciated how he went out of his way to help us out!

Helpful?
2 Thank OfficerLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food in a relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Really good Texas BBQ in a building that started its life as a Long John Silvers. So don't go for a fancy atmosphere, go for the ribs or brisket. Or sausage.

The friendly owner takes pride in his food and in making sure to take care of you, even if you show up late with a large group, as we did.

Which leads to a bit of advice: Don't show up late. The owner told us that he serves nothing but fresh meat, which means he only cooks enough for the day's expected trade. Arrive late in the day, the selection might be limited.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Drifter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tyler's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Tyler's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing