We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sixth Street Cowboy Gourmet”
Review of Cowboy Gelato

Cowboy Gelato
Ranked #2 of 16 Dessert in Amarillo
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Cleburne, Texas
Level Contributor
198 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Sixth Street Cowboy Gourmet”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stop in two years as we passed through Amarillo on vacation. The chicken sandwiches and beef sliders were great, and with one bite you'll understand why the Wisconsin cheese soup costs over $6 a bowl and worth every penny.

The real draw of course is the daily-made fresh gelato, with flavored ranging from mango to Bud Lite Lime. Worth a trip to Sixth Street for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Big burgers and gelato”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Try the stuffed burgers. The burgers are big enough to split if not a big eater. Stuffed with pepper and cheese in the middle of the meat makes this one of my favorite places.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SunTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good burgers”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This small place on Sixth Street is a gem. The burgers are stuffed with delicious ingredients and the sides are the most inventive in town. But save room for the homemade gelato in a dozen different flavors. Creamy and flavorful, you'll be richly rewarded.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank amalawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the ride off the highway.”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Driving thru Amarillo and found this little place at the top of a recommended list. Found it in an area full of interesting little shops and cafes. We shared a burger and a bowl of chili and topped it off with some pecan pie gelato. All was very good. All made with fresh ingredients. No artificial flavored in the gelato. We would return on our next trip thru this area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roadtriperArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“on the small side”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a small little restaurant. I found the food to be ok.
Wasn't blown away by it. The gelato wasn't as wow as I expectecd it to be. The staff was very friendly.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank bino1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowboy Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Cowboy Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing