We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rub”
Review of Cowboy Gelato

Cowboy Gelato
Ranked #2 of 16 Dessert in Amarillo
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Haslet, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great rub”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This a a fun locally owned place to drop by if you are passing through town. There is a yummy rub that they used on everything. Onion rings were to die for. Seems they use quality ingredients and meats Take time to visit with the owner, he's an interesting guy. The flies are terrible outside.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kerri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Indulge with a slider!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

You might just be going for a little gelato treat. Especially if you've been good lately, worked hard in the heat. Then, you walk in the door and that delicious smells hits. You can't help yourself. You WANT a burger. You NEED a burger. So, you ask your partner to share a slider...Lil' Brutes, by name. You can order them any way you want them from mild to wild. And believe me, one is truly satisfying.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hiker912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijeras
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Warning!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Save room for desert! We had heard from friends in Amarillo this was THE place for burgers.....and they were right! The stuffed burgers are awesome! Service was fast and friendly, and the gelato was to die for. This is now our go to place in Amarillo, can not wait to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NMHorsewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Junta, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“horrible, and no service to top it off”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Ate there with my family. It took nearly 2 hours to get us our food, and we ordered and paid up front at the counter. No explanation for the delay. No apology for the delay. The goofed up the order on top of it all. I can't believe I waited that long for a sorry effort. You'd have to be crazy to give this place a shot. This place will run themselves out of business. Why would anyone go back?

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Gelato”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Really good food. It's just the staff isn't that great in the evenings. Go at lunch and enjoy

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cowboy Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing