We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and false advertising”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Ranked #19 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Overpriced and false advertising”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I made online reservations and was shocked to find out I was overcharged. While I was checking in at the front desk, another family was checking and got the same room $50 cheaper than I paid. I reserved a suite and was told they don't exist at the hotel. I specifically reserved a room with a sitting area and pull out sofa. I didn't get what was advertised. The room was small. I wouldn't stay there if you have more than one child. You will be cramped. I was so disappointed and had been looking forward to a nice stay after reading so many positive reviews. Don't make reservations online. You will be overcharged. The people who walk in get a better price. The next morning when I was checking out I was complaining about being overcharged and another customer stepped forward and said the same thing I did. She too was overcharged and reserved a suite like I did and did not get what she had paid for. Don't stay here.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gipsycowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Gipsycowgirl,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, TX. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    112
    43
    34
    25
See reviews for
177
110
23
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
395 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our stay was better than expected. The kids loved the pool. They spent about 2 hours in the evening and the next morning another 2 hours. The restaurant was EXCELLENT. Kids eat free. Hotel was very clean and a very friendly staff. Will stay here again, next time we visit. Was in town to take the kids to the zoo and adventureland amusement park. Should be ranked #1 in Amarillo in my book. We also got a late checkout so kids could spend more time in the pool. They all went down and had the free breakfast which worked out very good. Thanks and KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K9SONTHELOOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We visited this hotel in early August as part of our Route 66 trip across America. We stayed in 8 hotels and all agreed that this was by far the worst. We were very disappointed.

On arrival, we entered the foyer and saw a nice water feature and a front desk. The lady on the front desk was ok but we forgot to ask directions to the Big Texan Steak Ranch. I turned to a lady walking around in the foyer area and asked if she worked there. "No, I just wear this shirt for fun", she replied. Lovely. I would say that we don't speak to people like that in England but fortunately we had the experience of staying in 7 other hotels on this trip and every member of staff we met was polite, courteous and friendly.

As far as our room was concerned, we had a lovely view of the bins from our window. The beds were tiny, as was the room, but the pillow choice was a nice touch, as was the folding of the hand towel in the bathroom in the shape of a shirt and tie - very clever!

Breakfast was ok but sadly soya milk is "not something they offer". Don't have allergies if you ant to stay here then!

All in all, a disappointing stay, especially when compared to the great hotels we stayed in and awesome people we met across the US. We would NOT stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing the bins. The alternative will not be scenic anyway though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan_saviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cody b, Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
dan_saviola,

I want to start by just saying I am so sorry for what was said to you. I can't imagine who on staff would dare say anything like that to you. As you can see we have many reviews that raved about how great our staff is, this of course is unexceptable and I really want to do what ever I can to make what happen up to you and make sure this type of thing never happens to you or any other guest ever again. I have tried to investigate more on the situation and haven't been able to gather anything, with your help I would like to idenify who this person was, so proper steps are taken. I am not able to contact you per tripadvisor , but if you could contact me at cblair@ramhotels.net I would love to get more details from you and fix what happen. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and I hope to hear back from you soon.

Thank you,

Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Participated in a conference at this hotel and it was a wonderful facility. The check in process was great as was check out. Rooms were lovely and easy to maintain a comfortable temperature. The lobby is a wonderful place to enter and feel like you are in for a welcome experience. The breakfast was excellent each morning. The conference rooms were a little cold, but it was also cooler than normal in Amarillo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Photojoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Walk into the lobby and a wonderful experience is about to take place. The open space is really appealing.. The staff is friendly as soon as you enter door. The bar is where I like to spend my time. This choice is mostly because of Kristi. She has a personality that is friendly and professional. A pet peeve of mine is good service,not only for me ,but for others no matter where I am. I just notice things. As far as I can tell, Kristi excels in providing good service and making sure the business is going smoothly no matter what problems arise.
Flame Bistro is a very good place to get a good dinner and the service is great , and the menu is diverse, which is a good thing. I would recommend people to give you a try..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank urkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cody b, Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
urkal,

WOW.. Thank you so much for the great review!! We strive to have the bar be a fun place to hang out and feel Kristi does help us do so. Thank you for the feedback and will be sharing your kind words w/her. I hope we see you again soon.

Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Spent six days at this location while visiting family in Amarillo. The Hotel was clean, excellently staffed and more than comfortable. From the time we entered, we were treated like special guest. Our room was ready and we were settled in, in short order. The free breakfast was super and the free gift of a snack and drink was a thoughtful addition. The pool area was clean and we enjoyed the hot tub after a long day. The only down side was that the entrance was a little difficult to find. There is some construction next door, but other than that the hotel site is great with plenty of parking in what appears to be a safe and secure area.
There are plenty of places close to eat at and the movie theater next door is a pleasant plus. Its close proximity to I-40 makes it easy for travelers to get to.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevators have less noise and are closer to stairs in case of an emergency. Take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cody b, Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Geatley,

Thank tyou so much for the review! I am sorry for the construction issue, but glad we were able to take such good care of you. Thank you again and hope to see you very soon!

Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

First impression waa wow! lobby was beautiful with modeen decor and water walls! Gorgeous new "green" hotel. Beautifully decorated, LED lighting everywhere, earth friendly materials. Rooms very made for comfort: our room had a micro kitchen with counter, fridge, sink; shower had shelves to set things on; beds were like sleeping on a cloud. TV in the bathroom, refreshments available around the clock in the lobby, complimentary water and cookies on arrival. This hotel wanted us to be comfortable! And we were!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crazypilotgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cody b, Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
WOW! What a great review! You are right, your comfort and making you feel at home is what we strive for.. That really makes us feel warm inside when we read feedback like this. Thank you for taking the time to write such great words and giving our hotel a chance! I hope we are able to see you a gain very soon!

Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 72 in Amarillo
664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#12 of 72 in Amarillo
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center

Property: Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Address: 8231 W Amarillo Blvd, Amarillo, TX 79124-2106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amarillo
#6 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Amarillo's Newest Full Service Hotel that delivers Contemporary Western Decor and the Best in Texas Hospitality. Enjoy the Panhandle's only Hotel that offers an indoor Waterslide, Heated Pool, Hot Tub and Sauna. Every room offers a microwave and refrigerator with an IPOD docking station,37" Flat Panel Televisions with over 50 HD channels, Free WIFI, and offers Free Hot Breakfast to our guests. Flame Mexican Bistro and Bar offers a "Sports" theme with all of your favorite games with multiple TVs and Home Made Authentic Mexican Cuisine. Happy Hour is every day from 5pm-7pm. Please contact hotel direct for restaurant and waterslide hours. Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center is within minutes of most ALL Amarillo attractions and constructed right in the center of Restaurant Row. Enjoy a movie or shopping at The United Artist Movie Theater and Westgate Mall. Hotel offers free a free airport shuttle and transportation within a 2 mile radius. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Hotel Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing