We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Galveston Island, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Family Fabulous”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

On a trip back to Amarillo to visit family, we were surprised when planning to see so many new hotels. We chose Holiday Inn because we are Priority Club members and it boasted that it had many of the things we were looking for in place to stay for the family. Amenities included a heated pool with a water slide, breakfast buffet and a full-service restaurant. Although we never tried the restaurant, the pool was a lot of fun (pay attention to the water slide hours though, before planning a trip to the pool) and the breakfast was made superb by the attentive staff.

The best thing thing though was the rooms were new, clean and very spacious. They featured the freshest, modern decor details. (Check out the great mirror in the bathroom and the pull-out desk.). The only drawback I found was the beds are not, in my opinion, as comfortable as those in the similarly priced Hampton or Marriott properties.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MellowTraveler_423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Mellowtraveler_423 - Thank you so much for the review. I am so happy that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in our breakfast and our staff, so I am pleased to hear of your experience. I apologize about the comfort of your mattress. They are a Sealy Pillowtop with an added quilted mattress pad. Please let me know which guest room that you have stayed and I will double check to make sure all is perfect. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have you and your family real soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    115
    45
    35
    29
See reviews for
181
112
23
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at this hotel and we picked it based on tripadvisor reviews. We were extremely pleased with the facility and staff. The rooms are very nice, comparable with higher end hotels we generally frequent. The front desk employees were extremely helpful and friendly. This experience will certainly make us look at Holiday Inns for future travel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawsonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dawsonmom - Thank you so much for the GREAT Review!!! I hear that a lot about us comparing to high end hotels. We work very hard to have the friendliest staff and best customer service. I am very excited you received this from our hotel. We will pleasantly wait to have you return real soon. Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I had an opportunity to stay at this hotel for over 6 weeks. The staff is great at providing very good customer service and is ready to accommodate the needs of their guests. The hotel's restaurant is good and offers a variety of meal options. Rooms are nice. Meeting rooms are nice. I had a very good experience. Since I've now relocated to Amarillo, I still use the hotel's banquet rooms for business meetings and other work related functions. Will continue to bring my business here!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDWorldWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
JDWorldwide - Thank you so much for the review!! I am glad that we gave you excellent service and consistently accomplished that for your long stay!! I am very excited that you will continually use us for your meetings and other business here in Amarillo. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, TX
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My family, composed of 2 boys aged 6 and 11, my husband and myself, stayed in this hotel for one night on our way to Estes Park in Colorado. We arrived late at night on Christmas Day 2011, tired and hungry. The check-in process was efficient and we were delighted that the hotel restaurant was still open. Since it was Christmas Day, there was only one person working the floor of the restaurant, and bless her soul, she did her best to give the best service she could. The room we occupied had two big beds, a microwave and a ref. The room and the bathroom were very clean. The bath even had Bath & Body Works shampoo and lotion. :) We enjoyed our stay so much that on our way back to Texas from CO, we made this hotel our rest stop again. For sure, if we ever find ourselves going back to CO, we will be staying at Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodlandfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Woodlandfairy - Thank you so much for the review. I am glad that you stayed with us twice on your trip to Colorado. I am sure traveling Christmas Day was a bear!! We had a white Christmas here in Amarillo and I was amazed how many people have never seen snow. I am glad you received great service on your stay. Please come back soon and thank you again for the nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Stayed here three nights for a conference last week. The staff was very good about getting breakfast ready by 5:30 as we had an early start each day. Box lunches were decent. Lobby is OK, needs some seating. Bar has a great open plan, blending into lobby and restaurant. Had one dinner in hotel restaurant - would be happy to eat there again. Good menu choices. The hotel is also surrounded by a vast array of restaurants.
Rooms are attractively furnished, if a bit tight. Comfortable mattresses and sufficiently warm bedding. The beds are pretty high off the ground- seems like that's a trend these days!
Be aware that there is a Holiday Inn *Express* only a few hundred feet away - easy to get confused. Doesn't appear to be a gas station nearby; we had to drive at least a mile or two to find one.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autrevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Autrevie - it is so great to have you as our guest. We were very excited to host the Texas Ornithology conference and I was very happy with all the great comments on the meeting and banquet food. I'm understanding that your Saturday night event was excellent and it was one of the best meetings in recent years. I am glad you enjoyed the restaurant and our comfy mattresses. You guys were up early every day and opening the restaurant early was a must!! I know it's confusing with the Holiday Inn Express across the street, but I am glad you guys found us and thoroughly enjoyed your stay in Amarillo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

stayed one night and utilized conference facility for meeting next day. Really nice room, staff very friendly and attentive, great stay overall!

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank tsgc2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
tsgc2008 - I am glad that your meeting went well!! We strive to ensure our staff is very friendly and attentive and we appreciate your review of our hotel. Thank you for being our guest and we hope to see you again really soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrrington
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Joel Martinez and Carlos Ramirez showed compassion and actually cared for their customers. They gave excellent service and made sure my issues were resolved. They made me feel welcomed and I will definately be coming back here. Thanks guys!!!!

Room Tip: All are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
jamesm425 - I am very happy that Carlos and Joel did an excellent job for you. They are great guys and I really enjoy having them at the hotel. We are excited to have you back at the hotel and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
0.1 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center

Property: Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Address: 8231 W Amarillo Blvd, Amarillo, TX 79124-2106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amarillo
#6 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Amarillo's Newest Full Service Hotel that delivers Contemporary Western Decor and the Best in Texas Hospitality. Enjoy the Heated Pool, Hot Tub and Sauna. Every room offers a microwave and refrigerator with an IPOD docking station,37" Flat Panel Televisions with over 50 HD channels, Free WIFI. Flame Bistro and Bar offers a "Sports" theme with all of your favorite games with multiple TVs. Happy Hour is every day from 5pm-7pm. Please contact hotel direct for restaurant hours. Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center is within minutes of most ALL Amarillo attractions and constructed right in the center of Restaurant Row. Enjoy a movie or shopping at The United Artist Movie Theater and Westgate Mall. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Hotel Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing