We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was nothing special.”

Saltgrass Steak House
Ranked #4 of 506 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tybee Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food was nothing special.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Got the chicken fried steak, just ok. margaritas are good, everything else was great. Did not try the steaks or the beer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    162
    71
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
270 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“great food, high price, best service ever!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

we recently had our regional manager come to town and take us to Saltgrass. It had been 2 years since I had been there because the first time I was there I was not impressed in the least. This time, however, I was amazed. The food was great, although it's still too pricey for me but since I wasn't paying...... but what stood out was the above and beyond service we received. I wish I could remember our waiter's name. By far this was the best service I have ever received, bar none! I probably won't go back very often because of the price but if money is no problem for you, go!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Amazing!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Service was like you'd expect from a nice place like this. Our waiter was on top of things. Food was delicious. I ordered the chicken fried steak and it was huge!! My husband ordered the ribeye & it was nice & juicy. Ordered a slice of cheesecake to go & it's huge!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivette790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible steaks and friendly service.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We both had one of the best steaks of our lives here. Usually I do not like steaks from restaurants, because I prefer my own cooking. This is one exception. The wait staff we had was also excellent. If you are ever in the Amarillo area, and like top quality steak, you need to stop here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Who knew a lunch size Chicken Fried Steak was so BIG?”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

While staying at the Holiday Inn West Medical, a number of our group walked over to the Saltgrass for lunch.

Oh my! My lunch portion of their Chicken Fried Steak was almost the size of my plate, steak tender, batter, crispy and flavorful - along with a huge mound of the lightest french fried onions I've tasted in years!! Wish these restaurants were around where I live!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaja135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltgrass Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Saltgrass Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing