We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drove all the way from Oklahoma for a good steak”

Saltgrass Steak House
Ranked #5 of 510 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Drove all the way from Oklahoma for a good steak”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We recently bought a class a motorhome and just wanted to go for a little weekend cruise and decided to drive to Amarillo so we could go back to Saltgrass Steakhouse for a 2nd visit. Food and service is fantastic. The food is so good we drove all the way from Stillwater, Ok. and spent over $400 in fuel. That should tell ya something. The bread they give you is as good as the steak. Makin' my mouth water just thinking about it. Hmmmmm

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Electraglide_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    174
    78
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Branson, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great dinner after long day”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Oh, how I wish I lived nearer one of these restaurants! At the end of a nine-hour drive, I stopped for a good steak in the panhandle of Texas. Saltgrass delivered, ten-fold.

Being a solo traveler, I know that some servers may be reluctant take a table-for-one, but my waiter was exceptional. I had the prime rib with sweet potato fries, and found myself in culinary heaven. Perfectly prepared, juicy, tender, and flavorful. I gladly took the remaining abundance on my plate in a to-go box so I could relive the savory goodness later.

The service was A+, and I rewarded accordingly (30%, I believe). Worth every penny.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoloTraveler1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Service - Wonderful Food”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Was there and it was crowded, but the service was excellent. Waitor made wonderful recommendations. Table of 5 and everyone enjoyed their meal. I was too full to try a big steak so ordered grilled shrimp - and it was the best I've ever tasted. Grilled, yet not over cooked, so can't say enough good about it. When back in Amarillo, will definately go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crys36054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“You can NOT ask for better food or service!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Absolutely amazing dining experience. Food was delicious and served promptly. Our server was very attentive and on key she knew exactly what to suggest! It's very rare to go for dinner and receive such tasteful food and friendly service! Will be sure and visit again in the future!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cecelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good steaks. as usual”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

we were going to stop at another restaurant until we saw the Saltgrass. We got the early bird special, shrimp and sirloin steak. Their fried shrimp is as good as any we have had at any Landry's. The price was great for a salad and the meal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank texpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltgrass Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Saltgrass Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing