We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Downtown Hotel Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Amarillo Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Amarillo Downtown
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Downtown Hotel Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

As a travel agent, I have booked small groups at this hotel. From all the feedback from clients and my personal experience in working with the hotel staff and closely with the group during their stay, I can assure you that if you are in Amarillo on business or pleasure this is a premier hotel with a big city feel in a small town. Upscale, in a historic building, this hotel is beautifully appointed. Starbucks in the lobby offers a convenient and refreshing breakfast. The lobby is gracious and welcoming. Great parking, close to good restaurants and wine bar, this downtown area is convenient to anywhere you need to be or see! The rooms are spacious and delightful. It's as if you have your own private suite! Good spaces for business meetings or just meeting friends. No matter what kind of traveler you are, couples, family, or solo, you will be pleasantly surprised to find such great service at great rates in this darling of a hotel in downtown Amarillo Texas!

Room Tip: The corner room with large windows overlooking the city center street is a favorite. However, with o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catheryne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylGH, General Manager at Courtyard Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you !!!! We are thrilled you had a wonderful time in Amarillo and experienced Downtown Amarillo. We have a beautiful building full of history and memories. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    127
    36
    8
    10
See reviews for
95
132
24
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice hotel in a historic building in downtown Amarillo. Nice little historical displays around the lobby showing some of the hotel's past. Great beds, nice big rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. Starbucks in nice lobby for coffee and hot breakfast. Steps away from Ohms and Crush Wine Bar. Both places worth a visit if in town. Few mile drive to a Route 66 area, 5 miles to Big Texan Steakhouse, 20 miles to Palo Duro Canyon.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We got a high floor for a better view although downtown Amarillo doesn't really have views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylGH, General Manager at Courtyard Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed the Historic features and our downtown location. Our building was originally built in 1928 and is the centerpiece of Polk Street, thank you for taking time to view our displays and enjoy a few of the local restuarants. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Had a stop over in Amarillo on a roadtrip and stayed at this Courtyard in downtown. Very nice facitliy and rooms were very spacious and clean. I was suprised by how quiet the hotel was as well. The staff was very friendly and parking very convenient. Hotel is located close to lots of differnet places to eat or drink as well, which is always a plus. Definitely would stay here again when in Amarillo.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BizTrvlerWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylGH, General Manager at Courtyard Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Everything about this hotel is great. We had a top floor, corner huge room with lots of windows. Beautiful views, especially of the sun rising over Amarillo. Nice staff, easy garage parking. I will always stay here when in Amarillo.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor on the top floor.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank June520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylGH, Manager at Courtyard Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced while our system was down. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Historic building downtown, newly repurposed, nicely done. Room was a generous size, 8th floor afforded a great view. Large bathroom, lots of closet space. Very quiet. Good bistro for breakfast downstairs. Quite a step up from the other chains in town. Some problems checking in due to their internet being down, but the staff worked diligently to resolve.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylGH, Manager at Courtyard Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you so much for staying us, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We certainly appreciate your understanding of our systems being down, I apologize for the inconvenience. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I've stayed at this location 10 nights in the last 12 months. This weekend was the worst. We were next to a room that first had a party...then went bad! Couple fighting, crying and cussing (I know all about his Mother!) until the security should up at 3:00am. When I talked to the front desk at 9:00am (with very little sleep) I found out the couple was staying two more nights, but they would move them or me.

I was out of my room from 9:30 until 3:00pm. The room was never cleaned. At 4:30, someone brought towels and shampoo (based on another call to the front desk) but never offered to clean the room.

I am a Marriott rewards member, but this may be the last for me. I can understand unruly guests, but the lack of professionalism of the staff is something I won't ignore.

Room Tip: Down the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylGH, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your experience for your most recent trip. We apologize you stay was unsatisfactory. When our front desk staff was advised the following morning, we offered the option of changing rooms and our offer was declined. While we understand that changing rooms can be an inconvenience that was the best solution we had. Please let our staff know immediately of any noise complaints or other issues and we will address them immediately allowing you and all guests an enjoyable experience.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on business. The Hotel and room were very clean and spacious. The Bistro was very convenient with great coffee and lots of healthy menu items. My room had plenty of work space with free internet. The bed was very comfortable. The gym has just 2 ellipticals and 2 treadmills for equipment, but that never seemed to be a problem as no more than 3 people were in there at one time. They also had free weights which was nice. My only issue with the room was with the heater that was loud as it came on so it kept waking me up in the middle of the night. This could have been a problem with just my room, so I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I had a corner room - that may be why it was more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, General Manager at Courtyard Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and sharing your experience. In addition to our 24 hour gym on property, all our guests have complimentary access to the Downtown Athletic Club, only 4 blocks away. I hope you will take advantage of this addition amenity on your next stay. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
5.4 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
4.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 71 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Amarillo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Amarillo Downtown

Property: Courtyard Amarillo Downtown
Address: 724 S Polk St, Amarillo, TX 79101-2339
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amarillo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#9 Family Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Amarillo Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Amarillo Downtown is where History Meets Modern Courtyard! The historic Fisk Building, built in 1927, was fully renovated and opened as the Courtyard Amarillo Downtown on December 31, 2010. Located in the heart of Downtown Amarillo and featuring 107 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, the Courtyard Amarillo Downtown showcases the new Courtyard Refreshing Business Design with the Bistro Restaurant proudly serving Starbucks Coffee. Visit us and allow us the opportunity to show you Amarillo Hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Amarillo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Amarillo Downtown Hotel Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing