We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved the Day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Amarillo Downtown
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Saved the Day”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were traveling from Houston to Denver on December 21st. South of Amarillo we hit extremely icey roads. We drove on to Amarillo and started north on highway 287 to Dumas where we had an overnight hotel reservation. Unfortunately we hit a road closure and was forced back to Amarillo. I told my wife there is no way we will find a hotel this late at 10:30 as everthing looked crowded when we first passed through. We walked into the downtown Courtyard. As I stood in line I could hear them telling anyone calling in that they were filled up. However, when it came my turn, they said they would do everything they could to get me a room. After about 10 minutes they assigned me a room. I couln't thank the management enough for finding my family a room, and at a very good rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, General Manager at Courtyard Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. That night the weather was so bad and we always do our best to make sure our guests and potential guests are safe. We are pleased that we had the opportunity to provide you with accomodations. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    135
    41
    9
    10
See reviews for
101
143
26
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We checked in for one night on our way back to Dallas. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. Little to no noise from the downtown area. Parking and hotel was very clean and safe. There appeared to be some nice dining choices nearby but we didn't get to try them. The hotel had a historic feel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlinTXFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, General Manager at Courtyard Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We do have several local restaurants within walking distance and I hope you will be able to enjoy them on your next visit. It is always a great to experience and enjoy the local flavor and our downtown location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

For our two-night trip to Amarillo, this was a great choice. It was clean and the service was good. The rooms were like Courtyard rooms, nothing remarkable, but the building itself is historic and has some nice displays of the past in the lobby. We had good front desk service when we called on our way to make sure we had two beds, for which they had to check and call us back, but did confirm. Our window opened up to the parking garage (feet away from a car pointed into our room), so no opening the drapes, but we were there for a short time, so it was okay. We would stay there again if we were in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familytravel1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, General Manager at Courtyard Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing the Courtyard Amarillo Downtown. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and experienced our beautiful historic hotel. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft. worth, tx
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here last night on our way to a wedding. We were very pleased with the hotel. It feels updated and clean but still has a lot of character being in a renovated building downtown. Comfortable beds, large rooms (we travel with two kiddos pack and plays- one easily fit in the bathroom and the other in the entryway.). The parking is a little unconventional for a smaller town- when you arrive you turn into the bottom of the parking garage to check in. Once checked in you get the code for the overnight garage. We unloaded our luggage onto a cart on the first level, my husband and kids took it to the room while I parked the car. It worked great but I could see it being a bit of trouble doing it any other way. We also moved our car down before loading up to leave. Restaurant area seems like it had strange hours- it was closed when we arrived and when we got downstairs in the morning. Not a huge deal- there was coffee in the room which helps! We had a great stay and would definitely recommend it!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lclick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, General Manager at Courtyard Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and enjoying our hotel. We are very fortunate to have a beautiful building with a wonderful Historic background. We always encourage our guests to take advantage of moving their luggage to the room before transfering the car to the parking garage. Due to our Historic status we do not have an elevator in the parking garage, however we do offer complimentary garage parking to all of our guests. Our Bistro is open daily for breakfast and dinner, I hope next time you visit you can enjoy our relaxing Bistro. Thank for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stay in Marriott Hotels all over the place, and this is a very cool Courtyard built from a historic building downtown. Pretty cool vibe and a 3 story parking garage next to it that was free to park in for guests.

I'd stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mcsmalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Downtown Amarillo. We have a wondeful Historic Hotel with complimentary parking and a large comfortable lobby for visiting. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hotel itself is exactly what you would expect from a Courtyard. The rooms are in good shape, of a good size, and the furnishings are in good shape. Two things tip the scales from "Average" to "Very Good" for me here:

1) There is free garage parking. Even though Amarillo isn't a large city, I rarely encounter free parking at downtown hotel locations, so that was an excellent perk here. The fact that it's in a garage is even better, especially if you're traveling (as we were) during a winter storm. Not having to scrape ice at 8am the next day was fantastic.

2) The staff is excellent. We arrived very late in the day after a long day of driving through a blizzard. No area restaurants were open or delivering due to the weather, so even though they had already closed down the in-hotel Bistro, they re-opened it for us and made us a pizza. In addition, the staff displayed excellent patience and kindness toward frustrated guests who were only there because their travel plans had been disrupted by the weather (including us!)

I can't really speak to the location other than it's downtown so it's likely convenient to whatever brings you to Amarillo. As I said, the city was basically shut down when we arrived at 10pm on a Saturday in the middle of a snowstorm.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and enduring the unexpected winter weather in Amarillo.
We are always concerned that our guest arrive safely and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Downtown Amarillo. It was an extremely busy night and all of our associates were happy to assist our guests from dinner to providing directions and travel information. Please visit us again soon. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile


Great stay at Marriott in Amarillo. We were there in the middle of snow storm, so not a lot was hoping outside. Staff gave us great recommendation for dinner at Italian restaurant around the corner. Staff in the bar/kitchen area were really friendly giving us great tips on driving etc. As we weren't used to driving in snow they showed real concern for us and when we checked out the next morning the receptionist had a list of numbers for us to get traffic advise on. Room was large and overall hotel was spotlessly clean. Undercover parking was a bonus with the snow.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 2AussieGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We are so pleased that you made it safely to our hotel. Snow and Ice in the Texas Panhandle is always a concern and I'm glad you arrived safely. We appreciate your kind words and comments, our staff is exceptional and we very pleased you had a good experience. We hope you will visit us again and that next time our weather is better and you can enjoy the benefits of visiting our downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
5.4 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo
4.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Amarillo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Amarillo Downtown

Property: Courtyard Amarillo Downtown
Address: 724 S Polk St, Amarillo, TX 79101-2339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amarillo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#9 Family Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Amarillo Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Amarillo Downtown is where History Meets Modern Courtyard! The historic Fisk Building, built in 1927, was fully renovated and opened as the Courtyard Amarillo Downtown on December 31, 2010. Located in the heart of Downtown Amarillo and featuring 107 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, the Courtyard Amarillo Downtown showcases the new Courtyard Refreshing Business Design with the Bistro Restaurant proudly serving Starbucks Coffee. Visit us and allow us the opportunity to show you Amarillo Hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Amarillo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Amarillo Downtown Hotel Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing