We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big room, good sleep, center of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Amarillo Downtown
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Big room, good sleep, center of town”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Based on Trip Advisor reviews we tried this hotel. Just as reported - big room! We requested an upper floor, stayed on the top (10th) floor. Room decor very nice, beds just right, A/C unit is the better grade (not a window unit) quiet and comfy, front desk help top notch, free parking, fast elevators. The building is a re-modeled 1927 bank building, some professionally done lobby displays explain how the transformation was accomplished. You can eat in their bistro, we opted to eat at a cafe about two blocks away.

It was nice to see and stay in this well executed makeover. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: The top floor was quiet with a nice view across the prarie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_crudeoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and enjoying our Downtown area. With 10 floors and large windows we have beautiful views of the City along with the sunsets. Our local resturants are always a great option. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    134
    39
    9
    10
See reviews for
101
141
25
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed here one night on a business trip. Amarillo isn't that big of a city but this was centrally located and the parking was free. I would stay again if in town. The staff was friendly and I was actually able to check in several hours before the check in time! Great Courtyard ammenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, General Manager at Courtyard Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We appreciate and value your comments about The Courtyard Amarillo Downtown. Thank you for letting us know and for sharing your experience. Our parking garage is complimentary to all our guests as an added convenience. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a great hotel in downtown Amarillo - it seemed quite new and the rooms were large with a sofa and living area and huge TV! Receptionist was really helpful explaining what's around and making recommendations . There's not loads in the down town vicinity but there's a handful of places to eat and drink within a few minutes walk including tex mex, sushi, burgers and Chinese. We we only stopped one night on our way driving Route 66 but it was. Very pleasant stay that I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lightyearz_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, General Manager at Courtyard Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and enjoying Downtown Amarillo and our local restaurants. Our hotel opened in December 2010 and we are the first new hotel in the downtown area in 50 years. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for a couple of nights as I fancied a change from Drurys where I normally stay In Amarillo. Lots of positives, $40 less than Drurys per night, covered parking on site, massive room with excellent broadband and a cracking Mexican restaurant across the street....my new regular hotel in Amarillo

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, General Manager at Courtyard Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, our staff strives to provide an inviting and welcoming atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is probably the best place in Amarillo. It is clean and very well maintained. We were there on a Saturday night late. They did need more help at check in when we arrived. One person was not enough as the hotel was full. There is a two block area of bars for young people across from the hotel. No restaurants open in the area, nor on Sunday morning. Seems like most everything is closed on Sunday as it is downtown. We saw several brides at the hotel. So this is the place to be. They observe Marriott standards, and you will not be disappointed. There is no pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auroracham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, General Manager at Courtyard Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and enjoying our Downtown location. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guymon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Over priced hotel for what you get. The lady checking me in was rude and could care less if I stayed or not. I asked for a king room and she told me she had one - when I told her I would take it she said it was not available and said if I wanted to stay I would have to take a king suite and If I didn't like it I could go elsewhere!! I should have left then! When I received my statement I noticed a charge for using my mastercard. I will not stay there again when so many other nice motels are availble in Amarillo!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jollytraveler2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, General Manager at Courtyard Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and opinion concerning your stay. Our room type availability changes frequently due to the ability to make reservations online or by telephone. I apologize you were unable to secure a traditional king room, our availability was limited to our suites on this particular night. Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
515 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I visit Amarillo and we had the good fortune to stay here. I think what the Marriott has done to refurbish this building is extraordinary. The building was built at the start of the Great Depression and it is steel and concrete. Architecturally, it is a gem, but so are some of the other buildings I observed while walking around town.
The staff is courteous and always nice. I loved the bistro staff every morning; they made me smile. There is a small menu, but it is adequate and filling.
Our room was an ADA room and very large and quiet. We liked it and the bed sent you right off to sleep at the end of the day. The art on the walls very interesting, it was mostly black and white, and who knew that a photo of rocks would be intriguing? There is also art in the bathroom.
BUT:
There needs to be a light in the parking garage in the early morning. At 6 when my husband left for work, it was dark and the lights were off. It could have been a daylight savings thing, but if it is on a timer - the timer is off. Also, I would suggest that you have to use your keycard to get up in the elevators. Other hotels we stay in require it and I saw the card reader in the elevators. It would make you feel more secure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaFeDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, General Manager at Courtyard Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at The Courtyard Marriott Amarillo Downtown. We appreciate your business and your valuable time in completing a review. We value your comments and opinions, they are very important to us. Thank you for your comment on the lights in the parking garage, we will make sure they are properly set. We always welcome suggestions to make your stay more enjoyable.


We look forward to having you back,
Your friends at The Courtyard Amarillo Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
5.4 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
5.5 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Amarillo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Amarillo Downtown

Property: Courtyard Amarillo Downtown
Address: 724 S Polk St, Amarillo, TX 79101-2339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amarillo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#9 Family Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Amarillo Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Amarillo Downtown is where History Meets Modern Courtyard! The historic Fisk Building, built in 1927, was fully renovated and opened as the Courtyard Amarillo Downtown on December 31, 2010. Located in the heart of Downtown Amarillo and featuring 107 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, the Courtyard Amarillo Downtown showcases the new Courtyard Refreshing Business Design with the Bistro Restaurant proudly serving Starbucks Coffee. Visit us and allow us the opportunity to show you Amarillo Hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Amarillo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Amarillo Downtown Hotel Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing