We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get the chicken-fried steak” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoffbrau Steaks

Hoffbrau Steaks
Ranked #5 of 502 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hoffbrau Steaks was Voted "one of Dallas' Best Chicken Fried Steak" by D Magazine. Family owned steak house, rustic and casual with a unique Texas atmosphere bordering Fort Worth and the famous Stockyards area. We now proudly serve Gold Canyon Premium Black Angus beef, and a wide-ranging menu of chicken, ribs, seafood, salads and burgers. We keep it Salt & Pepper Simple and make everything from scratch with love. Daily lunch specials are delicious and affordable. Large TV's are perfect for watching sports. Come sample our extensive list of local, national and international beers. We love to cater weddings, birthdays and office parties. Let us help you plan your perfect event in our "No Bull" party room. Nestled around the fireplace you'll feel warm and welcome from your first bite. Our party room can seat up to 50 but can also be perfect for 12. Happy Hour is from 3PM to 6PM on Monday through Friday. Early to-mid 1800's German settlers, who helped develop the Hill Country of South Texas, also recreated their beloved "hoffbraus"or "beer gardens" where local townspeople, farmers and ranchers gathered to enjoy hearty meals and brewed beverages in a setting that was naturally casual yet humming with conversations and warm friendly service. What began as a "Hoffbrau" in South Texas truly was the origin of the Texas Hill Country Steakhouse... A tradition that our family has continued since opening Hoffbrau Steaks in 1978. Enjoy yourselves, our Texas hospitality... The great steaks and foods for which we are known. Many thanks, The Fogiel Family
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Get the chicken-fried steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our hotel helped us out on where to get a chicken-fried steak while we were in Texas. They were right! It is super convenient to Interstate 40. I know that Amarillo lines up as an overnight stop in a lot of road trips. Here's a great place to get a meal instead of a drive-through or nation-wide casual dining chain.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steaks, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Justin,
We are thrilled that you loved our chicken fried steak and we thank you for letting us know.
Safe travels, Rainey Fogiel, Owner, Hoffbrau Steaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    176
    64
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“yummm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Definitely a colorful experience here in Amarillo Texas. The Hofbrau was very fun! three broken dishes. From the holler at. Stakes pretty good macaroni and cheese is excellent for the kids. we split a steak dinner two steaks two sides two salads. dish for lovers big thing. peach cobbler awesome sugar and the crust and yummy crunchy sugar and the crust I had a couple draft beers digital. rahr $2 rolling rocks. That was awesome. Then, this red white and blue margarita concoction called the loan star.

Helpful?
Thank T F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Really great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have never eaten at a Hoffbrau outside of the Dallas/Ft. Worth area. Used to be one of our favorite places for steak. This location was outstanding--we didn't have to wait but a few minutes for a table on a Saturday night, the food was excellent and the service was very good. Would go here again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just average. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

My family of 5 (kids 10, 8, & 7) went on a Saturday night. Had a half hour wait at 7:30. Wait in lobby if you can, we sat in foyer, and then went in lobby to sit down because a lot of people came in after us and were seated right away. As soon as we moved into the lobby, we were seated. Who knows. Rolls didn't come until after our salads, but were warm and super good. I ordered the 16oz ribeye ($25) It was cooked good, but had too much pepper on it. Hubby had smokehouse sirloin and it had too much pepper and fat on it. Oldest ordered adult chix fried steak and she liked it. Youngers ordered off kids meal menu and enjoyed the push pop at the end. Overall it was just average and over seasoned and steak was WAY over priced. Would not go to this chain again.

Helpful?
Thank RRRRRjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steaks, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
WE are sorry that you did not enjoy your steak. We do season them with cracked white and black pepper and kosher salt. The kitchen may have over seasoned yours and we do apologize. We are glad that the kids enjoyed their meal. Best, Rainey Fogiel, Hoffbrau Steaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mundelein
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great affordable steakhouse.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Fun little place, cool outside, atmosphere. Loved the fried okra app, good steaks, great Mac and cheese, sausage. They do a sweet dr. Pepper BBQ sauce. We all enjoyed our food. Friendly staff. Only $40 for four of us, but we split some items, huge portions.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank richardtg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoffbrau Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Hoffbrau Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing