We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third visit...”

Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House
Ranked #6 of 519 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Hoffbrau Steaks was Voted "one of Dallas' Best Chicken Fried Steak" by D Magazine. Family owned steak house, rustic and casual with a unique Texas atmosphere bordering Fort Worth and the famous Stockyards area. We now proudly serve Premium Black Angus beef, and a wide-ranging menu of chicken, ribs, seafood, salads and burgers. We keep it Salt & Pepper Simple and make everything from scratch with love. Daily lunch specials are delicious and affordable. Large TV's are perfect for watching sports. Come sample our extensive list of local, national and international beers. We love to cater weddings, birthdays and office parties. Let us help you plan your perfect event in our "No Bull" party room. Nestled around the fireplace you'll feel warm and welcome from your first bite. Our party room can seat up to 50 but can also be perfect for 12. Happy Hour is from 4PM to 7PM on Monday through Friday. Early to-mid 1800's German settlers, who helped develop the Hill Country of South Texas, also recreated their beloved "hoffbraus"or "beer gardens" where local townspeople, farmers and ranchers gathered to enjoy hearty meals and brewed beverages in a setting that was naturally casual yet humming with conversations and warm friendly service. What began as a "Hoffbrau" in South Texas truly was the origin of the Texas Hill Country Steakhouse... A tradition that our family has continued since opening Hoffbrau Steaks in 1978. Enjoy yourselves, our Texas hospitality... The great steaks and foods for which we are known. Many thanks, The Fogiel Family
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Each time driving through the area, this is one of the closest restaurants to our hotel. Last visit, the building appeared run down, some of the lights were burned out and staff was unresponsive.

This visit, it appeared to have been remodeled on the outside....and it was. Inside was reconfigured but not greatly updated. Not sure if this was an improvement.

We did enjoy a house wine and our favorite appetizer, Sweetwater jalapinos ...shrimp wrapped in a jalapino and then bacon. They were good, and possibly the only reason we would consider returning when we pass through the area again in a month,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mom98wmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

We hope that you try our steaks on your next visit. We did do a huge remodel on this restaurant and we hope to see you back soon. Safe travels. Rainey Fogiel, Hoffbrau Steaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 440 of 556 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

this restaurant cant really be considered a steakhouse.....not even 'fine dining'....they make a good burger and fries....good drinks....interesting appetisers....but avoid their steaks...I had a rib eye, too chewy and gristley...it was well cooked tho...service was good....my big problem was that I couldn't have a baked potato with my steak....and that was because THEY DONT HAVE BUTTER AVAILABLE! can you imagine? a baked potato with NO BUTTER!?....the waitress told me that they only serve margarine, BECAUSE BUTTER IS TOO EXPENSIVE! lord have mercy! if a steakhouse cant afford to buy some butter for their customers, they need to change their business! unfortunately, the chain, outback, is right next door and serves a decent steak with a baked potato and real butter....if I were concerned with calories and politically correct menus, I wouldn't have steak at all, or blue cheese dressing, or mayonnaise....who died and made these people food police? oh well, I wont be back there....and if you enjoy your food, find a different restaurant....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Nora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

If you are driving through Amarillo, everyone hears about the Big Texan. Obviously you should stop there because it has a gift shop and tornado museum, but I would hold off on eating and drive just down the road to Hoffbrau. The service is better, the food is better, and it just is better all around.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear James,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We love Guest feedback and hope you come through Amarillo again sometime soon. Best, Rainey Fogiel, Owner, Hoffbrau Steaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I wandered on to this restaurant through my UrbanSpoon app. We loved it the first time and while staying in Amarillo on New Years Eve this year we ate there again. It was great, we were seated within 40 min. Had a nice table with an attentive server, we tried the Fried Green Tomatoes to start and then we Both had the Fillet and Shrimp. The steak and shrimp were both excellent, the steak was cooked perfectly.

We will definitely come back to this restaurant again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tyler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

We are thrilled that you came back through to see us and that you had another great experience with us and we do appreciate you letting us know. Safe travels and best wishes to you all. Rainey Fogiel, Hoffbrau Steaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

If you like Southern appetizers and good steaks this is the place. During Happy Hour the appetizers are half price so try something new, there's a good selection. When you are in Amarillo you've got to have a steak, it's some of the best beef in Texas, and this steakhouse knows how to cook your steak. Service was excellent but not bothersome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Reighn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

We appreciate the wonderful review and glad you loved our Fried Green tomatoes. Next time try our fresh fried okra spears, they are a personal favorite of mine. Happy New Year, Rainey Fogiel, Owner, Hoffbrau Steaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House also viewed

 

Been to Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing