We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hometown reccomendation”

Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House
Ranked #6 of 508 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Hoffbrau Steaks was Voted "one of Dallas' Best Chicken Fried Steak" by D Magazine. Family owned steak house, rustic and casual with a unique Texas atmosphere bordering Fort Worth and the famous Stockyards area. We now proudly serve Premium Black Angus beef, and a wide-ranging menu of chicken, ribs, seafood, salads and burgers. We keep it Salt & Pepper Simple and make everything from scratch with love. Daily lunch specials are delicious and affordable. Large TV's are perfect for watching sports. Come sample our extensive list of local, national and international beers. We love to cater weddings, birthdays and office parties. Let us help you plan your perfect event in our "No Bull" party room. Nestled around the fireplace you'll feel warm and welcome from your first bite. Our party room can seat up to 50 but can also be perfect for 12. Happy Hour is from 4PM to 7PM on Monday through Friday. Early to-mid 1800's German settlers, who helped develop the Hill Country of South Texas, also recreated their beloved "hoffbraus"or "beer gardens" where local townspeople, farmers and ranchers gathered to enjoy hearty meals and brewed beverages in a setting that was naturally casual yet humming with conversations and warm friendly service. What began as a "Hoffbrau" in South Texas truly was the origin of the Texas Hill Country Steakhouse... A tradition that our family has continued since opening Hoffbrau Steaks in 1978. Enjoy yourselves, our Texas hospitality... The great steaks and foods for which we are known. Many thanks, The Fogiel Family
Amarillo, TX
Level Contributor
170 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Hometown reccomendation”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I live here in Amarillo. When I do go out, Hoffbrau is much preferred over Outback. It is not as expensive. And the food is excellent. Never had a bad meal there. Chopped steak is very flavorful and low priced. good for people on a diet too. And the smoked sirloin honey rolls and salad are also top notch! It is on the other side of Sleep Inn and Suites. Very good hotel, in this city of many.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irish4love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    183
    68
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
“Excellent center cut filet.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The steak was wonderful. The steak was slightly overlooked from the medium I ordered. My wife and I had the center cut filet. We also had the sweet potato. The food was great. It rivaled some that I had eaten at upscale restaurants in Dallas and other cities. The only draw back is the facility itself that needs a major face lift.
Dr. T

Helpful?
Thank Carroll T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We appreciate your very nice comments and hope to see you back soon. Best, Rainey Fogiel, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
474 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Yummy shrimp”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Sweetwater shrimp is worth the drive....about 1,100 miles, but honestly, the Amarillo location is appearing a bit run down and just not what it use to be. Happy hour was advertised MUCH different on the web site than at the restaurant. Our waitress was WAY uninformed on knowledge of local beer and what the web offered.

Overall, I would go back and give it another try....but I'll not rush to do that!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mom98wmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi Seth,
You are absolutely right, Texas Roadhouse is a little less expensive than we are. Hoffbrau Steaks is a small family owned group of 5 restaurants in Texas only. Texas Roadhouse has over 400 locations nationwide and has huge buying power vs what our little group of 5 has, therefore their costs are probably half of what ours are. That is the simple and truthful explanation. We do our very best to give the most value we can at the best price we can. We wish you well. Best, Rainey Fogiel, Owner, Hoffbrau Steaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great steaks and delicious mac & cheese”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We ate here while on a road trip to the Texas Panhandle. After a morning at the Palo Duro Canyon, we were ready for a hearty meal. After reading the reviews on tripadvisor about Hoffbrau, we decided to give it a try. We thought the steaks were a cut above those we had the day before at the Big Texas Steak House (although those were good, also); and we REALLY liked the mac & cheese. Could have skipped the Fried Green Tomatoes - 1 or 2 would have been enough - definitely did not need the whole plate of them. No complaints about the service, either.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eastendoriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit with us in Amarillo. We hope to see you back soon or come see us in Dallas or FtWorth. Best, Rainey Fogiel, Owner, HOffbrau Steaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great steak, half price wine”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We walked here from the Sleep Inn, passing the Outback Steakhouse as this had a better TA rating.

We arrived around 8pm and the restaurant was quiet (it was mid week in the first week of January and very cold out). We ordered some wonderful steaks and were offered a bottle of bin-end wine (a fine Australian Shiraz) which was half price - a fantastic $9 - about as much as two beers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EAWhitley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We love Guest feedback and wish you well. Best,
Rainey Fogiel, Owner, Hoffbrau Steaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House also viewed

 

Been to Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing