We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place in Amarillo”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
New River, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Place in Amarillo”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had a good stay at this Sleep Inn. I was greeted very cordially by the friendly evening desk clerk and had no problem getting the rate I had reserved. She even asked my preference on which floor I would like and gave me my choice of third floor room. One of the two room card keys did not work, and that seemed to be typical as another guest came to the desk with the same problem. We got into the room which had some pretty significant scuffs on the walls that needed some paint, but was otherwise in pretty good shape although could have maybe been a tad bit cleaner in the bathroom area.

The room was quiet and comfortable with all the amenities that you would expect. The breakfast was a nice one with some hot food options that were appreciated, but it was very busy and there was some waiting involved.

The property had a lot of doors controlled by the card keys which had spotty security. One door did not close all of the way and could be opened without a card key. Another door only worked sometimes with the card key and so when someone got it open, others would follow in behind. It did not make us feel especially good about overall security but we had no issues.

We will most likely be back again as this location was better than others we had used in the past, but we hope that they keep up the maintenance in the rooms so that they look a little nicer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    213
    60
    13
    10
See reviews for
206
230
59
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock
Level Contributor
275 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Return customer who wasn't impressed with customer service on my previous visit...more than made up for it this visit! When I checked in there was a small appetizer bar set up in the dining area...a very nice touch upon arrival! My check in clerk was SUPER (folio says kgonza...should have asked her name). She was young, cute, fast and efficient, took the time to help a gentleman in front of me with rates and getting him in a room very patiently and I appreciated she acknowledged and thanked me for being a Choice Hotels Elite member. Room was great as always and my remote worked this time, something that never happened last visit! Breakfast was fresh and hot, plentiful and a good start to the day. Much better than my previous visit...love this facility when in Amarillo.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trickstersawpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were spacious and clean. Free breakfast was pretty good. ( remember it's free) Lots of restaurants nearby. Staff was very friendly. Great room for the price.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank srogers426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great room. Total hot breakfast.Treated the guests like family. Clean. That's all that needs to be said yet I have to have 200 characters to post this review. Hope this does it. Well it wasn't enough so I'm writing this to fill in space. I'll try again to submit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Rodney2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Sleep Inn & Suites, Amarillo. The beds were very comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was great. I was impressed by all the amenities - pool, gym, etc. Also, everything was very clean and the temp control was very responsive. Thanks for a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

In the Directions to Our Hotel: section on the ChoiceHotels.com website, the directions to this property are reversed. This error was brought to the attention of Choice Hotels (via an email message on 10/5/13) and the directions on the website have still not been corrected. If you are traveling on I-40 West you use exit 65, then loop under the freeway. If traveling on I-40 East, use exit 65 and stay on the service drive. This property has limited parking in the front of the hotel and my stay at this property was uneventful, other than the coin mechanism on the guest dryer did not work. The maintenance man had gone home for the night, but the front desk person was nice enough to dry my wet laundry using their commercial hotel dryers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benbrook, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Nice clean rooms and service at desk was excellent. Employees friendly, helpful and friendly. Continental breakfast was wonderful. Had never stayed at a Sleep Inn & suites, very pleased with this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We want all our guests to be completely satisfied. We hope to have the chance to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
1.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
5.7 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#30 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 6915 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-2609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#7 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn and Suites is located on the south side of Interstate 40. We have an indoor heated pool, hot tub and a free hot breakfast. Our Sleep Inn and Suites is located within walking distance of many restaurants which include Hoffbrau Steakhouse, Outback Steakhouse, Pizza Hut Wingstreet, China Star Oriential Buffet and CiCi's Pizza. The Sleep Inn and Suites is a 2012 Choice Gold award winner which places us in the top 10% of Sleep Inns. We hope that you will love our Sleep Inn and Suites as much as we do!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Amarillo
Sleep Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing