We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay in new hotel”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Brit in NC
Level Contributor
157 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Awesome stay in new hotel”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Loved the hotel. Exit 65 off I-40 right next door to Outback. Room was great and staff were excellent, super breakfast. I'm giving this 5 stars despite 2 issues which shows you how much I thought of the place. The fridge in my room had the previous guest's lunch still in it (yogurt and a sandwich!) but that was easy. The bedding was very good but one complaint. I am 5'10" and like to sleep with blankets around my neck. The bed was too short for that with the bedding provided. I was able to achieve what I wanted by sleeping diagonally in the queen bed but that was the first time I remember experiencing that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank limeyferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    216
    61
    16
    10
See reviews for
212
236
59
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
242 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel two nights ago based on TripAdvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. It's a top notch hotel in every respect. But I figure this review should focus on just the few things I found that were not top notch. The earlier reviewer who complained about the pillows was certainly right. They are way too tiny to be called pillows. My wife and I both suffered shifting them around all night long trying to get comfortable. I had some "regular" coffee at breakfast that tasted so weak and dishwatery that it was undrinkable. I'm hoping it was a one-time accident. I thought most commercial establishments made coffee from pre-measured packages so the coffee would/should taste pretty much the same at all times. We're staying at this hotel again later on this month and I will try again. If it is good, I'll come back and amend this review. Everything else about the hotel was just awesome. The breakfast area is clean and spacious. The staff was friendly and caring. The room is kind of standard but was just fine. I especially liked the clock--white numerals on a dark background--easy to see during the night and yet not jarring or hard to read like the red or black-numeraled clocks you frequently see. So special kudos there to whoever selected those clocks. One tip for out-of-state visitors. I entered the address as I-40 West and my Garmin GPS accepted it. But it took us to a different place. I discovered later it would work if I entered Interstate 40 West. But this is a Garmin problem, not the hotel's. In fact the hotel has contacted Garmin numerous times to try and get it fixed. There is an Outback within 100 yards of the hotel and we ate there but the filet was not cooked to order, was cool instead of hot, and had some tough spots. We'll find another place to eat later this month. Bottom line, I'd go out of my way to stay at this hotel again and, please, remember my seemingly derogatory comments are only an attempt to be helpful.

Room Tip: The "traffic" side of the hotel was not a problem for us--no disturbance at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we walked in til the moment we walked out, perfection. The staff always available. The room excellent, super clean, the bed total comfort. Even the halls were fresh and clean. The breakfast bar full and very good. This hotel should be #1not #3.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madyess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is excellent! The manage, and his entire staff ,are professional, personable, and are ready to attend to every need. The "meet & greet" in the afternoon was lovely with good food and drinks. Breakfast was delicious, ample and fresh. The indoor pool and spa was warm and clean. The rooms (we had a suite) were wonderful. Very clean and comfortable. Decor was up to date attractive. We would absolutely stay here again. Just have to think of a reason to get back to Amarillo!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funinMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Great price and service! I have three daughters and plenty of bathroom space. Great breakfast and clean eating space. The 1 a.m. Staff was as great as the morning staff. Big rooms, plenty of parking. I would recommend this hotter to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I recently discovered Sleep Inns and I am glad. They are clean, comfortable and very reasonably priced. This location is easy access to I-40 and has lots of good restaurants in walking distance. There is a happy hour with beer, sodas and hot and cold snacks in the evening. Breakfast is good, both hot and cold choices. Kelly at the front desk was efficient, helpful and a joy to work with. We will certainly return when in West Texas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MUMSantaFe_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our extended family from several different cities in a few different states, meet at a hotel, in a different city every year, for Thanksgiving. We stay at a hotel that can accomodate our requirements: 1. Reasonably priced, clean rooms, 2. Use of a breakfast room where we can play cards and board games, (after breakfast crowd is gone), 3. Pool. Sleep Inn met and completely exceeded our expectations! I am the "reservation-ista", for our group, all agreed this is the BEST hotel in the 15+/- years we have gathered. Newer hotel, modern decor, very friendly and helpful staff, HUGE breakfast room, (nice variety on the hot food bar), saltwater pool.

A couple in our group got (by luck of the draw), handicap accessible rooms. Each room was HUGE, with seating area, large jetted tub, extra large shower. Ours was not one of those rooms, but still, large by most hotel standards and included seating area, mini-fridge, microwave, ironing board and iron, very comfortably sized bath with no tub, but tiled walk-in shower. All of the regular amenities, (shampoo, soaps, etc.) and plenty of towels, (big plus with me!). A few in our group took advantage of the pool and enjoyed the lack of chlorine, (only complaint: 9 yr. old said, "no diving board!" Not unusual for indoor hotel pools, in my experience).

We choose different cities every year for this gathering, but this hotel would DEFINITELY be on a repeat list, if we were ever to choose Amarillo, again!

Room Tip: ALL 7 of our rooms were on the third floor, both ends of the hall. Everyone was happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 73 in Amarillo
366 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
1.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
6.0 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#25 of 73 in Amarillo
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 6915 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-2609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#3 Best Value Hotel in Amarillo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#7 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn and Suites is located on the south side of Interstate 40. We have an indoor heated pool, hot tub and a free hot breakfast. Our Sleep Inn and Suites is located within walking distance of many restaurants which include Hoffbrau Steakhouse, Outback Steakhouse, Pizza Hut Wingstreet, China Star Oriential Buffet and CiCi's Pizza. The Sleep Inn and Suites is a 2012 Choice Gold award winner which places us in the top 10% of Sleep Inns. We hope that you will love our Sleep Inn and Suites as much as we do!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Amarillo
Sleep Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing