We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok not a great hotel”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Just ok not a great hotel”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed at Sleep Inn for 3 nights in Aug. The hotel is nice when you walk in but is just ok. Do not expect to have the bedding that is just for you. The blankets on the bed are old style and very worn. Not sure how clean they really are. The first morning at breakfast there was sausage gravy, a few scrambled eggs, some cold bisquits and rolls and make yourself waffles. Area not very clean but was ok. That eve I killed bug crawling on wall and then one large black one on bathroom floor. The shower is a walk in without curtain that does not drain very well and water does get out on the floor. Breakfast was again sausage gravy, with a space for sausage, no eggs, no forks no attendant so I told ft desk as we were 2 of about 20 waiting fro food to be replenished. After 10 min there was fresh food with same hard scrambled eggs as day before and a very messy waffle station. Spoke to ft desk about bugs and they said ok will report it. Bug on wall was still there that eve. Final morn breakfast was you guessed it same as other days. Cold scrambled eggs, sausage gravy and some sausage. Poor breakfast. We were going to use hot tub but someone was letting their children use both pool and hot tub as a water park. No supervision (no parents around) floor so wet you could not walk without slipping from the water that had been splashed everywhere. Went to desk as keys didn't work and sign on desk be back in a little bit with people waiting to check in. Had to get 3 trys and trips to desk before keys finally opened door. This was all at same attempt to open room. This was our first and last stay at this hotel. Next time we will stay at the Drury across the road. Not what I expect from new facility and Choice Hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lotsofslots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    216
    61
    16
    10
See reviews for
212
236
59
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Nicer than the Holiday Inn Express we stayed in on the way to Colorado, the Sleep Inn cost less than half on on way back.

Super comfy bed, nice granite bathroom, and a flatscreen for the kids to watch cartoons in the morning. Great pool. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaimotetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, VA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My family spent the night at the Sleep Inn & Suites Amarillo while en route to the Grand Canyon. The hotel is conveniently located off on I-40 W. The staff was friendly. Our room smelled fresh, it was clean and the beds were comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Ended up staying here based on tripadvisors reviews. Hotel is fairly new but room already has scuff marks on walls. They tried to touch up with the wrong color paint. Crumbs in the corners and found a empty pop bottle behind chair when I turned on light. Shower is odd. Walk in with no curtain and no shelves for shampoo or hook for towel. Water then shoots on floor. Also not very sound proof. Kept hearing people walk above me and hallway doors slamming. Rooms too cramped even for 2 people cant imagine 4. Bed was comfortable but thats pretty much it. Hoped for better for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beescivic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Read some reviews prior to staying and opted for this Sleep Inn & Suites over the one across town (make sure you choose the one on the west side of Amarillo!). Was pleasantly surprised by amazing decor, location, soft bed and friendly staff. My particular room was quite packed with furniture, but it was clean & beautiful. A plus was the Outback Steakhouse next door! Only wish that breakfast went until 9:30 or 10. Stops at 9.

Room Tip: Double room was a bit cramped, but had the best rate so I took it. Queen or King room should have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuroShanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
454 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Looking at my notes on hotels we stayed in over a month driving route 66 this one seems to have very little written about it, no real issues and nothing too special either, just a reasonable place to lay your head, which is what a hotel should be. Recommended for those on 66 and passing through etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Five15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT WORTH
Level Contributor
186 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Very clean, well managed and easy to find......definitely a good stop on the road.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSMIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 73 in Amarillo
366 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
1.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
6.0 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#25 of 73 in Amarillo
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 6915 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-2609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#3 Best Value Hotel in Amarillo
#7 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn and Suites is located on the south side of Interstate 40. We have an indoor heated pool, hot tub and a free hot breakfast. Our Sleep Inn and Suites is located within walking distance of many restaurants which include Hoffbrau Steakhouse, Outback Steakhouse, Pizza Hut Wingstreet, China Star Oriential Buffet and CiCi's Pizza. The Sleep Inn and Suites is a 2012 Choice Gold award winner which places us in the top 10% of Sleep Inns. We hope that you will love our Sleep Inn and Suites as much as we do!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Amarillo
Sleep Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing