We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will definitely stay here again!”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We will definitely stay here again!”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We were traveling through Amarillo on our way to and from Arizona. The Trip Advisor reviews for the Sleep Inn were great so we decided to give it a try. We have stayed elsewhere in Amarillo and we have been very disappointed. The pool and exercise room were two of the reasons we chose this hotel. They were great for our family with teenagers. We ate the breakfast buffet instead of going out to eat and it was the perfect start to the day. The beds were comfortable and rooms were quiet. The flat screen tv and endless channels were a treat. We enjoyed our stay here and we will definitely be back. The Trip Advisor reviews were absolutely right, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crvtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    213
    60
    13
    10
See reviews for
206
230
59
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
462 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

On a recent "road trip" my wife and I spent 1 night at this Sleep Inn. After a previous stay at another Sleep Inn, I was not expecting much. But, to my surprise, I really enjoyed our brief stay here. The hotel is located adjacent to I-40 and road noise could be an issue, but the air conditioning covered up the noise and was not a source of irritation by itself. We had a King room with plenty of room. The bed was one of the more comfortable hotel beds I've ever used. The free internet worked fine and the free morning breakfast, which can be quite bleak in this type of hotel was actually OK. We did not use the pool but it too seemed clean. There are numerous places to eat nearby so one needs only to take a short walk to fine a decent meal. We got a good night's sleep at a fair price and enjoyed our brief one night stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highdesertbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We booked this hotel room based on all the wonderful reviews here. We only stayed one evening on our trip and I left feeling very disappointed. From check in - when we arrived the elevator was not working. We were pleasantly surprised by the decor of the lobby: very modern. We were offered no help getting our bags up the stairs and were provided with no time frame as to when the elevator would be working again. in the hallway in front of our room was a large dirty laundry basket that never moved during our entire stay. Once we got to the room I will say that it was just alright. The walls were all stained and scuffed and everything just seemed very worn (this hotel has only been open 18 months). The fridge in the room was incredibly loud - we had to unplug it. In general, there was no soundproofing done in this hotel. We could hear everything in the hallway, in the rooms next door, we knew when someone was showering or using the toilet. I was woken the next morning by housekeeping knocking next door. The bathroom at first glance is nicely upgraded, but after using it you realize that its hardly functional. They've done an open shower concept that simply allows water to splash all over your bathroom floor and they don't provide adequate shower storage for soaps/wash towels. The most infuriating part of our stay was definitely dealing with the internet. The hotel claims to provide high speed internet - it doesn't. The internet connection was unbelievably slow and the quality was terrible. Web pages didn't load completely and streaming video was impossible. We ran a speed test and this connection received an "F" and ranked below the national average from speedtest.net. Bottom line - we had only 8 hours before left an AMAZING Marriott in downtown Tulsa, OK where we spent almost 40 dollars LESS than this hotel. There was NOTHING about the Sleep Inn that could compare to the high quality, high level of service, cleanliness, and style that was provided at our last place. I will never stay here again. I would rather spend the $140 a night and stay at a Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidaatut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I would have never thought to stay here had it not been for the other reviews. Thank you! It really was a nice place to stay. Nicely decorated, clean, good swimming pool/spa and friendly staff. Plus, great location. Breakfast was very good too. All around a good place for an overnighter with a good rate. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sterrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

This is an odd property. We had two queen beds in a room sized for one, so the bedroom was extremely cramped. The bathroom was almost as large as the bedroom. Easy on and off the freeway. Slept well. Extremely sophisticated decor. Complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catsunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I was traveling through Amarillo with my daughters and mother-in-law. This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in for such a great price. The room was furnished well (the extra chair by the bed made it a little crowded though). The room was clean, decorated nicely, it had a nice big flat-screen tv, nice refrigerator and microwave the bathroom was veryclean, nice and big.

I had seen some bad reviews of this place so almost didn't go with it, but after reading the bad reviews, I realized people were being a bit picky. I had no problem with the staff and when making reservations, people should check to see if pets are allowed.

This will definitely be our choice for any future trips to or through Amarillo.

Room Tip: Better price without reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubble_pics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new rochelle
Level Contributor
408 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We will be traveling through Amarillo on a regular basis, and this is the hotel at which we will ALWAYS stay. Check in was a pleasure. We had just completed a 10 hour drive, and Sam, at the desk was able to direct us to several restaurants that were conveniently located.
The hotel itself is meticulously maintained, the rooms absolutely clean, and the beds are new and comfortable.
Breakfast is also included in a very reasonable room rate, and the breakfast was just fine. Since the hotel is located on I-40, and we were able to have breakfast right in the hotel, we were able to drive right onto the highway with ease.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crosscreek7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
1.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
5.7 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#31 of 73 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 6915 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-2609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#7 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn and Suites is located on the south side of Interstate 40. We have an indoor heated pool, hot tub and a free hot breakfast. Our Sleep Inn and Suites is located within walking distance of many restaurants which include Hoffbrau Steakhouse, Outback Steakhouse, Pizza Hut Wingstreet, China Star Oriential Buffet and CiCi's Pizza. The Sleep Inn and Suites is a 2012 Choice Gold award winner which places us in the top 10% of Sleep Inns. We hope that you will love our Sleep Inn and Suites as much as we do!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Amarillo
Sleep Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing