We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Suprise”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Wonderful Suprise”
Reviewed April 12, 2011

My sister and I stayed at the Sleep Inn on our trip to Dallas. Kudos to Sam and DJ who was there to check us in...They were the best. They printed out maps for us to easily get to the destinations that we wanted to visit while in Amarillo. The rooms were nice and clean and I am a very picky hotelier. I don't like to stay in older run down hotels. I can't say enough about how nice this place was...there was even an indoor pool and hot tub. Breakfast was wonderful. I would certainly stay here again if I ever went back to the Amarillo area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmg91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    213
    60
    13
    10
See reviews for
206
230
59
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Happy we chose this hotel near the hospitals in Amarillo. Smartly decorated, bedding new, very clean,breakfast good enough, near restaurants and it was a very resonable rate.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graceoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

There is no doubt abou it, this was one of the best places that we stayed while traveling to see family during an 1800 mile trip.
Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated, and the shower had a unique, innovative design. I-net connection was good, which is much appreciated while trying to stay current while you're on the road.
Breakfast had plenty of offerings, some hot, and the breakfast room was spacious and inviting.
The hotel does seem to be designed with the business traveler in mind, as the colors and decor seemed more business-like, as opposed to casual/restful of other hotels, and the bathroom did not have a tub, which may be a detriment if you're traveling with smaller children.
One complaint that I have is that I requested a room away from the elevator and vending machines, and we were placed right across from the elevator. This made for a rather noisy night as people were conversing loudly when getting off the elevator, and the sound filtered directly into our room. Yes, I could've gone back down to the desk and asked to be moved, but when you arrive at 9:30 to your location after a 14 hour drive, you're a bit too tired to go through that process, and you hope for the best. Obviously, that wasn't the best decision.
Overall a good hotel, easy on, easy off, and in an area with PLENTY of restaurants. This is our second Sleep Inn of our trip, and we will definitely be seeking out this chain in the future.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasaWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
2 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2011

My husband was traveling to Amarillo, Tx. because of a medical problem with my father inlaw. When I called I was given a great rate. I asked to be on the ground floor close to the door so we could come and go making the least amount of noise. Everything that we asked for was for us and more. One staff member asked if they could they put some pastry and Yogart in our mini frig. so we could have a snack. And one staff member asked if they could make any calls to make are stay easier. These people keep our room so clean you could eat off the floor. it was a very stressful time for us and they went way above too take care of us.

Room Tip: Tell the desk help why you are staying in amarilo
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muffinOklahomaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Booker, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2011

I have to say, I had the best stay ever. I Travel all the time through the United States and I have never stayed at a more clean, friendly, beautiful hotel. I give a million thumbs up to the staff and there Manager. They made it fun and entertaining! DJ was amazing, He really showed us what Texas Hospitality is all about!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abercrombieqr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We were so pleased with the value and newness of this Sleep Inn that we stayed on our way going back! We didn't have any problems with the service like some have mentioned. In fact, when I asked for a remote control for the fitness center, they said it was locked in the manager's office (2x) but went out of their way to get a different one out of a room and brought it in to me.

So many hotels have slow internet, but this was great for us. The rooms were a little tight but modern and clean. Breakfast was a little overrated by their own marketing but pretty typical of a hotel's continental breakfast none the less. The weekday hor dourves were wiped out by the time we arrived at 6:45pm but consisted of regular soda, beer, burgers, & rattlesnake bites from a nearby restaurant - that was it. Not quite as diverse as some other hotel chains but not advertised as "dinner" either. I'd definitely stay here again in Amarillo. It's a nice place for a great value!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BestPlacesintheUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
260 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We chose this hotel based on T.A. reviews and were not disappointed. The hotel is very nicely decorated (modern) with amenities not expected in a hotel in this price range (indoor pool and hot tub, gym). The rooms are nice and quiet and very clean.
A couple of reviews dissed the front desk staff and I must admit they need to go to charm school-they might fit in with a big city hotel, but their attitudes don't fit well with a down home, friendly town like Amarillo. The morning we left, the front desk person was left to maintain the breakfast, he was clearly left with too much to do.
Would also recommend including MSNBC in channel line up for balance.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HikeWineHotSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
1.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
5.7 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#30 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 6915 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-2609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#7 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn and Suites is located on the south side of Interstate 40. We have an indoor heated pool, hot tub and a free hot breakfast. Our Sleep Inn and Suites is located within walking distance of many restaurants which include Hoffbrau Steakhouse, Outback Steakhouse, Pizza Hut Wingstreet, China Star Oriential Buffet and CiCi's Pizza. The Sleep Inn and Suites is a 2012 Choice Gold award winner which places us in the top 10% of Sleep Inns. We hope that you will love our Sleep Inn and Suites as much as we do!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Amarillo
Sleep Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing