We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice. Best value I've ever seen.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Amarillo West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 Amarillo West
Ranked #38 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice. Best value I've ever seen.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

Having never been to Amarillo I was a little concerned with finding a budget hotel that was not a train wreck. When I saw this hotel on tripadvisor with only two reviews, I was a little leery. I am glad I opted to stay here. This Super 8 is nothing short of amazing for the price. Apparently it was a former all-suites hotel owned by a different chain. The room I had for $53 had like-new furniture, clean upgraded carpets, good light in the bathroom and a separate living area with a sleeper sofa, coffee table, an armchair, a reading light, a microwave and a mini-fridge.

This location is a super deal.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    94
    60
    65
    43
See reviews for
131
94
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas/Ft. Worth TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

Stayed here on drive from CA to Dallas, received internet rate, very reasonable rate. Friendly front desk (owner?), well stocked free breakfast. Make your own waffles or eat the eggs and sausage. They weren't Cracker Barrel, but was hot and seemed fresh. Also available, cereal, toast, bagels, danish, biscuits and gravy, coffee, orange juice, apple juice, all free. Used to be a Comfort Suites so all rooms are suites but at Super 8 prices. Parked loaded up van in front, no issues or shady characters hanging about. Nice indoor pool. Room was decent, bed comfortable, seemed clean, shower was good, plenty of towels and space in the room. After driving for 13 hours, this was a decent, comfortable, friendly, safe place to recharge. With well stocked and free breakfast, $62 rate for 2, friendly staff, we'll stay here again next time through. You can obviously find a better, higher end hotel, but for travelers on the road, it was perfect. Also, stayed in non smoking room, and it actually smelled like a non smoking room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

There are lots of inexpensive places to stay in Amarillo but this place is unique. It was once a Comfort Suites motel and is now a Super 8. So you get a suite for Super 8 prices.

I agree with the description in the previous comment. My bed was excellent. The place was quiet and conveniently located. After a long drive it was pleasant to walk across the street to a Red Lobster for a nice meal.

I enjoyed the Texas shaped waffles for breakfast each morning. I found the wireless internet strong and fast, the people friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clamato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on th road
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

I just can't say enough nice things about this facility. The exterior of the building looked clean and well maintained. The lobby area was plush and inviting.
The general manager, Pradeep Kumar (PK for short), was very friendly, helpful and very accomodating in every way. The owner, 'Ricky', was wonderful and helped me with my bags (which required the luggage cart). Very friendly people. And they are very intent on making your stay an enjoyable, comfortable one.
The suite I had was very nice with good lighting. Three lamps in the 'living room' area with a ceiling light in the kitchenette area. Sofa, coffee table and end tables, two chairs in addition to the desk/dining table. The bedroom had lamps on each night stand and one on the dresser.
The internet connection was wired and wireless. The front desk gives a password for access.
Hair dryer, iron and ironing board were furnished. Everything was clean and in working order.
There are a few restaurants in walking distance, Red Lobster for one.
The bed was comfortable with plenty of VERY SOFT pillows. The pillows were terrific.
Breakfast was between 6 and 9 am and included hot sausage and eggs, biscuits and gravy as well as the normal cold/hot cereals and pastry.
The pool is indoors.
Check out was fast and efficient.
Easy off and on I40 at Exit 68A. Really met all my needs and exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnTheRoadRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

Half the hotel said Super 8, half said comfort suites. A/C vents in hallways covered with plastic, so the common areas were sweltering hot, unable to get keycards to work, so we had to get the night manager (or her son who stayed there the whole time) to let us into our room every time. Breakfast was disgusting, and there is no elevator, so don't get an upstairs "suite" if you have heavy luggage.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltwaterTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling BBQ Tour
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

Not the best part of town, when we pulled off the highway, we were glad that a couple of nice restaurants were within walking distance, that is until the manager told us that they all recently closed or moved. Hotel is outdated and suite was cramped. Not all fixtures worked. Front desk did suggest eating at "Big Texan" as they offer free limo service - just don't get a steak - had to send back twice...
On our way back through town, we stayed at the Comfort Inn & Suites just East of here and were totally impressed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozarksbbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

I was so impressed with the service I received last time, I just had to post this review at a couple of travel sites.

As a general rule, I am a pretty picky when it comes to hotels. I prefer comfortable rooms at reasonable prices. The first thing I want is a quiet room and then a clean bed. My wife get's "annoyed" if she thinks the sheets weren't changed. And if moma ain't happy....

We've often stayed at this hotel during our travels and found the accomodations to be comfortable and the room a bargain for the price. The General Manager "PK" has always been friendly and willing to help in anyway he can. During our last trip he went above and beyond what is normally expected.

During breakfast it seems my son decided to wrap his retainer in a napkin while he ate. You know what's coming. After we finished we threw everything away and went upstairs to our room whereupon he discovered his retainer was missing. We came back downstairs fully expecting the manager "PK" to tell us there was nothing he could do. Instead, he went through all the trash accumulated during breakfast and examined every peice. We were down to the bottom of the last bag and were about to give up hope when he opened a napkin and found the retainer. We couldn't believe someone would essentially dumpster dive for a guest. PK and his staff have always been helpful, but this was beyond anything we could hope to expect.

What a great place to stay! Needless to say we'll be staying there everytime we go through Amarillo. Thanks again!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montag451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#28 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#21 of 73 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
4.0 mi away
Super 8 Amarillo Central TX
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Amarillo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Amarillo West

Property: Super 8 Amarillo West
Address: 2103 Lakeview Dr, I-40 @ exit 68-A, Amarillo, TX 79109 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Amarillo West 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Amarillo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Amarillo West Hotel Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing