We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks good feels bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Amarillo West
Ranked #39 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
“Looks good feels bad”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

It looks great on the outside. The rooms were pretty clean. The bed was ok, I slept. The suite had a worn out couch that you could not sit on, the chair was broken down, It sunk in on one side. Motel 6 is just up the street. Save your money and go there. Limited breakfast, I had to wait for the biskits to come out of the micro wave and the coffee to make. This was at 7:30 and I am the only one in the room. Big sign do not carry anything to your room. You must eat it here. Screw that. I travel by here often this one is on my skip list.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ole m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    104
    63
    68
    44
See reviews for
143
97
39
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I'm surprised by some of the bad reviews on here, complaining about lack of cleanliness. Not our experience at all. That said, there is room for improvement in certain areas.
Positives - The rooms were very large, with a lounge area, kitchen area (table and chairs, microwave, coffee-maker and fridge), bedroom, bathroom and vanity area with sink; breakfast, same standard as any other hotel of this calibre, no better or worse than we expected; good location re accessibility, right off the I-40 (let's face it you're not in Amarillo for the scenery!); great price and friendly reception staff (all Indian - Super 8s in Texas all seem to be run by Indian families in our experience - and all eager to be helpful).
Negatives - as others have commented, the furnishings and general standard of decoration in the hotel could do with an upgrade. The recliner chair in our room was partially broken (still reclined, but only really on one side, so you ended up sitting a bit lopsided!); the sofabed was one of the most uncomfortable sofas ever and definitely in need of replacing....I'd recommend neutral replacements (the sofas in the reception are definitely an acquired taste, that few would want to acquire....) and the pool area could do with a bit of sprucing to make it more appealing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyjoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

First the Good: spacious suites (as everyone else reports); families having a ball in the pool; quiet room & consistent fan (white) noise throughout the night gave us a good sleep; good shower pressure; nice size fridge for our traveling food & even enough freezer space for our cold packs.

There's no bad, but it fit so nicely into the title! Perhaps there could have been larger, thicker or more towels; an updated TV (it had one of those old big tube TVs!); or a lower price given that we called in after 6 pm on the day we arrived, but there was nothing really bad (except that we got to breakfast at 9:10, 10 minutes after it closed!)

However, there was something ugly: Why in the world would a motel put a professional looking sign up saying "Dear Guest, Due to the popularity of our guest room amenities, our Housekeeping Department now offers these items for sale: Bath Towels-$9, Hand Towels-$5 etc....Should you decide to take these articles from your room instead of obtaining them from the Executive Housekeeper, we will assume you approve a corresponding charge to your account." Given that there is nothing (really, nothing) special about their amenities, the only conclusion I could come to is that people were stealing their towels (perhaps the kids are wrapping their wet bathing suits in them??)! Now that's ugly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KauaiNatureGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krefeld, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

On our roadtrip from TX to LV we stayed here for one night.
The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The check-in was very quick.
Our room was clean and functional. There was a fridge to cool our beverages.
Although the motel is in direct neighbouhood to the I-40 Highway our room was very quiet.
There is also an indoor pool. We have not used it but the pool seems to be clean and well maintained.
The included breakfast was good. The ususal continental brakfast.
Conclusion: For a short stay absolutely suitable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimSeb8079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. Room was large with queen beds and separate seating area with table, chairs and couch. Indoor pool was a little cold for us arizonans at first but was refreshing. Property was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was very good, something for everyone's taste. Will stay again when traveling through Texas.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbienleroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I had a great time at this super 8. Our room was one of the largest I ever stayed in with nice living area and kitchenette. Everything was clean and comfortable. Okay the rooms weren't new, but so far well-kept. The bathroom was of a good size, too. breakfast was special, not so much for it's choices (which were okay, but mainly standard) but they had a waffle maker for texas-shaped waffles, how crazy is that?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyager2190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Stayed here 1 night on our Route 66 and beyond trip. The front desk clerk was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was a great way to start the day. The room was spacious and clean but a little on the dingy side I think some upgrading is needed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryckpen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#23 of 72 in Amarillo
172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo
4.0 mi away
Super 8 Amarillo Central TX
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Amarillo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Amarillo West

Property: Super 8 Amarillo West
Address: 2103 Lakeview Dr, I-40 @ exit 68-A, Amarillo, TX 79109-1500 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Amarillo West 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Amarillo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Amarillo West Hotel Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing