We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Only if you have no other choice!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Amarillo

Motel 6 Amarillo
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 Amarillo
Ranked #57 of 70 Hotels in Amarillo
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only if you have no other choice!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Outside and web page look good. Had double beds very old. Went to look in drawer for TV listing found a roach instead... Gross so guess who didn't sleep. It was last resort my daughter was getting car sick and weather was bad hotels all around area were full. Use as last resort. Used to be an old days inn

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cats359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    3
    3
    13
See reviews for
7
9
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liberal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stay at Canyon View on 8-9-2013 rooms smelled of dog I got over charged the manager was so rude an didnt want to refund my money back they took money from my credit card on the 8-9-2013 an we checked out on the 8-11-2013 and they charged my credit card for a second time on the 8-12-2013.. So I called on the 8-16-2013 cause thats when I seen it was taking out and still no refund manager began to say I was uneducated because I wanted my money back but according to her nothing happens over night!! She would not let me speak to a GM it was just so disgusting how ppl can BE. I also faxed my bank statement to show her i was over charged but she began to say shes wasnt gonna refund me just because a sheet of paper says mind you it was from my bank... I do not recommand anyone to stay there the ppl are disgusting and so is the hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
451 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a cut above the average for a low priced motel and actually a good alternative to staying in the higher priced places in the Canyon area if you're headed that way. A decent bed, quiet and a very helpful guy at night check-in. Located Just off I-27 behind a truck stop/gas station. Places to eat are in close proximatey-including a Whataburger just down the street. It's also in a better area than most in Amarillo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I must first say that this hotel has a very clean apperance on the outside...for 10pm (very sleepy). The employ at the front desk was very kind and fast in get us checked in for the nite. Once in the room we had not expected much in the way of a luxury suite. The room was a smoking room but that in it's self does not mean the room should have any less of attention then any other room. Once we pulled the sheets back I noticed massive stains and wear in the sheets that were on the bed (redish).

Again if you are looking for a quick stop for the night and there are no other rooms open then this would be a great place to stop.

Sorry Days Inn Amarillo You just didn't cut it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
369 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Here one night on Route 66 tour. Arrived in bright sun,so the pool was welcome. Rooms clean,typical hotel chain. Breakfast ok, biscuits & gravy,which we are starting to like.Free computer, which is always a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUNTAN47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
190 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great location right by the highway. We stayed in the "Texas Suite" and it was very large and relaxing. In room Jacuzzi was a bit small (only built for 1) but the rooms were large and flowing. Great Texas decor. Front desk was very helpful and cheery. Great value if you are passing thru town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

This place was a dump. I've stayed at several Days Inns in the past, and I've always enjoyed it, so I felt confident when I checked in here. The rate was $59 + tax, it was in a reasonable enough location, I was simply driving through on the I-40 on my way east, and needed a place to sleep.

The room was old and dingy. Now, it was clean - as clean as the poor staff could get such a thing. You can only do so much with what you're given. The wallpaper was bubbling and peeling in multiple locations, the carpet felt SLIMY when I took my shoes off. The whole room had a stale smell to it. The bed cover immediately came off the bed and there was a cigarette burn on the blanket (it was a non-smoking room).

It was just an old, shabby, run-down place. I should have stayed at the Days Inn near the hospital area.

The breakfast consisted of some icky looking danish and a couple cereal choices. I had to wait for a pot of coffee to be brewed.

Of all the hotels I stayed at in my trip from California to Arkansas, this was the nastiest.

There are a lot of hotels in Amarillo, just find yourself another place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amarillo
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo
7.8 mi away
Super 8 Amarillo Central TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Amarillo
7.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
9.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palo Duro Canyon Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Amarillo

Property: Motel 6 Amarillo
Address: 8601 Canyon Dr, Amarillo, TX 79110-4811
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 70 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Amarillo 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Amarillo TX is conveniently located near shopping and dining. Visit the beautiful Palo Duro Canyon State Park nearby. Relax in our indoor heated pool. Enjoy free Wi-Fi and mini-fridge units in all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Amarillo
Amarillo Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing