We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice facilities...but MSNBC?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice facilities...but MSNBC?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I'm a Marriott Gold Rewards member. I stay at a Marriott whenever it is feasible possible. So, staying at the Fairfield Inn Marriott in Amarillo Texas was a given since I was passing thru the area. To see MSNBC on in the lobby was shocking. I'm used to CNN. I prefer Fox News. I'm used to CNN. To see this channel on made me recoil and not want to return. I'm sure the Fairfield Inn at the Airport wouldn't have made such a poor news choice for breakfast viewing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acv1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    65
    35
    12
    7
See reviews for
66
56
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
philly
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was driving my daughters stuff from LA to Philly and Amarillo was my second stop.
I am a Marriott Rewards member and look for,those properties first. I got a great AAA rate and based on the TA reviews I chose this property. It is just off I40 and since I was driving a box truck that was great. It is true that the property is a little 'worn' but everything worked perfectly and I was comfortable. I did get a room next to the elevator and usually would swap,that out (I am an end of the hall kind of guy). That night I decided to o with the flow and didn't even hear the elevator. I skipped breakfast because it was a Saturday and the small eating area was packed.
If (God forbid) I ever need to go to Amarillo again I would stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alzsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Alzsailor,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo and for being a loyal Marriott guest. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable and quiet rooms. Hopefully, if you are ever back in Amarillo you will have a chance to try our complimentary breakfast. Please allow us another opportunity to host you.

Sincerely,
Carol L.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here with 3 adults and five children under 8 in two rooms. The rooms were large and clean. The hotel was relatively quiet, considering it was fully booked with traveling families the night we stayed there. This is a Fairfield, so a small lobby and breakfast area should be expected. I was impressed with the way the staff handled such a large number of guests with breakfast items, keeping the serving dishes stocked and the room picked up.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MuriettaSipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Yes, across the parking lot the Residence Inn is a little nicer etc but this hotel is perfectly fine for a road trip stopover. It did bother me that the walls of the lobby and elevator were scratched up and in need of a paint job, but the actual room was very nice, very quiet and cool with a comfortable bed and good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Marilyn E,
Thank you for your review of the Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our quiet rooms, comfortable beds and complimentary breakfast. Please allow us the opportunity to host you again on your next trip to Amarillo.

Sincerely,
Carol L.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

I was more than pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It is by far the most updated Fairfield I've seen, with good sized rooms, and friendly staff. We even enjoyed the pool area. Small but perfect for three kids tired of riding in the car! Having a Buffalo Wild Wings in the parking lot was a huge bonus for this Mom who was tired of driving and in need of an adult beverage!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAFGHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pampa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Quite, clean and great service. We had a really nice stay. Front desk was very polite and professional. Maids cleaned thoroughly everyday. Great location. Highly recommend this hotel for your next stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadelynb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Fairfield is far enough west along Interstate 40 in Amarillo to be in a good neighborhood. We were in town for Homer's Backyard Ball. The event and the Fairfield are both located right along the highway.

We came in all dirty from the music festival fairly late and the front desk staff was on the spot to give us additional towels, soap and shampoo with a smile. They were also able to direct us to a spot popular with the locals for great Texas chicken-fried steak.

I really enjoyed our clean room and the complimentary hot breakfast with Texas-shaped waffles from the make-your-own iron.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
1.2 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 71 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center
Address: 6600 Interstate 40 W, Amarillo, TX 79106
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center hotel is located near the Westgate Mall in Amarillo, Texas. Our Marriott hotel offers comfort and convenience with our spacious rooms and central location. Amarillo attractions are close by. The Palo Duro Canyon is 30 minutes from our hotel, Downtown Amarillo is a short drive away, and we're minutes from shopping, fine dining, and entertainment options. We're also nearby many of the Amarillo area businesses such as Pantex and Northwest Texas Hospital. Guests of the Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center can enjoy complimentary WiFi and Breakfast during their stay, along with access to our 24 hour fitness center, and indoor pool and hot tub. No matter the reason for staying in Amarillo, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center staff is available for all your hotel needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Amarillo
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Amarillo
Fairfield Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing