We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center
Ranked #21 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, friendly”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The desk clerk was friendly and helpful. She did refer us to a chain restaurant instead of a local restaurant but we didn't specify we were looking for a local restaurant, so I'm pretty sure she just gave us the safe choice.

Our room was cleaned and well-maintained. Like all the beds in the Marriott group of hotels, the beds were soft and the sheets were crisp and clean. My husband complains that the pillows are too soft. If you really like firm pillows, you may want to bring your own.

The included breakfast was fine. We got to eat quickly and get back on the road. We will definitely stay here, again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcurry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarilloFFS_GM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would like to stay again with us. We look forward to seeing you the next time you travel through Amarillo!

Regards,
Carol L, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    70
    39
    14
    8
See reviews for
70
60
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice, clean, and conveniently located Marriott brand hotel that is great for business travel in West Texas and the panhandle area. I stay here at least once a month and the staff is very friendly and courteous.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PatM157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I thought for the cost of my room it was worth it, I did book in advance on line which helped. The room clean , bed was comfortable , the staff was friendly . I needed to get to the hospital in the morning and it was about a 5 minute drive . It is located off 140 making it easy to find .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 902kitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed one night in September '13. This is an older building with the cottage cheese ceilings, dim lighting etc, but has had some upgrading. My room rate was $115 per nt. which I believe is a bit high. The room was average size with a nice TV and small work area, and was clean. The bathroom was fine except for a small area of light mold. Given the heat and humidity in Texas in September, I chose not to make a big deal of it. The free breakfast was good, about the same as most other hotel free breakfasts. I had a Marriott gift card that I wanted to use as partial payment,(probably had something to do with choosing this hotel) and had to work with two different front desk folks to get that accomplished. All in all an average stay. Probably could have done better dollar-wise if I'd shopped around.

Room Tip: I-40 is very close, so the further away the better. The hotel does offer white noise machines if tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Dan H,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Please accept my apology that we did not exceed your expectations. I'm sorry that you found mold in the bathroom and I will have my housekeeping staff address this right away. I'm also sorry that you felt the rate you paid was high. We are constantly monitoring our rates and work hard to stay competitive with the hotels in our area. I hope that the next time you are in Amarillo you will give us another opportunity to impress you.

Sincerely,
Carol L.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This may well be unfair but although I have spent the night in Amarillo a number of times it has always been just that, a night. I have found that while heading east via interstate 40 Amarillo is my goal driving from either Arizona or Nevada. Heading west I try and make it to Tucumcari, New Mexico. Anyway I think the Fairfield west is one of the better choices in town. Although on the north side of 40 it is not really an issue as both the exit and entrance have those wonderful no stop u-turn lanes that make for easy on and off. Anyway the hotel has been recently updated and I find it not only a nicer hotel but also a better value than the Residence Inn which is right next door. Good size room comfortable bed quick, efficient and friendly front desk staff. What more can you ask for. The HVAC works smoothly without with what I find annoy clunk when it kicks in. Breakfast is your typical fare the staff keeps the food warm and available and the areas clean so no complaints there. So if you are looking for a good night’s sleep at a reasonable price just for I-40 than you should consider this property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night in August 2013 on a drive to Phoenix. It was easy to get to off of I-40. Decent breakfast which makes it easy to get going in the morning. It was clean and when staying at a Fairfield you know what to expect. Not luxurious, but decent.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Hmm1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLENDALE
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very nice hotel upon check in staff very friendly and helpful. Many restaurant close by, breakfast very good. Rooms large and comfortable clean bathrooms only thing was the bed the mattress was very soft you felt like you were sinking into the bed. but overall nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BARBARA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Amarillo
Residence Inn Amarillo
#10 of 72 in Amarillo
200 reviews
10.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Airport
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Amarillo West/Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Amarillo
Homewood Suites Amarillo
#13 of 72 in Amarillo
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center
Address: 6600 Interstate 40 W, Amarillo, TX 79106-2502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center hotel is located near the Westgate Mall in Amarillo, Texas. Our Marriott hotel offers comfort and convenience with our spacious rooms and central location. Amarillo attractions are close by. The Palo Duro Canyon is 30 minutes from our hotel, Downtown Amarillo is a short drive away, and we're minutes from shopping, fine dining, and entertainment options. We're also nearby many of the Amarillo area businesses such as Pantex and Northwest Texas Hospital. Guests of the Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center can enjoy complimentary WiFi and Breakfast during their stay, along with access to our 24 hour fitness center, and indoor pool and hot tub. No matter the reason for staying in Amarillo, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center staff is available for all your hotel needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Amarillo
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Amarillo
Fairfield Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing