We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed one night in September '13. This is an older building with the cottage cheese ceilings, dim lighting etc, but has had some upgrading. My room rate was $115 per nt. which I believe is a bit high. The room was average size with a nice TV and small work area, and was clean. The bathroom was fine except for a small area of light mold. Given the heat and humidity in Texas in September, I chose not to make a big deal of it. The free breakfast was good, about the same as most other hotel free breakfasts. I had a Marriott gift card that I wanted to use as partial payment,(probably had something to do with choosing this hotel) and had to work with two different front desk folks to get that accomplished. All in all an average stay. Probably could have done better dollar-wise if I'd shopped around.

Room Tip: I-40 is very close, so the further away the better. The hotel does offer white noise machines if tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Dan H,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Please accept my apology that we did not exceed your expectations. I'm sorry that you found mold in the bathroom and I will have my housekeeping staff address this right away. I'm also sorry that you felt the rate you paid was high. We are constantly monitoring our rates and work hard to stay competitive with the hotels in our area. I hope that the next time you are in Amarillo you will give us another opportunity to impress you.

Sincerely,
Carol L.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 223 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

This may well be unfair but although I have spent the night in Amarillo a number of times it has always been just that, a night. I have found that while heading east via interstate 40 Amarillo is my goal driving from either Arizona or Nevada. Heading west I try and make it to Tucumcari, New Mexico. Anyway I think the Fairfield west is one of the better choices in town. Although on the north side of 40 it is not really an issue as both the exit and entrance have those wonderful no stop u-turn lanes that make for easy on and off. Anyway the hotel has been recently updated and I find it not only a nicer hotel but also a better value than the Residence Inn which is right next door. Good size room comfortable bed quick, efficient and friendly front desk staff. What more can you ask for. The HVAC works smoothly without with what I find annoy clunk when it kicks in. Breakfast is your typical fare the staff keeps the food warm and available and the areas clean so no complaints there. So if you are looking for a good night’s sleep at a reasonable price just for I-40 than you should consider this property.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night in August 2013 on a drive to Phoenix. It was easy to get to off of I-40. Decent breakfast which makes it easy to get going in the morning. It was clean and when staying at a Fairfield you know what to expect. Not luxurious, but decent.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Hmm1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very nice hotel upon check in staff very friendly and helpful. Many restaurant close by, breakfast very good. Rooms large and comfortable clean bathrooms only thing was the bed the mattress was very soft you felt like you were sinking into the bed. but overall nice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank BARBARA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a friendly front desk employee. He was very nice and helpful when checking us in.

The room and bathroom was something out of a stylish magazine. It was very to date and CLEAN. Both queen sized beds were very comfortable to sleep on. The sheets were soft and did not have that hard feeling to them. After being on the road for 11 days, and in 11 different hotel rooms at that point, everyone in the family commented on the softness of the sheets. We all agreed it was our best night sleep during our vacation.

The indoor pool was medium in size. They had a computer room with two computers to use instead of having to wait for someone to get off. It was very nice.

We had never stayed at a Fairfield Inn and Suite before, so when we showed up for breakfast we were knocked off our feet. Marriott does a wonderful job with their breakfasts. The 4 kids didnt go hungry. You had anything from lite and healthy to pancakes and scrambled eggs. The coffee was great. It wasnt weak like most other hotels.

The location of this hotel was GREAT too. Very easy to get too off the interstate. It is on the side road (access road for local traffice) that runs parallel to the interstate. Make sure you dont get in the lane that puts you back onto the interstate. Can be a bit confusing if you havent been in TX before with their access roads.

Even better yet, it was about 15-20 minutes down the road from the best steak in the world: The Big Texan home of the 72oz steak as seen on Man verse Food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soccermomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were very impressed with this hotel. The room was very nice and the hotel staff were very helpful and courteous. Little things like the front desk staff suggesting a place to eat, and then when we came back from dinner, asking us how things went and did we like the restaurant. Would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherlock6142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

loud hallway noise and horrible king sized bed. felt like 2 people sharing a pool float. Ugh. however, the green and white decorating scheme in the bathrokm was pretty. the hosta leaves pic made me smile.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarciaLHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarilloFFS_GM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Ms. Hansen, Thank you for staying with us during your last trip through Amarillo. I am glad that you like our decor package, we enjoy it as well. I am very sorry that you found our beds uncomfortable. We are in the middle of changing out all the mattress and box springs in our rooms and should have this completed by the end of August. I do apologize that there was loud hallway noise. Please keep in mind our front desk would be more than happy to speak with other guests who may be causing too much noise. I hope that the next time you come through you will be willing to give the Fairfield Inn Amarillo another chance! Thank you, Carol Larson, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
10.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Amarillo Airport
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Amarillo West/Medical Center
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo
0 mi away
Residence Inn Amarillo
Residence Inn Amarillo
#15 of 72 in Amarillo
213 reviews
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center

Address: 6600 Interstate 40 W, Amarillo, TX 79106-2502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range: $87 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center hotel is located near the Westgate Mall in Amarillo, Texas. Our Marriott hotel offers comfort and convenience with our spacious rooms and central location. Amarillo attractions are close by. The Palo Duro Canyon is 30 minutes from our hotel, Downtown Amarillo is a short drive away, and we're minutes from shopping, fine dining, and entertainment options. We're also nearby many of the Amarillo area businesses such as Pantex and Northwest Texas Hospital. Guests of the Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center can enjoy complimentary WiFi and Breakfast during their stay, along with access to our 24 hour fitness center, and indoor pool and hot tub. No matter the reason for staying in Amarillo, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center staff is available for all your hotel needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Amarillo
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Amarillo
Fairfield Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing