We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Amarillo - Medical Center
Ranked #34 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

First to know the rooms all have an exterior entrance. This is definitely an older hotel as my room did not have a sprinkler. The room had a slight odor to it but it was not obtrusive. The bathroom had one light, the overhead light was burnt out, and a fan without a switch to turn it on. Air-conditioning worked well and the bed was rather comfortable. A solid three-star hotel. Oh by the way they do not serve breakfast before 7 AM.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank ToddnKathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, General Manager at Days Inn Amarillo - Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Todd and Kathy,

Foremost, we appreciate the time you took to review our hotel. Feedback from our guests is crucial in developing strategies for our property's improvement. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. We strive to maintain the highest degree of guest satisfaction possible and regret that your stay was not the utmost in comfort. However, we are happy that the comfort of your guest bed and the air conditioning exceeded your standards. Our normal hours of breakfast operation are 6:30 to 9:30 AM each morning. I would like the opportunity to discuss further with you the details of your stay so that I can correct the problems that you experienced with your stay, namely the lack of on time breakfast service. Please contact me, Antonio, at the property directly at 806.359.9393 so that I can guarantee you do not encounter the same problems during your next visit to Days Inn Medical Center. Again, thank you for your review and have a wonderful day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Amarillo - Medical Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 318 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

I voiced my concern about the parking and requested a room where i can see my vehicle, this was abruptly dismissed and being its past the cancellation time i wasn't able to look for another hotel without costing me $$$. Well my fears were not unfounded , when we woke up the next day we found out that my 2 mountain bikes, were stolen, even with them being held by heavy duty chains and locks. Thats 5 thou down the drain , this hotel should have their parking security increased (established coz there is no security whatsoever) or at least place a big sign at the lobby about the parking risk. We have been thru 3 states for the last previous nights and this is where we were victimized. So if you value your properties STAY AWAY!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lpakinggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, General Manager at Days Inn Amarillo - Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Good afternoon ma'am,

We consistently strive to accommodate all requests that guests have at their time of check-in. Unfortunately during your visit we experienced high occupancy and could not accommodate both your parking request and your requested room type. Our staff maintains a high degree of security including but not limited to closed circuit security cameras, frequent nightly property walks, as well as well known police presence. As I'm sure you're well aware when traveling and leaving said valuable properties exposed and secured only to the exterior of a vehicle, you assume a certain degree of risk, especially while staying in a populous city. However, I sincerely regret that you experienced this problem. As I'm sure you've been informed, we comply completely and fully with the local police department in all matters that pertain to our guests and that will continue. Please know that situations such as yours are extremely rare in occurance at our property, yet sometimes unfortunate incidents like this occur, as in any situation that has outdoor public parking. In future instances, I advise on a professional and personal level that should you have valuables that are exposed on the outside of your vehicle that you address those concerns with front desk staff and ask for options and alternatives such as in lobby storage or alternative security of your valuables. If I can assist you in any way whatsoever, please do not hesitate to contact me at 806.359.9393. Again, I am personally apologetic for the misfortune you experienced and hope that the recovery of your lost items comes promptly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This man was extremely kind and very helpful. He gave us information on other sites we could visit. Mr. Antonio Morales, Manager, not only did the above but made you feel at home.
Rooms were very clean.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs was very peaceful.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhernandez2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, General Manager at Days Inn Amarillo - Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Mr. Hernandez,

Thank you for the time to post your positive experience and acclaim for our property. It was an absolute pleasure to serve you and we know that when you return to Amarillo for whatever reason, you will choose Days Inn Medical Center once more. We look very much forward to when that day comes. Until then, be well, and let us know if we can assist you in any way. Have a wonderful afternoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I would have given this hotel only one star had it not been for the excellent, friendly staff. The hotel itself is extremely run down and in need of much attention. The screens are ripped, windows are dirty, cobwebs hang out in corners, duct tape is used to repair stairs, and paint is chipping and smeared. Those would be excusable if the interior of the room was better. However, the blankets on both beds had multiple holes, the toilet was loose, and the shower was warm - but never hot. The breakfast area was small. I counted 10 chairs. This seems like a $60 motel. We paid $100 for 2 queens. Way overpriced. I felt misled by trip advisor's generally decent rating on this hotel. It does not reflect the condition of this property.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, General Manager at Days Inn Amarillo - Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Good afternoon Sara,

We appreciate your time in offering a review of our hotel. Reviews such as yours not only encourage our staff to maintain their high degree of guest service but also offer us opportunities for improvement. Although our hotel is in the process of undergoing a complete, comprehensive renovation process, we are sorry that you find our property 'run down.' We strive to always offer a positive guest experience for all that choose Days Inn Medical Center, and we are sincerely apologetic that you do not characterize yours as being such. We hope that you offer us the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Amarillo whereby you can experience our refreshed room type. Please contact me directly at 806.359.9393 before your next stay so that I can not only offer you a special discounted rate, but also so that you can experience Days Inn Medical Center's newly renovated guest rooms. Thank you again for your review, and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the room I was given. The furniture was very nice, the room was spacious and very clean. I too was a little disappointed with the towels and the tub floor was very discolored. But overall the room was very nice. This hotel does not have an elevator. The exterior and breezeways are not the best, but that matters little to me. I want hot water, heat or AC and a clean room.

Room Tip: This property does not have an elevator. if you have a lot of luggage be sure to get a ground floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Property is a little dated and check in was not quite what I expected but all in all $ was fine. Towels need to be upgraded because 1st was 2 towels with no nap 2 n 3rd nights was 1 plush and 1 not plush towel. Consistency is a bit of a problem but I felt secure so...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is a hard review for me. The reason being that the service was excellent and you could tell the staff had tried to make the most of what they had to work with. The addition of a fridge, microwave, coffee machine, large flat screen TV really helped raise the bar. However, most folks would not have gotten past the older condition of the room. No cover on the a/c, multi-colored door (as if they repainted it but got lazy and didn't finish it) and some stains in the bathroom.That being said, I had a good night's sleep and the bed was comfortable.

I appreciate Antonio going out of his way to offer me recommendations. The steak house was good, and though I didn't get to visit, his recommendations for a late night cocktail sounded like they would be fun. Additionally, the next morning, I arrived for breakfast in the lobby 15 minutes early (I didn't realize it at the time) but the hostess was gracious enough to allow me to go ahead and grab some things so I could get on the road.

All in all, friendly welcoming service and okay rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn West Medical Center
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Amarillo - West
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#41 of 72 in Amarillo
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#36 of 72 in Amarillo
667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Amarillo - Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Amarillo - Medical Center

Address: 2102 S Coulter St, Amarillo, TX 79106-2514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range: $67 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Amarillo - Medical Center 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amarillo represents the best of what makes TEXAS unique. Here, Western lore and legend come together to mix with the "down home" hospitality Texans are famous for. Whether visiting the hospital or just wanting to get away our Days Inn takes great pride in attending every customers needs. You are walking distance from a series of hospitals and medical complexes that are earning high reputation in West Texas. Additionally, there is a major shopping mall near Days Inn , and many excellent restaurants in the immediate area. We want you to feel free and enjoy our amenities. 50 newly renovated rooms, Free HOT breakfast, Fitness room. Indoor heated pool with spa, and 24 hour guest laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Days Inn Amarillo - Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Amarillo
Amarillo Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing