We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an average stay in and average building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Amarillo
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Staff was okay- not overly helpful, but not mean. Breakfast was terrible and I recommend just eating else where. Rooms were nice and roomy. The building needs some updating and the housekeeping staff isn't the greatest. We had trash in our trash bin from previous guests- eww. Pool was a hit with the kid. I would go back, but keep my expectations low.

Room Tip: Stay away from lobby or it's noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathrynp816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarilloSales, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Amarillo, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize you had a negative experience at our hotel. I want to assure you that these issues are being addressed!

You mentioned that the building is in need of updating, and that is true. In fact, we are currently in the midst of a full property renovation. The guestrooms were first on the list, and I trust you enjoyed the spaciousness and comfort of our newly renovated suites. This week, we start renovating the common areas, which will give our guests a new, improved and beautiful property, which they expect from a Residence Inn.

I am also very sorry to hear that breakfast and housekeeping did not meet your needs and expectations. I do assure you that as a part of our renovation, we are updating our breakfast menu, based on guest feedback to offer our guests healthy, tasty options to jump start their days. As for housekeeping, we will address your comments in tomorrow’s daily staff meeting. We’ve recently added to our housekeeping staff, and all our housekeepers participate in ongoing training and development.

We value all of our guests’ feedback and use it to evaluate what can be done to improve our hotel and our service. We hope with our continued efforts to improve, you will continue to stay at the Amarillo Residence Inn next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 214 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

Thanks to the previous reviewer, my husband and I, with our elderly large poodle did choose to stay at the Residence Inn on our cross-country trip. We are very particular, and were very pleased. All the rooms that are available are newly and attractively redone (those not done yet are closed). We did choose a 2 BR suite, which came with LR and kitchen/dining area, and was very pleasant and extremely spacious for just two people. Beds were totally fine. Breakfast was fine, staff helpful. Room (top/3rd floor) was very quiet, and location is away from any highway (though maybe one corner of it could be exposed to noise of I-40). They did charge a pet fee of $40-50.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdegarmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

OK this hotel had some pretty crappy reviews from the past which made me nervous. The whole experience - staff, food, room were wonderful. Rooms are completely renovated and were well appointed. Food was great, staff was attentive, solid wifi. I typically don't write reviews but thought this place earned it and a second chance. Oh - for what its worth my mattress pad came off for some reason just like another review said as well.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klapaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

This Residence Inn is pretty ho-hum compared with others we've stayed in recently. The bed sheets and mattress pad kept coming off the King Sized bed all night long and it was rather noisy with I-40 right outside our window. Clean, OK, but not terrific for the price. Nice breakfast - staff very fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koolbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Staff is very friendly. Eve the maids are smiling and talkative. They are in the process of remodeling all of the rooms. My room had a very contemporary look the new furnishings.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LandOrSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The facility is tired and needs new paint, light fixtures, furniture, bed spread and curtains. The facility is clean and the help desk is polite. WE skipped the breakfast, and the motel is convenient to restaurants but not much motel value for your dollar. This was our second stay within a year but we won’t stay there again.

Lastly, I am a Marriott Rewards member and I booked my room under my membership number. I mistaken left my personal bed pillow in the room after we checked out. My pillow obviously has a pillow cover that does not match the bed sheets, so the person cleaning the room can easily know that the pillow does not belong. Marriott has not tried to contact me regarding the finding of my pillow. I guess they just threw it away. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BMWM5Driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My normal expectations of a Residence Inn were satisfied here. Only a few points to note. The indoor pool was a nice feature for the climate we were in. The woman that check me in (she was toting a neon green backpack) was minimally friendly but she restrained herself well and only narrowed her eyes at me when I started to moan how every flipping hotel did tax exemption differently. (Seriously! Why is every hotel I visit have different hoops I have to jump through to get tax exemption at checkin, only to have to go and have it actually applied at checkout because after a shift change the next person has no idea it was supposed to be applied?!) I would have no problem staying here again.

Room Tip: Not much for views but everything was nice, clean, and reasonably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAXXDOGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
1.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
4.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Amarillo

Address: 6700 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-2504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#11 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range: $124 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Amarillo 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amarillo Residence Inn is just minutes away from the Westgate Mall in Amarillo, TX At Residence Inn, we combine function and comfort to make the perfect stay in Amarillo. Our over-sized suites provide fully equipped kitchens with separate living, sleeping and dining areas. We welcome our guests with all the comforts of home while traveling on business or relaxing with the family. Experience unmatched quality and customer service found only at Amarillo Residence Inn by Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing