We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel but a lot of highway noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Corrales, NM
Level Contributor
300 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Decent hotel but a lot of highway noise”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Room was nice and clean. Breakfast was Comfort Inn usual. Highway noise was the only drawback. Hotel is right on 1-40.

Room Tip: Try odd numers toward the back for less highway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jegnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    94
    36
    18
    18
See reviews for
91
82
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I was so disappointed! The rooms were dirty, the couch was stained, the pool was out of commission. An overall horrible stay!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jennifer a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celina, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The best thing about this hotel was the bed. It was SO comfortable; i absolutely loved it. If i could have brought that bed home with me, I would have...it was that perfect! The indoor pool was nice for my kids, and the breakfast was good ( but the woman taking care of the area was not). Overall, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgkris1394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

This hotel is quite big, and the rooms are the same. The bathroom was huge, and in the main room there was an additional sink and counter.
The room had relatively new furniture in it and was clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoriakm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantana, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We were traveling across the country, family of 4. Not novices to hotel stays. Arrived late in the evening to the last available room, so we weren't expecting the pick of the litter. We only needed a place to sleep for the night and to get back on the road first thing in the morning. We weren't picky. But walking into the smell of vomit made an easy night's stop into a pretty uncomfortable situation. Needless to say, the kids were grossed out and near vomitting themselves every time they walked into the bathroom. Upon closer inspection, there was actually still vomit on the bathroom door and the tile grout and carpet transition. Pretty gross. We asked for another room.. they didn't have one. So we would tough it out. They offered a bottle of spray deoderant... we sprayed the carpet. It didn't help much. We sprinkled some coffee grinds over the exposed vomit in the bathroom area and it masked the smell pretty well... a little unorthodox, but liveable. Checked out the next morning. Moving on. Later that morning, I received notifications of additional charges to my debit card. About $150 in addition to the $146 room charge. My husband called to inquire what these charges are for. Cleaning fees. Apparently, coffee grinds on the floor are a mild form of vandalism. SIDE NOTE: We were missing a second lock on our door. The primary lock was there, but broken. When we did lock our door (with difficulty) we found ourselves to be locked in and it took 5 minutes of jiggling to open. Glad there wasn't an emergency or evacuation situation. Seems like a minor safety violation. Water was lukewarm with no pressure. Staff was unhelpful at best. Again, the little things are expected at a hotel of this quality, but being charged cleaning fees for the previous guest's vomit... absolutely not acceptable. We will not be staying with the CHOICE HOTEL brand again. BEWARE!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLCrossCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, IL
Level Contributor
189 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed at the Comfort Inn and suites Amarillo and had a suite for one night. THe suite gave us ample room and the bedding was comfortable and cozy. Everything was clean. The pool was great, it had mosaic tile in the shape of dolphins on the bottom. The Hot tub was even better, it was huge and also elegant with mosiac tile. The complimentary breakfast was greatly appreciated, eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, waffles in the shape of texas. This was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyhotcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlan, KY
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Great hotel. No complaints. The rooms were very nice and clean. Breakfast was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarlanKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 73 in Amarillo
366 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
664 reviews
6.7 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#25 of 73 in Amarillo
384 reviews
6.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo
Address: 2101 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79102-4404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
94 Units, Indoor Pool and Hot Tub, Whirlpool Suites, Free Full Hot Breakfast, Wi-Fi, Fitness Room, Business Center, Meeting Room, Guest Laundry, Elevators, In room Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, Micro-Fridge, Ceiling Fan, Sleeper Sofa, 27 inch TV's with Expanded Cable, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarillo Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing