We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing a must go! Little kids will love it and parents too!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayou Wildlife Zoo

Bayou Wildlife Zoo
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Alvin
Certificate of Excellence
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing a must go! Little kids will love it and parents too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

You drive in and the animals come up to eat out of your buckets, but do not give them all of it you will need some for ride. You get all the way in and they have a barn with goats and pigs and exotic animals. Then you load up on tram that takes you all over, the animals come right up to eat and many will let you pet them. Little kids love it but beware you will have at least one animal try to steal your bucket. It is fun anytime you go but best time is when it cooler, since you are mostly outside. Sunscreen and hats even on tram, bring snack and drinks and keep in car since not much to buy inside park. Pony rides and farm animal area is nice. You see camels, donkeys, giraffes, a rhino, llamas, and so much more!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank babymains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    56
    13
    4
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Wildside of Bayou”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Being greeted at the entrance by a Park Ranger holding an awesome tarantula spider - was perhaps the extreme highlight of this visit. Enjoyed the surroundings and just simply absorbed everything there. A tip - Wear sturdy footwear.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 53bob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Family Fun Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I took our son, his wife, and our grandson to Bayou Wildlife Park in Alvin, Texas, for an outing. Next best thing to the Houston Zoo. It is a great little getaway fun place. There are a huge number of animals roaming free, including a 6' red kangaroo and a zonkey (half zebra/half donkey). Everyone boards a train that goes through the park, and the kids get to feed the animals who come up to the train. It is very educational also because the guide gives all kinds of interesting information about each kind of animal. There is a petting zoo for the kids, and entry into the park includes a free pony ride for all kids under 90 pounds. There are also picnic tables set up - so bring your cooler and picnic lunch and enjoy the day at this wonderful wildlife park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank grizwald_vacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited with a 2 yo and friend family. You can meet many animals from very close. You can feed them. You can ride a trailer, so you don’t have to walk in the park. It’s easy to go even in the hot summer day or with old grandparents. We will visit there again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank M1nam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manvel, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Get ready to have fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have visited this place various time throughout the years and it has never failed to please. The last time i was there they did not accept checks so if you didn't a credit card or cash with you, you could not buy a t-shirt, etc. Or food to feed the animals during the trip thru the park which is The Most Fun!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Pamala R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayou Wildlife Zoo also viewed

Alvin, Texas Gulf Coast
Alvin, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bayou Wildlife Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing