We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, line staff needs help.”
Review of Joe's Barbeque CO

Joe's Barbeque CO
Ranked #3 of 91 Restaurants in Alvin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
houston, texas
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food, line staff needs help.”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The food was good as usual, but the line was very long. Figured it was because of this restaurant's reputation for good barbeque, but learned it was the poor line staff taking the order. She seemed uninterested and my mother and I had to repeat our order sever times. Shame, once we got to our table it was better.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cruzblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    48
    28
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I've tasted WAY better BBQ”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Their weekend breakfast is really good but as far as the BBQ goes, I've tasted WAY better. I won't eat here again, not because of the service but honestly the food isn't anything id want to taste again. I did give it a second try and still this BBQ is not worth all of the bragging the owners do.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lexiemirage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“delicious bbq and salad bar , just 5 minutes from Holiday inn express and la Quinta in alvin”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

the service is quick! one visit I ate at restaurant,the other visit I did a to go order, both times , servive quick and efficient,

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank anadee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The worst BBQ I've ever tasted”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

No flavor/like salty grease on the pulled pork sandwich ... This was my consulation meal after I sent the indelible ribs back ..... Not sure where they're getting the beef ... Barely any meat on the huge bones and soo tough couldn't eat it ... Again no flavor ... Geez uh and they've won awards for this ... Mmmm ok ... Well going back home to cook my own ... Thanks but no thanks :/

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BJS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Weekend Seafood buffet is a winner”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I have eaten at Joe's a couple of times during the lunch hour and once on a Saturday evening. What you see is what you get. I can't say anything bad about Joe's. The Weekend Seafood buffet (Friday-Sunday) is a winner in my book. It's not extensive, but the staff kept the buffet fresh for our entire visit. It features fried catfish, fried shrimp (but not jumbo shrimp), boudain balls, seafood gumbo and rice, hush puppies, and a handful of sides (including a homemade mac and cheese that was very good). I stuck with the catfish, shrimp, gumbo, and mac and cheese, and had no complaints. As I said, the staff kept the offerings fresh (I find stale seafood buffets common some places, but inexcusable), which was huge for me. The buffet was $14.95.

Joe's also offered all-you-can-eat beef ribs ($14.95) on Saturday night. While my wife was tempted by the ribs, we both stayed with the seafood.

We noticed that over half of the tables around opted for loaded baked potatoes. Maybe next time.

A couple of other things. The interior is pretty rustic . . . but that's a part of what Joe's is. I don't think it's dirty, it just doesn't look spic and span like a newer place would.

Our server was very young and pretty spotty. But Joe himself came by the table twice and checked to make sure we had what we needed . . . very personable guy, and impressive that he was making the rounds.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jtw58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Barbeque CO also viewed

Alvin, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Alvin, Texas Gulf Coast
Alvin, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Alvin, Texas Gulf Coast
Alvin, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Joe's Barbeque CO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing