We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pub in Galveston, County”

Gordon Street Tavern
Ranked #1 of 90 Restaurants in Alvin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great gastro style craft beer tavern in Alvin, Texas, south of Houston. One of the coolest bars/restaurants in the area.
Galveston, TX
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Pub in Galveston, County”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Gordon Street Tavern is one of the coolest pubs in Galveston county. They have 34 draft beers, and a great pub fare menu.

I went with my fiancee and her friend who doesn't even drink beer. They have a selection for anyone. We started with the stuffed jalapeños. Wow they were stuffed with sausage, cream cheese, wrapped in bacon and then grilled to perfection. AMAZING STUFF!

Next we had the scotch egg. Actually I ordered one, then our friend ordered one, and then after seeing how great they were my fiancee had to order one. This is a must try and you can't find them everywhere. A hard boiled egg surrounded in delicious sausage and then breaded and fried to a golden brown deliciousness.

Finally we had the Go Pig or Go Home which is a smoked pork short rib served with truffled mac & cheese. Very delicious and a great value for a huge portion of meat. If you go there you have to try this one. It's spectacular.

Lot's of very friendly people were there including Jay the chef of the house. He was very friendly and welcoming with us and apparently loves to cook with some of their fine beer selections. The taps are diverse and there is a beer on that wall for any person. There is a wide variety of styles from light easy drinking beers such as the Wasatch White Ale, and the Angry Orchard Cider to the heavier nitro tapped Obsidian from Deschutes brewing company.

If you are looking to sit outside and enjoy the fall weather this place has a great patio. All around it's a great place. And a must try for any beer lover.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    30
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Craft Beer in Alvin”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I have been here several times and each time we are very pleased with the quality of the food and we enjoy the selection of local craft beers. I would recommend visiting them anytime.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VTomJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't expect good service”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Afternoon bartender would rather watch videos on her phone than take care of your beverage needs or even check if you want to order any food..

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreasyCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
192 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Alvin's best overall... And they have craft beer”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I eat here at least once a month. Everything here is actually cooked here. Nothing is frozen. Favorites of mine are the buffalo chicken sandwich and the smoked Chedder burger. Both are fantastic. The wings here are also very strong. They're their own Wong sauce and it is excellent.

They also have around thirty beer taps. They have a nice selection of craft beer. Love the for this. Really the only place in Alvin with this type of beer selection.

Service has always been good for us. I have never had anyone be rude or mess something up.

Prices are ok. Remember they aren't serving you cheap frozen food. It's cooked to order.

My daughter loves the Mac n cheese... Not the terrible Kraft stuff but real cheese here.

This place has made Alvin a better place to live opinion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank superbford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Thought this place would be better”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I was thrilled when they opened this in town but it has been a disappointment. We have been several times hoping it would get better. The tavern has standard pub food but I feel the prices are too high for what you get. I don't feel there are enough choices on the menu especially for salads. The burgers are just okay and we have tried different ones. You can get better without spending the extra money. They are just not that special. The appetizers are priced high for the amount that you receive. They are skimpy . Last of all us the service. It is terrible and consistently terrible. The wait staff either ignore you or don't bring what you need. And this has been on various occasions. Management needs to train them better or they won't have a business. The one thing they do have is a large selection of beer on tap.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordon Street Tavern also viewed

Alvin, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Alvin, Texas Gulf Coast
Alvin, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gordon Street Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing