We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Illness Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Alvin
Rolla, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Illness Stay”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I don't know where to begin but I will try to be brief. My husband and I along with two of his sisters traveled to Alvin, TX the Monday before Christmas to visit his critically ill sister who had been battling lung cancer. We spent 7 nights at the hotel and were treated so wonderful by the staff. Taylor and all the other desk clerks and breakfast attendants asked each day how my husband's sister was doing and kept her and us in their prayers. One of the attendants baked us a delicious loaf of Hawaiian bread. This meant so much to us as we were always hurrying in and out to be with his sister. The Friday after Christmas my husband's sister lost her battle with cancer. That evening while we were out grabbing a bite to eat the attendant had the desk clerk leave a loaf of chocolate bread and some crocheted items in our room. We were so surprised to see the bread and the handmade gift. This was so thoughtful and lifted our spirits. Then the following day an even more tragic event occurred. One of my husband's other sisters hadn't been feeling well and we had to rush her to the ER. She had contracted the H1N1 flu virus and was admitted to an area hospital. The next day she was rushed to the ICU and put on a ventilator. She never recovered and passed away the following Saturday morning. We will never forget the kindness extended to us from everyone at the Holiday Inn Express in Alvin, TX in our time of sorrow.

Room Tip: We chose a suite since there were 4 of us sharing the room. It was very roomy quiet and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We just wanted to write and see how you and the family are doing?
We are praying for you:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    23
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
31
11
3
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
indiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The hotel was very nice. Got a great rate on Hotwire. Only complaint is the hotel was not busy when we stayed there, but after sight seeing in Galveston for the day we got back to the room and it was not made. But they apologized and gave us goody bags and put us in a slightly upgraded room, which was nice. It was a little confusing to get to the hotel as it did not show up on the GPS. Not many good restaurant choices in the area. The free breakfast was really good!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctoneill93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Just wanted to take the time to thank you for your posts. I thought I had responded but for some reason it never acknowledged. Thanks so much for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very neat hotel at a great price. The staff was very friendly and helpful we stayed on the third floor and there was no noise.

Rooms where clean and spacious and the bed was very comfortable.
Enjoyed the free hot breakfast and nice to see the staff took pride in their work.

Could not find fault with anything.
Took a trip down to Galveston, 40 minute drive nice and easy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonovanIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Donovan III, just wanted to say thank you for the lovely posts. When are you coming back? We'd love to host you again!

Managment and Staff of the Holiday Inn Express in Alvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed here on the night before our cruise. Very clean, nice hotel. Customer service was great and everyone was very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend staying here if you are cruising out of Galveston.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premont, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

my niece got married on oct 12, 2013 and she choose this hotel for us to stay... it was a great choice...the people at the desk were very helpful in directing us to where we wanted to go. the hotel was fairly new, it seemed...beds...super comfortable..was close to kemah...where there is so much to see, do and eat...

Room Tip: we love the bottom floor...that is where we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuck b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We can't improve unless we know what we are doing right...and...wrong. Without customers like you, we wouldn't have a job. So, on behalf of the team, thanks for keeping us employed.

Management Team of the Holiday Inn Express in Alvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

On business trip to the Houston-Alvin area, my experience with this Holiday Inn Express: great value, professional staff, and perfect for my business travel needs.

Morning breakfast, coffee, and juice comes with the price -- as did my wifi. Nice bookend to my check-in that included a light snack. Good deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for the review. I hope we exceeded your expectations. Thanks for keeping us employed and we hope you do come back to stay with us when your travel brings you to the greater Houston Area.

Management Team of the Holiday Inn Express in Alvin....your home away from hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

needed a place to sleep for the night, came in late, overnight desk person was very nice. he even gave me a goodie bag of chips, etc because i said i was hungry and didn't want to leave the property. large rooms, good a/c, very decent breakfast. would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1983007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving the kind review. I hope that our staff made you feel like this was your "home away from home"

The Holiday Inn Express Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvin
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Alvin
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Alvin
Super 8 Alvin
#2 of 8 in Alvin
159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Alvin/Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Scottish Inns & Suites
0.9 mi away
Alvin Extended Stay
Alvin Extended Stay
#6 of 8 in Alvin
13 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston/League City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin
Address: 900 S Bypass 35, Alvin, TX 77511-4170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Alvin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Alvin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kick up your heels at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alvin, home of the famous pitcher Nolan Ryan. This is the perfect location for business or pleasure, offering our 'Hot Breakfast Buffet' to start off your day! If you're here for pleasure you are just minutes away from the Nolan Ryan Center, Alvin Opry, Alvin Youth Livestock and Arena, Froberg s Vegetable Farm, Texas Thunder Speedway and the Quintana Neotropical Bird Sanctuary. We are also located only a short drive from NASA Johnson Space Center, Bayou Wildlife Park, and the Galveston Island Beaches.Whether here for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alvin is the perfect place for you. Alvin Community College, Dish Network, Solutia Inc, INEOS Olefins & Polymers USA and Equistar, are just a few companies that call the Alvin area home.Relax in your own elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, free wired and wireless high-speed internet access, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. Enjoy a swim in our crystal-clear outdoor pool or energize in our Fitness Center. Polish that presentation in the business center and we even have the right space for your professional meeting. We re here, ready with all you need to make your trip to Alvin a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Houston-Alvin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing