We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms with a little noise issue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Alvin
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Overall the room was very nice. Ours had 10' tall ceilings and plenty of room for the family. In the morning the room above became quite loud. We could hear every step and the water draining. It wasn't enough to wake me but it might bother a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottrprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you very much for posting your review! I apologize that you were not able to get the amount of rest required and will review with our staff what to do in that situation. We're pleased that you thought the room quite expansive. It's one of our best features! Again, thank you for you post and we hope to see you again soon!

Cheryl and the team from the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Alvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 84 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

This Hotel is the friendliest ever. The staff was unbelievable. The rooms were very clean and the bed was comfortable. Can't say this about some hotels. I would stay here again when I am back in the neighborhood. I am actually at the hotel now. No complaints at all!

Room Tip: Any room would be good. I would choose the second floor. I don't want to be to close to the coun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarrell b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind reviews. We do try to keep the hotel in pretty good shape but I must say it's the "staff" that makes us what we are. Thanks for keeping us employed and if you are ever near "alvin", please come back to your home away from home!

Cheryl and the team of the Holiday Inn Express and Suites - Houston Alvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express July 8th, 2013 and from the moment we entered we had exceptional service. Cheryl, the General Manager, greeted us after we returned from sight-seeing in Galveston to let us know about free Papa Johns pizza and beer in the lounge starting at 5:00 p.m. I have stayed at more expensive Marriot's in the Texas Medical Center of Houston and not had near the top-notch service or comparable room accomodations. We were impressed with the thinking outside of the box offerings at the Alvin Holiday Inn Express. We were told they do three free meals each week on Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays. I am a holiday Inn Express convert and will no longer be staying at overrated expensive Marriot hotels.Thank you for a great hotel visit Cheryl.

All the best,

Brett O.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Brett, thanks so much for the posting. We really try to make our guest experience unique. We don't often have "meals", but will really try to offer various snacks (i.e. pizza, chips and dips, and even Ice cream for those hot days". Again, thanks for staying with us and keeping us employed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We've stayed at a few accommodation places along the Loop 35 skirting a small Texas town named Alvin 35 miles south west of Houston. It is famously known as the birthplace of one of America's famous Baseball pitchers Nolan Ryan. The Nolan Ryan Centre (I reviewed earlier this year). This one at Holiday Inn - is about the newest only a couple of years old now. It's clean, has a great lobby, serves complimentary breakfasts, caters for many workers from the various industrial industries, chemical, petroleum etc. They are friendly folk that stay there - like us Aussies. Booking on line has been easy and they are relaxed and friendly upon check-in. The rooms are quite large and the beds comfy. There's a business centre, fitness centre, laundry that just make one's stay much more adaptable. We are going back there in October 2013.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear get the morning sun, those at the front get the afternoon sun - depends what you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 53bob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

We certainly thank you for the kind review. Yes, Alvin is truly one of those places that is not on the "bucket list" but if you happen into Alvin, you really are surprised. Most importantly, thank you for choosing to spend your time here and "keeping us employed". We truly want to be a "home away from home". Again, thank you!

Cheryl and the team at Holiday Inn Express Alvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

A great motel and a great price. This hotel is pretty new. Our room was perfect. Nice, large screen T.V. and great breakfast the following morning. The personnel went out of there way to help us with anything we needed. Beautiful, clean pool and workout room. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Joe's Bar-B-Que just a few blocks away. Very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are not perfect, however, we do strive to make each guest experience great. We thank you for sharing feedback. If we can do anything to improve our guest experience, please let us know! TAgain, thank you for using the Holiday Inn Express in Alvin...your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were there for two nights. The staff was wonderful, the facilities were immaculately clean and the food was delicious. I am a school principal, my daughter is a teacher and we will not make comments unless the stay is worthy of our time and energy. First, Cheryl Williams is to be commended for the leadership she exhibits in her management of this location. She is in- tune with the staff and the guests. She is out and about in her hotel and knows what is going on at her location. She gets to know the guests and inquires of their needs personally. She listens attentively and follows through with guest requests. The facility is immaculate and pristine. The AC works and the rooms are well stocked with towels and toilet items.
Cheryl is an exceptional manager. Don't think I'm just saying that because she's personable. We stayed at a Holiday Inn last June in Dallas and it was horrible. The manager just shined us on when we complained. Cheryl Williams is an excellent manager and she deserves recognition from her administrators. She's a keeper!

Now, for the food. Kudos to the manager of the breakfast presentation. The food was delicious, hot and well presented. You didn't have to wait for the food platters to be re-filled. It was done promptly and professionally. You should be very proud of your dining staff and all who contribute to its success. This is an awesome hotel and should be a top choice in your search for a great place to stay in the Alvin area.

Room Tip: Beds were very comfortable. Less noise on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

This is just too kind! It's nice to know that our guests feel as if they are being taken care of! We are not perfect; however, we really strive to give the best service allowable. Occassionally, we may fall short, but the difference is to keep trying. You noticed that! We love you and hope to see you soon!


Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The room was very nice, clean, awesome bed and TV, very nice bathroom. The staff was pretty nice, although I had an issue with them putting a hold on my debit card and not explaining that this was in case of incidentals. I have no problem with that, but would have like to have had some information on it. Otherwise the staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esmi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We can only improve if we know how we are doing and we truly use these as a tool to improve. Thanks for keeping us employed!

Cheryl and the team of the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Alvin, Texas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvin
1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Alvin
1.4 mi away
Alvin Extended Stay
Alvin Extended Stay
#5 of 8 in Alvin
13 reviews
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Alvin/Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Alvin
Super 8 Alvin
#2 of 8 in Alvin
164 reviews
1.5 mi away
Scottish Inns & Suites
10.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston/League City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin

Address: 900 S Bypass 35, Alvin, TX 77511-4170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Alvin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Alvin
Price Range: $112 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alvin; the best hotel for guests in town for a vacation or business trip. We are conveniently and centrally located near Galveston and Hobby Airport. All of our spacious guest rooms have been updated and now have a contemporary feel to please every one of our guests. With our Complimentary Express Start Breakfast Buffet every morning to fuel your long day of, there's no better place for a vacation or business trip Many guests appreciate our amenities directed toward business-minded individuals, which include free Wi-Fi and free parking. Our 24-hour Business Center gives easy access to convenient fax, printer, and copying services. Further, guests looking to gather with colleagues can meet in our boardroom for a seminar, presentation, or other event. Guests can stay entertained and relaxed, while using our outdoor pool, and fitness center. Look forward to your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alvin! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Houston-Alvin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing