We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Alvin
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The room was very nice, clean, awesome bed and TV, very nice bathroom. The staff was pretty nice, although I had an issue with them putting a hold on my debit card and not explaining that this was in case of incidentals. I have no problem with that, but would have like to have had some information on it. Otherwise the staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esmi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We can only improve if we know how we are doing and we truly use these as a tool to improve. Thanks for keeping us employed!

Cheryl and the team of the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Alvin, Texas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    23
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
10
2
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The staff were all great during our 2 week plus stay for work. Just about anything we need or forgot the had availible to us. Breakfast was pretty good. Hannah was particularly tentative and i feel the company shold do all they can to keep her on staff.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jahosaphet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the feedback. We can only improve based on the feedback we get from our guests. We believe that no hotel is "perfect"; however, you can strive each day to make each guest feel that they are at "home away from home". We hope to see you soon!

Staff of the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Alvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We are 3 out of 4 days into our stay here but there's no need to wait until we leave to review it. Everything has been great during our stay. Hotel is very nice looking and clean. Bed is very comfy and the rooms have a huge TV with DirectTV. Holiday Inn Express breakfast is great as usual. The business center and workout room are open 24/7 which is very convenient. Curtis and the rest of the staff are very accommodating and friendly. The only minor comment is the light that comes through the windows. My girlfriend is one who needs her room completely dark and it would have been helpful if the outer curtains closed all the way. Would definitely stay here again though!

Room Tip: If you need your room completely dark, try a room on the pool side as there might be less light over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucs0535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I apologize about the blackout drapes not working properly. I will personally check on this issue. We are glad that Curtis made your stay enjoyable. He's a great guy!

We invite you back home...We are your home away from home!

Management and Staff of the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Alvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel was clean and comfortable with visual aesthetics in the lobby and the rooms. The pool was drained during my stay and the jacuzzi water was tepid at best. They did have a nice looking exercise room complete with free weights. They had extra electrical outlets well placed in the lamps for charging cell phones and computers. The front desk staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Top third floor away from the stairs and elevators would be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Alvin. Unfortunately, we are in the process of installing our Chair Lift becoming ADA compliant. For this reason only, the pool was drained. I apologize that this happened during your stay! We hope you do come back and welcome any additional feedback you can give. This will only help us improve!

Cheryl Williams and the Staff of the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Alvin...Your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days recently on a trip to the Houston area. Alvin is a small town a bit out of the way (which can be nice) but not too far from both downtown Houston and Galveston beach.

The hotel is very clean with a nice little pool and hot tub outside. The free breakfast was fantastic and features the usual Holiday Inn Express items such as fresh made pancakes, eggs, biscuits, gravy, etc. Free wireless internet was also an unexpected plus. There is a small but adequate gym as well as a business center with two PC's. From the front desk to the ladies preparing breakfast, everyone was extremely friendly.

We stayed in room 101 which is the first room off the lobby and a handicap room. The bathroom was HUGE (probably because of the room type). The only complaint here is that the shower is a roll in type. Because of this the bathroom floor flooded every time we took a shower. Not a big deal, just a small inconvenience. The room itself was big with a nice 32" LCD TV. Like a few other properties I've stayed at, while there is a nice HD TV in the room, the channels are not in HD and look terrible. The channel selection was also not very good. Again this is just a minor complaint. I should also note that the beds are super comfortable.

There are a number of good places in the area to eat as well as a Walmart just minutes away.

Overall experience was great and would definitely stay here again given the chance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank promoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind review. We pride ourselves on giving the best service and accommodations. Most of all, thanks for keeping us employed!

Cheryl Williams and Staff
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Alvin, Texas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We decided we wanted to go to Galveston, during the July 4th weekend, about a week before we wanted to go. Many hotels there were already booked & those that werent were simply out of the range we wanted to pay. This hotel is only around 30 minutes away. It appears to be very new. The lobby was nice and spacious as was the breakfast area. The breakfast selection was decent & the food was comparatively good. The rooms were large, nicely decorated & clean. Very comfortable beds. Staff was very friendly any time we interacted with them. This is a nice little hotel & I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The lobby makes a good first impression, with tile and wood accents. Reception staff are friendly and helpful.

The room itself was large, with high ceilings. It was also clean, modern, and nicely furnished. The interstate is just outside, but it was surprisingly quiet inside with regard to traffic. On the other hand, we heard a lot of noise from people walking around upstairs.

The bathroom was also large, with new tiles and fixtures, and a jacuzzi tub. Unfortunately, the air conditioning choices were either full-blast cold, or nothing.

Breakfast was also included, with all the usual selections, and served in a large, comfortable dining room.

One tip: "Joe's Bar-B-Q" is just a couple of blocks away (ask for directions from the staff). It's a great place for dinner with lots of real Texas atmosphere; we liked it so much we ate there two nights in a row.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are constantly trying to improve ourselves. Let us know if we can do anything additionally to improve. As always, thank you for your patronage and hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvin hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Alvin
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Alvin
Super 8 Alvin
#2 of 8 in Alvin
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alvin Inn
Alvin Inn
#6 of 8 in Alvin
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Alvin/Houston
1.0 mi away
Alvin Extended Stay
Alvin Extended Stay
#5 of 8 in Alvin
13 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scottish Inns & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin
Address: 900 S Bypass 35, Alvin, TX 77511-4170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Alvin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Alvin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kick up your heels at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alvin, home of the famous pitcher Nolan Ryan. This is the perfect location for business or pleasure, offering our 'Hot Breakfast Buffet' to start off your day! If you're here for pleasure you are just minutes away from the Nolan Ryan Center, Alvin Opry, Alvin Youth Livestock and Arena, Froberg s Vegetable Farm, Texas Thunder Speedway and the Quintana Neotropical Bird Sanctuary. We are also located only a short drive from NASA Johnson Space Center, Bayou Wildlife Park, and the Galveston Island Beaches.Whether here for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alvin is the perfect place for you. Alvin Community College, Dish Network, Solutia Inc, INEOS Olefins & Polymers USA and Equistar, are just a few companies that call the Alvin area home.Relax in your own elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, free wired and wireless high-speed internet access, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. Enjoy a swim in our crystal-clear outdoor pool or energize in our Fitness Center. Polish that presentation in the business center and we even have the right space for your professional meeting. We re here, ready with all you need to make your trip to Alvin a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Houston-Alvin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing